Windy Day on Pickle Road

Hi Chickens!

It’s a rainy and windy day on Pickle Road.  

 wind.jpg

Today I’m finalizing all of my paperwork for my big announcement (keep watching, it’s coming soon).

shhhhh.jpg

Evan and I went out last night looking for bargains to include in the Road to California embellishment kits.  

 glass_seed_beads.jpg I’m ordering all of the beads today and putting the kits together on Friday and trying to get them out the door.   There are 25 in this class and it’s hard to find 25 anything over the counter. 

kit-stuff.jpg         more-kt.jpg

Anyone want to help?  

So Hillary wins in New Hampshire.  

 hillary-clinton.jpg

 I’m throwing my support behind Hillary during this primary period.  I’m not an Obama-tron  despite my liberal demeanor.   I don’t get it with him and frankly, I do not want a preacher in the White House – PERIOD (not that there is anything wrong with that).   I would not vote for Huckabee for the very same reason.   Given what happened in New Hampshire yesterday, if I had to choose between the Democrat Obama and the Republican McCain, I would vote for the Republican candidate.   So, for today, I’m a Hillary supporter

I bought this little toy a few weeks ago. It’s called the Flip Camcorder.  

flip-recorder.jpg

Look forward to seeing vidcasts in the very near future.   Maybe tomorrow!

 

You know, I’m all for life changing and life enriching experiences.   I don’t just talk about it, I do it – thus, Mark Lipinski the social worker, the comedian, the TV producer, the quilt-butinski.    That’s why I was drawn to the magazine I’m about to let you in on.  

 online.jpg

 I found this magazine, Online Degrees, at Borders at the Rockaway Mall last night (I spotted it while I was in the line to buy my stuff and just reached over to grab it off the rack).   I really liked what it had to say.  Very inspiring.  I know that there are a lot of you out there who have the brains and the time and have always wanted a degree or would love another crack at higher education.  Now is your chance through modern technology.      It’s not for everybody but it might be for you!

Hell, I signed up for a Quilt University class this time and am scared that I won’t be able to keep up with that!  But, like Dr. Phil — do as I say and not as I do!  LOL

That darn Evan – the reason he was shopping with me last night is because he was grounded.   The other day he just made such a rotten decision that it still has me reeling.     He didn’t get off the bus the other day, so we were expecting him on the later bus.   And we never heard the later bus come or go –  nada!   He has never stayed after school without calling us to pick him up (which we never mind doing).   It was starting to get dark (4:30) so we called the transportation department only to find that there are no later busses on Mondays.  I was in an absolute panic.  I had Jeff drive to the high school while I debated calling the police.  Of course, by 4:30 there was no one at the school nor is there an emergency phone line.   I was beside myself.    I get a call from Jeff about 10 minutes later (he must have driven by flying low) that he found Evan’s backback on the ground in front of the school.   Terrific.  He’s been kidnapped.   Then he found Evan in the gym watching fencing practice.  As for the backpack “Well, I was going to come right back out.”     If he wasn’t dead, I was going to KILL him.    I just can’t imagine having a missing child.  A girl from my high school was abducted and killed – her murderer was recently found, like 20+ years later – so I’m freaked and admittedly generally over-protective.   I’m still so not over this whole thing.  Here is Evan’s new home. 

oldjail_run.jpg

OR he’s getting a nanny!

 sistermaryann.jpg

I found this bowl online with colors that I loved.  I see a quilt in there – or at least quiltspiration – I wanted to share it with you. 

bloyd-art-glass.jpg

 Into the wild blue yonder . . .

good-plane.jpg   I finally made my airplane reservations for Road 2 California. I’ve decided to fly into Ontario and found early flights with only 1 hour or less layover on each flight.   Sweet!  

Anyone for dinner on Tuesday night?  

ontario-airport.jpg  This is the Ontario airport.  Nice, huh? 

 

FINALLY — In Dr. Phil Land

 drphil-brit.jpg

 Dr. Phil is being exposed for what he is – a media craving fraud  (what would Oprah do?).  The Spears’ clan threw him under the bus on the Today show this morning.    He should worry less about making ratings by giving faux therapy to Britney and more time on working on his daughter-in-law’s issues.   And there are issues (here she is with her sisters  ewwwww).  

theoisthuis-nicole_erica_jaclyn__dahm_31.jpg

 Mabye I should start a IHateDrPhil.com!  LOL     You know, I have just worked in television for too, too long.  I see right through him and his producers (some of whom I had hired into the business years ago).   I know how television works and I see it working overtime with this idiot.   It’s disturbing. 

