Mark Predicts

I wonder who’s going to win in Iowa?   It’s like watching Miss America.    I’ve been watching and I’m making my Iowa primary results prediction (not that it matters to you or that I even care who walks the Miss America runway, scepter in hand, unless it directly impacts on my quilting):

 Dems:

Hmmmmm,   I think it’ll be between Obama and John.

edwards.jpg

I think John Edwards is way cuter but his wife is smarter so it’s a toss up for me there.

Obama has Oprah but that’s my personal turn off and his wife doesn’t do much for me either but I’m still thinking that Obama will come in first.

obama.jpg

I’d like to see Hillary win, just because she’s a woman,  but I think she’s an easy 3rd place.  

GOP:

It’s between Mitt and the scab who crossed the picket line for Leno  (I don’t cross picket lines).  What’s his name?  Reminds me of Deputy Dog —  Oh yeah, Huckabee.

huckabee.jpg   I think this is Mr. Huckabee at the San Francisco zoo.  The walls are too short there.

mitt.jpg mitt.jpg mitt.jpg mitt.jpg  

I think Mitt is a gazillion times more handsome (better than Kennedy handsome) but I just don’t see him winning because if you’re of that vote-your-religion ilk, and get to pick between a run-of-the-mill Christian minister and a Mormon, God help the Mormon.    So I think it’s Huckabee.   

I can’t wait to wake up tomorrow to see how right or wrong I was — which will have zero affect on quilting but put me in a pissy mood any way it turns out.

useable-miss-a.jpg     It’s my Miss American theory.  

 Remember when you would stay up to watch Miss America and you held your breath with anticipation as your state’s name was called … MISS PENNSYLVANIA! And up to the microphone walks this Barbie-esque beast with a ghastly Amy Winehouse bouffant and a annoyingly squeaky voice.

Holy cats!  My cousin Agnes is prettier than that.  I’ve seen better potential Miss America’s walking the strip malls of Altoona!    Of all the girls in Pennsylvania, this is the best choice?!?

That’s how I’ve been feeling about our presidential elections.  Out of all of the men and women in this entire country — this is all we have to choose from?  

Oh well, somebody is going to win whether I like it or not.  God bless America. 

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Mark Predicts”

  1. January 4, 2008 at 2:29 AM #

    Hey Sugar Plum, didja hear? ABC is projecting Obama and Huckabee as the winners in Iowa (with 70% of the results in at 8:25 pm)…

    And your point is? I predicted much earlier….so there! 🙂 xoxom

    Like

  2. Sandi Andersen
    January 4, 2008 at 2:45 AM #

    I think you’re right on, Mark, because from all I’ve seen and heard you called it right even though it’s not the outcome you’d really like. Whatever the outcome it won’t keep you from quilting so the political circus will just continue and give everybody something to talk about. Must admit that I was born and raised in Iowa (although I’ve lived in Minnesota for more than 30 years) and think it’s time some other state was first to set the political stage. IHowever, I don’t have a single politcal gene in my body that would take on that cause. All my genes were sewn in from years of Grandmas and Aunts who quilted their way through life and got a lot more good done than most politicians.

    Like

  3. January 4, 2008 at 4:33 AM #

    Yeah, I’m against picket line crossing. Scabs are the lowest form….

    Can you tell I grew up in a Union household!?!

    Now….if ever there was a picket line at a quilt shop I’d be hard pressed to makea decision! I guess it would depend on what my stash looked like. Hmmm, those would be true depression quilts….

    Like

  4. bettina
    January 4, 2008 at 5:45 AM #

    hmmm, that whole strike at a quilt shop is excuse enough to go buy more fabric, before it happens, sort of like shopping for a rainy day…..
    no matter how evolved or enlightened we like to think we are, looks matter to us & when we go pick a president, we tend to go for the better looking guy. i mean, dukakis??? we think we are so advanced, but throw a hottie out there & it’s over for everyone else.
    maybe mark & tulip should run…..we’ll solve all the nations problems one bee at a time….

    Like

  5. Tere
    January 4, 2008 at 11:09 AM #

    Yanno, the reason this is the best we can choose from is because the really good ones are busy doing other things, things that don’t call them to “glory.” Or they simply do not see the need to raise the $$ necessary to get them elected — that money could go to something more near and dear to their hearts.

    We aren’t electing someone who can run the country, we’re electing someone who can raise money.

    Like

  6. ABB
    January 4, 2008 at 1:05 PM #

    And also, the really good ones aren’t willing to give up their lives to dirty their hands, lower their standards, or whore around for votes. Who can blame them? It’s not like it’s an especially well-paying job, and the stress factor has to be daunting to say the least.

    No one really wants to vote for the guy who is going to enforce the things that will make this country better, stronger, safer – they’re going to vote for the guy who is going to make their lives cheaper and easier.

    Knowing a little about Mormons and their beliefs, hahaha, cute as Mitt is, I can’t do it.

    Like

  7. Cathy
    January 4, 2008 at 7:01 PM #

    Too bad this is getting political, let’s just quilt! Hillary and Bill already dirtied their hands.

    Well, Cathy, if I or any quilter were one dimensional, I guess we would “just quilt.” That’s not the case with either Quilter’s Home, and most certainly not on this, my personal, blog where all of us are free to express ourselves in addition to “just quilt.” There are a gazillion quilting blogs that are only safe and PC and totally educational, this is not one of them. Ironically, your “Hillary and Bill already dirtied their hands” was the most divisive political statement that’s been posted here to date, which tells me that you have strong opinions that you just had to get out, yet really prefer that no one else do the same! LOL

    Like

  8. ellen harper
    January 4, 2008 at 8:08 PM #

    Those glass door knobs are spiffy…I would make a wonderful quilt hanger out of two of them…just attach them at either end to a nice piece of finished oak moulding and suspend a wooden dowl to hang the quilt on. Since I do not have a free wall but a lot lot lot of bookcases maybe attaching the piece to the top of a bookcase to hang quilts on, cover the books up though. OH the sacrafices I am willing to make for my art!

    Like

  9. KAK
    January 7, 2008 at 5:37 AM #

    I would cross a picket line to get to the quilt store. Wouldn’t you? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

