Saturday and Sunday!

 Hey Pickles! 

It’s hard to believe but we finally went out two days in a row for fun!   Jeff and I are so bogged down with work that we have literally made ourselves prisoners in our home (or home offices is more to the point).   I was so claustrophobic that I said, “screw it,” and off we went!

cell-phone-ban.jpg  Last night we took Evan to the mall — clothes shopping  and cell phone repairing — only to find out that even the gay families have to face the realization that their kid has racked up 3800 text messages in one month and $300 extra on his phone charges alone for the month!  It’s not like we didn’t warn him but, he knows better.  After-all, he’s lived for almost 16 years!   Grrrrrr!

somerville-sign.jpg Anyway, after the Verizon drama, we ended up trying a Cuban restaurant called, Martino’s Cuban, on the main street of Somerville, NJ.  Fabulous!  

 I love Cuban food.  cuban-food.jpg  I lived right off Calle Ocho in Coral Gables (Miami) in the 80’s.  I ate at La Caretta several times a week.  It’s still my favorite Cuban restaurant in America! 

After dinner we hit Barnes and Noble and a bought a couple of truly crappy books from their ON SALE RACK.   You know that I love this kind of shit, and, well, I just couldn’t leave them there, but it’s a shame that trees lost their lives (and I almost lost mine for bringing another quilting book into Pickle Road) for these books.  

dobson-quilt-book-112756.jpg

quilting-book.jpg

Today, we got up early, and at Evan’s request we headed to New Hope, Pennsylvania! 

 It was a cloudy day but a fun one.  It wasn’t too cold.   After we exhausted New Hope we went to Lambertville, New Jersey (which is walking distance from New Hope — across the bridge that goes over the Delaware River — a stone’s throw from where George Washington crossed the Delaware).  

 bridge.jpg    Liza Lucy lives in New Hope.   Also, the Mancuso Brothers (of multi quilt show fame) have their offices in New Hope.  Here’s the train station in New Hope.  Even the train is vintage and it still runs!  Big plumes of billowing smoke!  Beautiful!

train-station.jpg

I love to visit these towns.  I always find myself inspired. 

main-street-lambertville-023.jpg   Lambertville

lamberbille-str.jpg  Lambertville

full-moon-cafe.jpg  We had lunch here.  I love that this place will only serve dinners on the full moon. PERIOD!

Here’s Jeff and Evan waiting for me so that we can get espressos to go! evan-jeff-ukelele.jpg

WHAT I WANTED:

As you can see on the sign above, there is a great music shop above Bucks Coffee shop.   I was [thisclose] to buying a ukulele! I’ve wanted one for years.  Now you know I’m going to have to go back for the damn thing.   Shit, if Ricky can play the piano, I can warble on a ukulele!  I’m feeling my blood pressure raise as I type.  I shoulda bought the fricking thing. Damn!   Ever find yourself in this predicament? 

 How can you not love a town with a restaurant called ‘SCATmandoo?”  LOL  new-hope-scatmandu.jpg

 WHAT JEFF WANTED:

jeffs-painting.jpg Jeff found this painting that he fell in love within a window in Lamberville.  He went back to look at it several times.  It’s by Jane Gilday and it’s only $1850.00.  ONLY!  

jeffs-fav-painting-jan-gilday.jpg

He didn’t get it.  That’s A LOT of money.  So we dream.   What we did get were some small patters for our collection of Fiestaware.   We got the peacock, the lime and the red platters.

fiestaware-new-hope.jpg

We could AFFORD the platters!  LOL

WINDOW SHOPPING

new-hope-lambertville-006-copy.jpg  While we were walking in New Hope Jeff spotted this in a window.  We both really liked the detail on the blouse.  It reminds me of the Andover fabric panels. 

dressing-gown-close-up.jpg

I found this vintage dress on the street and loved the fabric design and colors!  

 

vintage-dress-full.jpg  vintage-dress-fabric.jpg

Here’s more of my window shopping.

button-purse-new-hope.jpg  I love how this bag is embellished with regular old buttons and seed beads!

I also love the way this jacket from Nepal is appliqued in such a rough way.  See, beauty is NOT in perfection!  Please remember that!  nepal-applique-new-hope.jpg  Jeff hated this piece by the way.  I like the workmanship!

Again, simple embellishment on printed fabric.  You can do that!  new-hope.jpg

 

russian-pillow.jpg  I like this Russian Doll pillow fabric. This could make a great quilt inspiration! Get to work!

My Attempt at being Artsy-Fartsy

doorways-lambertville.jpg  Lambertville, New Jersey

More Lambertville, New Jersey   hindu-doorway.jpg

hindu-god-lambertville-029.jpg  Loved this fabric hanging in a random door window. Jeff said it looked like a HEAD SHOPPE!

