Outs and Ins for 2008

times-square.jpg   Happy New Year, from Times Square, Turnips!

This morning I was thinking about what trends I see for the upcoming year (or wish I would see) and thought I’d toss a few out into the cosmos.  

Of course, since these are highly subjective, don’t get your panties in a knot — but I’d like you hear what your “Ins and Outs” are for the new year, too — either for yourself or for the quilting community. 

OUT:  Finished quilts

IN: UFO’s

OUT: Buying patterns

IN:  Designing patterns

OUT:  Quilt for hobby

IN:  Quilt for fun

OUT:  Guilds

IN: Small sewing groups

OUT:  Fat quarters

IN: ½ yard cuts

OUT:  Long arm machines

IN:  Mid arm machines

OUT: Smoking quilters smoking-woman.jpg

male-model.jpg  IN:  Quilters who are smokin’

OUT:  Quilted vests

IN: Quilted jackets

OUT: Your rotary cutter

IN: Gingher rotary cutter   http://www.gingher.com

gingher-rotary-cutter.jpg   A metal $69.99 rotary cutter.I have to have one!

OUT:  Cleaning your house

IN:  Starting a new quilt

OUT:  15 so-so patterns in a quilting magazine

IN:  1 GREAT pattern in a quilting magazine

OUT:  Safe with color

IN: Bold with color

OUT:  Clutter

IN:  Workspace

   annie.jpg Annie Smith, podcast diva supreme

OUT:  Boring quilting podcasts

IN: www.simplearts.com

OUT:  iPhones

IN: BlackBerry Curve

blackberry.jpg

OUT: Hotel food in Houston

IN: Pappasito’s in Humble

 britney-spears-umbrella-crazy.jpg

OUT:  Britney

IN:  Jamie Lynn  jamie-lynn.jpg

 

OUT:  Entering a quilt show for a ribbon

IN:  Entering a quilt show for the hell of it

OUT:  Quilting teachers

IN:  Quilting coaches

OUT:  Pretty cover models

IN:  Mark Lipinski 

OUT:  Pink rosy-c2517-pink.gif

medallion-center-13-orange.pngIN:  Orange

OUT:  TV quilting shows

IN:  Webcast quilting shows

OUT:  Punch needle

 

rug.jpg   IN:  Rug hooking 

OUT:  Rigidity

IN:   Strollers at quilt shows

 

OUT:  Strollers as shopping carts

IN:  Strollers for kids

OUT:  Patchwork the ‘right’ way

IN:  Bending the rules

 

OUT:  Making a federal case in a chat room

 delete.jpg    IN:  Hitting delete

OUT:  Pennywise

IN:  Dollar foolish  

 

OUT:  Sewing room

IN:  Studio

OUT:  Feed sack quilts

IN:  Polyester quilts

OUT:  Plain background fabric for appliqué

IN:  Pieced background fabric for appliqué

OUT:  Quilting alone

IN:  Mentoring a quilter

OUT:  Cute patterns

IN:  Interesting patterns

OUT:   Traditional quilting

IN:   Art quilting

OUT:  Oprah  oprah.jpg

hillary-fun.jpg  IN:   Hillary

OUT:  Vicks in your nose

IN:  Vicks on your feet

OUT:  Saving every magazine you buy

IN:  Quilting inspiration journals

OUT: A wedding quilt

IN: An unexpected baby quilt  jamie-lynn.jpg

OUT: Paper or plastic for quilt shop hopping and quilt shows

IN:  Reusable canvas totes

OUT:  Crocs

IN:  Simple shoes  www.simpleshoes.com/DIY

BUT:  I love these Marc Jacobs shoes

  marc-jacobs-shoe-mercedes-240rb122607.jpg

 

OUT:  African adoption

IN:  UFO adoption

OUT:  Quilting fabric only for quilts

IN:  Quilting fabric for home dec projects

OUT:  Focusing on your mistakes

IN:  Focusing on your fabulousity

OUT:  Storing your quilts

IN:  Using your quilts

OUT:  Hoarding your stash

IN:  Giving your stash away

OUT:  Quilt for a Cure

IN:   Quilting for a lot of excellent causes

 OUT:  Thongs

large-undies.jpg  IN:  Big, comfortable, white cotton, underwear

OUT:   http://www.eBay.com

IN:  www.1stdibs.com

trio-c3153-pink.gif   OUT:  Retro 70’s chic design 

IN:  Something really new, not what’s old is new

OUT:  Stash diets

heart.jpg  IN:  Heart healthy diets 

OUT:  New quilting books

IN:  Vintage quilting books

OUT:  Heavy quilters

IN:  Lap bands

 

