Like making a quilt with Scotch Tape

So Dr. Phil goes to visit Britney in Cedars Sinai.

Please Indulge me!  I have to get this off my chest.

THEN we’ll talk quilting (and other things)!

“My meeting with Britney and some of her family members this morning in her room at Cedars leaves me convinced more than ever that she is in dire need of both medical and psychological intervention. She was released moments before my arrival and was packing when I entered the room. We visited for about an hour before I walked with her to her car. I am very concerned for her,”  Windbag McGraw told ET Onilne.

smells-like-bullshit.jpg

Duh!  What a jackass!   Having Dr. Phil comment on your medical and psychological well being is like taking Tylenol for Liver Cancer — or making a quilt with Scotch Tape. 

scotch-tape.jpg   plus   antique-quilt.jpg 

equals  dr-phil-doll.jpg  

Can you imagine dealing with a family member in a mental ward only to have Dr. Phil walk in?  I would be forced to  request  sharp, wrist cutting razor blades for the whole family.  

 4024448550.jpg

Jeff and I went to see a movie last night.      

We saw Juno.  juno.jpg

I know that the movie got mixed reviews, and maybe it even pushed the limits on moderate ol’ me, but I liked it.   Found myself sniffling through parts, yet hated the cavalier way a 16-year-old and her family deals with her pregnancy — almost nonchalant — which, I can assure you would NOT be the way I would deal with it (for better or for worse) but I’m more conservative in this area on some level.  With all of the birth control methods readily available to everyone in this country — even for free — I don’t buy the “accidental” pregnancy defense.    Yeah, I’m gay (now) but I had certainly been around (a lot) and always made sure there was protection. involved.   

 Poor Evan —  “Dude, would you like some mashed potatoes and make sure you wear a condom?” 

condomads3.jpg

If I don’t drill it into him, who will?   How often are you talking with your kids and grand-kids about safe sex?

 Vintage Quilt Books

I’ve scored a couple of vintage quilt books recently.  I love, love, LOVE the old books, the older the better  (if you have any send them! LOL).

121141.jpg   This old book is by Bonnie Leman.   The Leman’s are the women who founded and ran Quilter’s Newsletter.   It’s “the complete guide to no-frame quilting” with a 1972 copyright (before I was born. . . ).   We have come a loooooong way, baby!  Yet there is still so much to be learned by reading and embracing the old stuff.  

 winway.jpg This book, Winning Ways to Make Quilts, has a 1992 copyright, written the year Evan was born, by Connie Hester.    It is starting to look like the way quilting books are printed today — more professional and crisp.   

connie.jpg  This is Connie Hester (I hope she’s not still wearing that get up).  Does anyone know her or know where she has gone?  I’ve never really heard her name being bantered about, but she is one of those pioneers who kinda disappeared.  I’d love to chat with her.  

That said, here’s what should happen should any modern, 2008 quilter, decide to parade an outfit like Connie was wearing here – 15 years ago . . .

redir.jpg

Daily Chores

I went out to the Pickle Road coop this morning and brought back almost a dozen eggs.   The chicken coop/garden area sucks in the winter.  It’s so green and lively in the spring and summer.  

coop2.jpg

 Gifties

Terri Thayer found RAINBOW penis fabric and shared some with me!  Terri got it as a birthday gift one year and never found the right quilt for it (sounds suspicious, don’t it?).

121026.jpg

Pickle Posse gal, Jaquie, found a mini quilt shop for my quilt shop collection and sent it as a surprise!

dsp_aunt_alice_quilt.jpg

Thanks you guys! 

Dinner

I got up early this morning to make sauce for lasagna.    I add mini-meatballs and slices of pepperoni to my lasagna sauce.   Just like my gram and mom used to make it.   We’ll be eating early today.   Lots more work this afternoon!

lasagne.jpg

AND LATER . . .

Here’s the view of the back of poor Jeff’s car.  I bought all of my cases for my Katmandu ROAD TO CALIFORNIA embellishment kits that go with the class.   I have to ship the full kits out this week.   

 roadkig.jpg

Now this is the back of my car, filled with quilts, quilts and MORE quilts, all ready for my lecture next Saturday with the Empire State Quilters in Manhattan at F.I.T.   Right after the lecture, I’m shipping these babies off to Road 2 CA for my lecture there!  

blog-1-6-002.jpg

lcp402.jpg  Love you, Pickles!  xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Like making a quilt with Scotch Tape”

  1. Bonnie
    January 6, 2008 at 7:18 PM #

    I have a book for you – found it at my Mom’s when we were clearing the house. Copyright is 1973, so you must have been a newborn then 😉

    Like

  2. January 6, 2008 at 8:31 PM #

    My DD and I saw this movie, absolutely great, I wish I could show it to my family living class, full of 16 and 17 yo. I am trying to get an angle on adoption for the class room, as my town has the highest teenage pregnancy rate of Canada.

    Loved ellen page’s language, not that most kids her age talk like that!!!!!;)
    Your packing is great…………Just wait till Evan goes off to university.

    Like

  3. Paula
    January 6, 2008 at 8:43 PM #

    Has anyone priced birth control pills lately? I was told that they are going for $100 per month and are not covered by insurance! The insurance companies would rather $15K for a birth than 100 for prevention. DUH!

