Is it summer yet?

fat-man-in-speedo.jpg   Alrighty then. Daddy is tired of winter and is ready for swimwear (yes, even this Orca wears a swimsuit).

Oh, I have to show you what I found at a garage sale!

11987877001.jpg

That’s right, Pancakes, it’s a PICKLE antique shop to add to my quilt shop collection. I couldn’t pass it up, although it’s not technically a quilt shop like my others, the Pickles could have a quilt or two for sale. . .

Here’s something else that got Daddy all excited (it doesn’t take much). It was an ad on the back of some home dec magazine but I LOVE glass doorknobs and this colbolt knob just threw me.

 door-knobs-ad.jpg  cobalt.gif cobalt-nashua.gif

If it were up to me, every knob in our house would be glass, but they are $$$expensive$$$ so I settled for just the heavy clear glass faceted knobs thoughout the master bedroom, here at Pickle Road, along with the door to Jeff’s office (which is off the bedroom).

I got on the glass doorknob kick after seeing THE SIXTH SENSE. Remember the ruby red glass doorknob? It got me all goose pimply! YOWZA!

The other day I was talking about hitting museums for inspiration — so while cruising the web, I was reminded of this quilt that is hanging in The Newark Museum, in Newark, NJ (so sorry, Delaware)! I find this kind of quilt to be just my taste – complicated “looking” but not so hard to do with a little bit of time and energy. I just had to show you!

newark-quilt.jpg

Spectacular, eh?

FIRST of all, I want to say, I love Dick . . . but . . .

 picked-dick-clark.jpg  . . . one last thing (controversy, of course). What’s with Dick Clark hosting New Year’s Eve for ABC yet again. It was sweet to honor him his first year back…now it’s kind of creepy.   These TV media types who just don’t know when to retire already. Sheesh! 

capt_ny10701010540_new_year_2008_dick_clark_ny107.jpg

Oh, chickens, I know I’m going to stir the pot with this one … but enough already!

If Guy Lombardo lost his arms, they would have retired him….not allow him to swing his head back and forth to lead the band in Auld Lange Syne.

guy-lombardo.jpg

If a hitter stops hitting he’s benched.

julie-andrews.jpg  If a singer goes silent she’s no longer in the Opera, or anywere – just ask Miss Julie Andrews 

(Nobody told poor Liza yet)    liza-wedding.jpg

So why oh why do we have to suffer through his performance? 1) It’s painful to watch and well, it’s not like he needs the cash. And 2) the cut away of his making out with his younger nurse (you mean that’s his wife?!?) at the stroke (oops!) of midnight – well, yuck! Maybe we should put THAT on toile….

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Is it summer yet?”

  1. Robin
    January 3, 2008 at 4:32 AM #

    OMG, I had the same reaction as you re: Dick Clark, especially the kissing. Had to turn my head.

    And thanks for mentioning Newark, Delaware! Many don’t know we exist! BTW, Newark, NJ is pronounced “NEwerk” almost as one syllable, while in DE, we say “NEWark” as in Noah built a new ark.

    Happy New Year in spite of DC,
    Robin
    Newark, DE

    Like

  2. January 3, 2008 at 2:45 PM #

    NICE QUILT! I had to turn the channel when I saw poor Dick Clark. Glad I missed the kissing!

    Like

  3. Luann in CT
    January 3, 2008 at 5:24 PM #

    Mark
    Hubby and I also thought what the heck is wrong with ABC geesshhhhh. Although Dick has come a very long way back his speech is just too thick for Broadcast. I know he feels great and his mind is still there buttttttttt pleezeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee save us. I hope the comments for the show tell ABC Exces something I hope so.
    I love your great finds enjoy them and Happy New Year. Stay Safe and Live Well and Prosper!
    Luann trying to stay warm in CT

    Like

  4. Susannah
    January 3, 2008 at 6:13 PM #

    Can’t talk about Dick Clark because I’ve just eaten but would love to know where I can get a more detailed photo of that quilt…

    Like

  5. January 3, 2008 at 10:05 PM #

    I LOOOOOVE those doorknobs!!! I put glass doorknobs in my master bath and my daughters room…they are expensive, and I could not just get a regular DIY set…I had to put it in the locksmith’s way, and since I am not a locksmith, they don’t all work super smooth…my daughter’s is the best, but if you are in our watercloset, you have to turn the knob to the right only to get out….
    My grandmother’s house had all glass knobs inside…and my other grandparents remodeled theirs in the fifties to include that “modern” look…My dad tells me that was “the Look” according to his folks….
    Someday I would love to have all the rest of the doors in the house to have glass knobs….

    Like

  6. ABB
    January 4, 2008 at 12:58 PM #

    Yeah, we were waiting for him to keel over every time the camera was on him. He looked like a cadaver and was barely understandable. Just gross.

    Love the quilt. Are you going to duplicate it?

    Like

  7. Tama
    January 5, 2008 at 3:48 AM #

    I’m with you on the Dick Clark thing. My Grandma had a stroke and listening to him made me think of trying to figure out what she was talking about. I was torn between finding the whole thing commendable (he was obviously having a good time) and feeling kinda creepy. We need to be tolerant and educated about stroke victims but there’s a time and place, ya know?

    Like

  8. January 5, 2008 at 8:07 AM #

    Edwards is done in my opinion. He should be staying home with his terminally ill wife anyway. He must be quite selfish to put his political career first over time being with her.
    Dick Clarke’s wife needs to be honest and tell him that is his last year. He kept calling Ryan Seacrest what sounded like “Juan” and his mannerisms were painful to watch. You could not help but pity him.
    I have those glass knobs on a long piece of wood and they make great hanging devices for coats, bags, umbrellas, aprons, yardage, projects. My knobs have been covered for years so you keep them protected too. :0)
    Mary Lou
    Marylouweidman.blogspot.com

    Like

  9. Julee
    January 7, 2008 at 6:00 AM #

    I agree, Dick Clark’s performance was painful. We had to change the channel and my husband works for the ABC affiliate!
    We’re blessed with the original glass doorknobs on our interior doors of our 1935 house. Chris wanted to replace them all, but I said no. I have the arched snow door (to get out on the roof of the porch) with the original glass and knob from my Mom and Dad’s house, built in the 1800s. I’m still not sure where to put it. Julee

    Like

  10. Ann
    January 14, 2008 at 12:37 AM #

    Doesn’t DC Productions own the show?

    Baby, I have no idea! xoxom

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