Sorry Ladies!  Look What’s Coming Back!

clydesdale.jpg

This “feature” was in today’s newspaper in New York City.  Ugh. 

No matter how sweet, tiny, and delicate, any woman who wears these shoes walks like a Clydesdale!

Be Warned!  Neigggggggggggggh!

spring-shoes.jpg

Friends and Foes

Click here to read (Feb 16 entry) Ramblings from a Fabric Obsessorwho wonders if her blog will be chosen in the Friend or Foe list.  She’s never read Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home.

 Take a look at Cowgirl Quilter’s blog.  All you have to do is click here.  She thinks I’m brilliant (and I so agree)! 

Bitnbyaquitingbug’s blog shows my Crystal’s Quilt.  I don’t think she’s seen the magazine.  Maybe someone should tell her to hold on to her hat!  LOL  Click here to read it.  By the way, I love the blog name:  Bitnbyaquiltingbug.  I’m a moron. I had to read it super slowly before *DING* I got it!  LOL

The writer of the Quilted with Loveblog really put a lot of thought into her struggle with quilting magazines (in general) and Quilter’s Home.  Maybe I’m just a mush but it almost made me cry.   Anyway, even if you’re not interested in the QH part — take a look at the quilt that her daughters are fighting over.  I just love it and might have to jump into the sibling boxing ring because I want it too!  LOL   Click here to read it.

Later kids!  xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Saturday and Sunday!”

  1. Sue
    February 18, 2008 at 1:24 AM #

    Mark,

    You did three of my favorite things: eating Cuban, window shopping Lambertville/New Hope, and buying Fiestaware!

    I’m definately gonna check out the restaurant in Somerville…I miss Cuban since I moved out of NYC.

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  2. Jackie
    February 18, 2008 at 2:00 AM #

    I lived in Miami in the late 80’s and I fondly remember La Carretta as well. I wonder if they deliver to Northern Virginia?

    Like

  3. Carol in CO
    February 18, 2008 at 3:15 AM #

    Mark,
    I just about had a “spew moment” when I read that you almost bought a ukulele! I CANNOT picture you “Tip-toeing thru the Tulips!”
    You don’t have the long, greasy, stringy hair or falsesetto, nor do you look like Don Ho. If you wore a grass skirt, you’d have to add some extra grass to the backyard (me too!)!

    Before I went back to Lambertville to buy the Uke, I’d buy the painting that Jeff liked! It’s gorgeous, will not make any animals run for the hills, the neighborhood dogs howl, break any mirrors or windows and will be appreciated much longer than the Uke will!

    I say go for it, Jeff! That’s something that will appreciate with age, where as you playing the Ukulele…….well, let’s just leave it at that!

    Come on……..You know I love you! ;-}

    Thanks for the great pics!

    Love,
    Carol

    Like

  4. Carol in CO
    February 18, 2008 at 4:16 AM #

    Hey Mark!

    The time showing when the posts were created is wayyyyy off!

    Just thought I’d let ya know babycakes!

    Carol

    Like

  5. February 18, 2008 at 11:04 AM #

    dude!!
    buy the uke-life’s too damn short. a good friend just lost her hubby to pancreatic cancer & another friend is in hospice care for a brain tumor(a brain surgeon,by the way)
    love&stitches,
    karin with an “i”

    Like

  6. February 18, 2008 at 2:58 PM #

    ROFL…Evan and the $300…OMG..Steve and I just howled…..
    Glad you guys had some real life fun for a change…keep doing it.
    Love you, C xx

    Like

  7. Anjea
    February 19, 2008 at 12:01 AM #

    3800?!?!?!?!!? That averages about 125/day for a 30-day month! Sheesh!

    Like

  8. mary kay
    February 19, 2008 at 2:31 AM #

    Regret is my least favorite emotion. And I absolutely hate it when I regret not buying something, It CONSUMES me. I get so darn obsessed at times. Especially when you go back for it and it’s gone.

    And thanks for the info on the New Hope train. Now that we have a toddler infatuated with trains we were wondering it that thing was still running.

    Like

  9. February 19, 2008 at 2:38 AM #

    I got fiestaware for my wedding dishes. absolutely fabulous. a great place to fine *everything* is: http://www.megachina.com – it’s really got everything… including the retired colors. I have 12 sets… and a random 13th because you never know. I figure what the heck… we’ve got enough silverware for 16 – keep the fiestaware coming!! :D

    Like

  10. May 13, 2008 at 8:14 PM #

    i will get you one day!!

    you know how…

    on May 20!!!!!!!!! DIE

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,904 other followers