    How things have changed. After my insurance was dinged for my C-section years ago, they practically drove me by limo to get my tubes tied! LOL.

    Like

  4. Sue
    January 6, 2008 at 9:20 PM #

    Love your comments about Connie’s outfit. My husband says that if I ever put on a quilted vest, he’s divorcing me 🙂

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  5. Mary Wallace
    January 6, 2008 at 9:23 PM #

    You keep at that boy!!! I bought my son a box of condoms before he was 16 because i knew what he wasn’t telling mom. i think its a shame that parents don’t pay attention that their dear children are more active then we ever thought of!! i found out since then that i can be arrested for giving condoms to my son. its called contributing to the delinquency of a minor. Which i think is bulls***! i’d rather have him protected then ill or dead or a parent before he has the abliltiy to care for a child. He is now 23 and i still buy them for him occasionally as a reminder.

    Like

  6. mary from utah
    January 6, 2008 at 11:01 PM #

    Holy Crap!!
    when I saw that Dr Pill had been to see brittany at the “hospital” I just about hurled… gee, lets just bring another clown into the 3 ring circus that this girl’s life has turned into…
    m

    Like

  7. Jackie
    January 6, 2008 at 11:59 PM #

    Mark, with your connections . . . find a supplier for the penis fabric. Please! I actually have the perfect project that could use it. Honest. I’ll did thru my old quilt books and see what you might like. Maybe we could work a swap . . . .

    Like

  8. Dovie
    January 7, 2008 at 9:05 AM #

    After reading this blog on the penis fabric and the condom things, I thought you might appreciate a new flatulance toy my son recently brought home from Southern California…. it is called a “gas-o-matic”. The website is gassunlimited.com The website is rather entertaining! I spent some time looking around there. My son really had a lot of fun fooling us and any friends that happened to show up at Christmas time. The looks on people’s faces when they thought someone was really having some bad stomach/digestion issues was really funny. We laughed so hard, especially when my granddaughter’s boyfriend thought it was her doing the (fart) “noise”. We were not laughing at her, but with her.

    What will people come up with next. Actually, the website said that the founder of the company invented this toy when she was 9…in her grandpa’s shop. It was always her dream to market this. I don’t know old she is, of course. I just thought it was funny and worth sharing.

    I was glad to find this blog site tonight. I always enjoy the magazine. My favoite tidbit of information in your magazine was the update on Kenny Rossi. Oh be still, my heart!! It was pounding just like when I was a little girl watching American Bandstand. But, (sorry Kenny), he is older just like all of the rest of us. I would like to see Arlene again. Does Kenny’s wife have any trouble with the past girlfriend memories? Or is it just me who does not like to think of past girlfriends of my husband.

    I hope this blog does not get too political and mean. I am passionate about my political beliefs…..and I have a lot of trouble sitting still and keeping my mouth shut. I have stopped watching favorite shows because of their ugly insults. So I hope that it does not get ugly and insulting to anyone.

    Like

  9. Karen
    January 7, 2008 at 2:55 PM #

    Hey Mark,
    You asked for comments about your blog, length, topic, etc. I LOVE your blog and wouldn’t change a thing as far as your choice of topics. Even when I don’t agree with you, I enjoy hearing what you have to say. As far as length, even though I don’t always have time, I seem to make time to read the whole post, but I don’t expect you to crank out so much. You are obviously a busy guy and half the stuff in one post would also be wonderful to read….go easy on yourself before you burn out! We want many years of the same high level energy bunny!

    Like

  10. January 7, 2008 at 3:19 PM #

    I might not have found the perfect quilt for the rainbow penises, but I eventually found the perfect home for them. Enjoy!

    I loved Juno, but was surprised to find the theater full of young kids. I don’t think they got the irony, and wouldn’t be surprised if they viewed it as a pregnancy primer.

    Like

  11. Tama
    January 10, 2008 at 4:24 AM #

    I was so happy with Juno! What fun to have a funny movie that is funny because of wit and not fart jokes! I don’t think her folks were cavalier – I think they wanted to support her during a scary time without making it any more scary for her. Lots of girls are so afraid of their parents they won’t tell them they are pregnant or in any kind of trouble.
    xoxox

    Like

  12. Jane
    January 11, 2008 at 3:15 PM #

    Connie Hester is alive and well at:

    http://www.conniehester.com/

    Like

  13. January 11, 2008 at 5:00 PM #

    Hi Mark, love your blogs :-)), if you look over here you’ll find info and a e-mail adress of Conny
    http://www.conniehester.com/

    Like

  14. January 13, 2008 at 11:36 PM #

    I went and Juno last night and really liked it. No movie is perfect, but I thought the way Bren and Mac dealt with Juno’s pregnancy was perfect. Very minimal recriminations and then they started being practical (making lists and going with her to meet Mark and Vanessa). I think that their relationship probably came out stronger because of it. I hope I would act that way as well, because I think, in the end, it gave them the space to talk to each other.

    Like

    • October 30, 2009 at 9:01 AM #

      Juno was awesome!! She did such an amazing job. I recently saw Whip It and really enjoyed it. That girl is definetly going places.

      Like

  15. tara
    July 22, 2011 at 5:33 PM #

    OMG! I need that penis fabric for an art project at school. Where can I get it????

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