OUT:  Scrapbooking

IN:  Jewelry making

OUT:  Piecing

IN:  Fusing

     

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

19 Comments on “Outs and Ins for 2008”

  1. kim
    January 1, 2008 at 7:46 PM #

    Great list- lots to think about 😀

    Like

  2. Bonnie
    January 1, 2008 at 7:59 PM #

    Can’t say I agree with all, but I do agree with several. I totally agree with pink being out and orange in – for me I always liked orange best!
    Crocs are still in for me – they are my simple shoes ;-). Happy New Year
    love ya

    Like

  3. Kendra Maclean
    January 1, 2008 at 8:10 PM #

    OMG !!! Gotta have those Marc Jacobs shoes !!! Even if all I can do is look at them 🙂 Out: Comfort
    In: Class

    Like

  4. January 1, 2008 at 8:29 PM #

    Too funny, I grew up in Humble, TX and LOVE the Pappasitos!!! I is my favorite restraunt and whenever I go home, I go there. My BIL is the head bartender there and I get free food, the only thing better than Pappasitos is FREE Pappasitos!!!

    Like

  5. Diana
    January 1, 2008 at 9:02 PM #

    No, no, no! As hideous looking as Crocs are, they are SO-O-O-O comfortable they can never be out. I’ll retire my pink ones and buy orange, but that’s as far as I’m going. BTW: Polyester quilts? Give away the stash? Do I see pigs flying?

    Like

  6. jeanine
    January 1, 2008 at 9:07 PM #

    really fun.
    My DD knew about the shoes!!!
    Great new websites!!!!Thanks for the Oprah Out…………..I so agree (I just hope she will retire soon………..)

    Like

  7. January 1, 2008 at 9:35 PM #

    amen to pappasito’s!!our whole family luvs them.
    and a “praise elvis!” to the color orange and markie as a cover stud.
    love and stitches,
    karin

    Like

  8. Mary Wallace
    January 1, 2008 at 9:45 PM #

    Love everything you came up with. You did make me think ona couple of things however. Gee’s i have to get those shoes!!!! i wonder if they would look good with a pair of jeans!!!!!!

    Like

  9. Robin
    January 1, 2008 at 10:48 PM #

    Hurrah! My undies are finally IN!

    Like

  10. Sue
    January 1, 2008 at 10:53 PM #

    OUT: Carbs
    IN: Jeans that fit 🙂

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  11. January 2, 2008 at 1:02 AM #

    Love it! Now that is a list to live by – me thinks I’ll print it up and post it on my design board to go over every now and then to brighten my day! You crack me up, see ya in Portland in a few months – dang is that show coming quick or what!

    Like

  12. January 2, 2008 at 1:11 AM #

    I so agree about the small sewing grooups – I even know of one in Houston that meets twice a month to actually sew for four hours at a time – much better than a quilt guild where most of the meeting is business and the other half is show and tell.

    Like

  13. mary kay
    January 2, 2008 at 1:15 AM #

    I hope strollers ARE in at quilt shows. I am still burned about being turned away for that.

    mk

    Like

  14. KAK
    January 7, 2008 at 5:46 AM #

    Love your list! You’re so cute! Gotta check out those shoes! I agree with Kendra… I gotta HAVE them… just to look at! He he he!

    Like

  15. January 8, 2008 at 6:42 AM #

    DUDE!!! I just LOVE ya!!!! ; )
    Call me!

    Like

  16. Sandy
    January 9, 2008 at 9:45 PM #

    Thank heavens for cotton undies. I’ll tell my hubby, although he will disagree.

    Like

  17. Cindy
    January 10, 2008 at 10:51 PM #

    A most FANTASTIC list. I love those shoes!! :0) What a great idea! Annie’s podcast IS THE BEST! I would choose the blackberry over the iphone only because i can’t get service here for it. Santa brought me an ipod touch for Christmas and it is a most FAB toy :0) I recommend. Now I have annie on the go and soon my online quilt shows!

    Like

  18. Shaynne
    April 16, 2008 at 7:18 PM #

    brittys a camreah drameh queen

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sew Unique Creations » New Years Resolutions and a Great Blog… - January 2, 2008

    […] and laughed the entire time.  He’s a joy to be around!  Any-who – go check out this post on The Blog From Pickle Road and you’ll be smilin’ […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