More later cupcakes!  xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Windy Day on Pickle Road”

  1. Mary in H VA
    January 9, 2008 at 4:38 PM #

    You aren’t alone in your trial with Even! i went through this with my son about the same age. It has to do with the fact they think they are independent or want to be. I must tell you, you did the right thing. It worked with John and got him to realize that you must call no matter what. It even got impressed on his friends so they remined him to call or the mean mom i am, would ground them all! Yes i did that too. They didn’t think their parents would back me up but to their suprise the parents agreed with me. although i was the one stuck with all 5 boys grounded together at my house. i tell you what i had the nicest kids and cleanest house in the neighborhood. They are all grown up now and help take care of me for John while he’s stationed overseas or out of the area! So it does work!! Keep your chin up.

    Like

  2. January 9, 2008 at 4:46 PM #

    Hey Mark, that bowl seems to be in colors of some new fabric line out there….oh yeah, YOURS!!! Did you buy the Katmandu bowl??? That story about Evan sounds SO scarey!! Kids don’t think about such bad things happening, and in one sense that is wonderful (for them)…I am glad all is well, and that your heart is back where it belongs (in more ways than one)…
    On the helping issue, if I wasn’t clear across the country, I would be happy to help you pack those totes….(maybe you could pay me in beads :):) )
    Looking forward to the “announcement”

    Like

  3. Connie
    January 9, 2008 at 5:08 PM #

    Amen to you for grounding his tush! The prospect of one of my kids disappearing is a fear that is almost beyond description! Good parents know when to draw a huge tough line in the sand……pat yourself on the back for this one!!!

    Like

  4. January 9, 2008 at 5:24 PM #

    I totaly can realte to the utter panic you felt over Evan…I have had two or three episodes like that with Sam, all times when he forgot his cellphone at home. The last time i could hold back but shed tear of relief that he was okey and I think that finaly got to him.

    The bowl looks very Swedish – we are known for a lot of things, among them our great crystal artists that create art as well as glasses and such. Cech out these two websites: http://www.orrefors.se/main.asp
    http://www.kostaboda.se/default.asp?lang=2
    We have glasses, bowls and pieces of art from both of them.

    As it comes to Hillary, I’m with you there. Started to write a blogpost about her and fabric shopping, but lost the connection somewhere in the middle. What was I thinking… what was I…????;-) the same must be going thorugh these girls brains (if they have any???) – what was we thinking? ROFLMAO

    Of to fry blinis and chop onions.

    Smooootcheees,
    Ylva

    Like

  5. Bonnie
    January 9, 2008 at 5:54 PM #

    My kids never did that, but I did :-(. I was visiting my grandparents in Philly and was supposed to go to visit another Aunt and Uncle. I decided that I really didn’t want to see them, so I caught the greyhound bus back home to central PA without telling anyone.
    When I got home (I don’t remember how late it was) I simply went to bed. The next morning I awoke to my Mom yelling at me. It seems that my grandparents called my aunt and uncle to see if I arrived safely. Of course, everyone went into a panic and called the Philly police and then called my folks to let them know that I was missing. My little sister walked in on the panic scene and said, “Bonnie’s asleep in her bed.” Needless to say, I didn’t go on solo trips for sometime.

    Like

  6. ellen harper
    January 9, 2008 at 7:20 PM #

    Ah yes the good old days with oblivious teen boys who think they are invulnerable and lack any form of common sense. I raised two of those. There were times when I debated between killing them and leaving their bodies in the desert for the buzzards, and well….I loved them so I left their bodies unharmed…Now they are grown with teens of their own and let me tell you revenge of the mom’s is a sweet thing. Fortunately they do grow up and wise up, and hopefully they do get the chance to grow-up and wise-up,….. without any major jail time.

    Like

  7. January 9, 2008 at 7:39 PM #

    I agree with you for grounding Evan, my son pulled something like that (he is only 8 though) and it totally freaked me out. He was allowed to walk home from school (less than 1/4 mile when we lived in WA) he stayed to play on the playground. When he wasn’t home at the required time, I went ballistic. Luckily hubby was home that day and he took things in hand. He found him and when my son got home he was crying and apologizing. No more walking home from school for him. Here it is just too far for my comfort; a mile.

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the bowl. I can see inspiration in that one too!

    Like

  8. January 10, 2008 at 4:19 AM #

    Mark, one of our sons had “difficulty” keeping track of time and reporting in when he was sidetracked. I don’t know how many times he got grounded for being 10 minutes late and for not being in the right place to catch a ride. I really think their brains don’t get the relationship between “cause & effect”. (don’t call home = get your ass in trouble) LOL One time I was griping about it and my husband told me “he’s just like you – you’re always disappearing” and I realized he was right… I do that. I’m terrible about not calling home, and when I’m out around town I go to places I didn’t include on my original itinerary. So what does that say about me? I don’t know, except I just like being alone once in awhile. I don’t do it to cause alarm (heck, I know where I am) but I’m trying to be more thoughtful about going incommunicado. 🙂

    Like

  9. Susan, Pa
    January 10, 2008 at 7:42 PM #

    I was a single mother of a boy, now 28. I had always worked with girls and had no experiences with boys. They drive you crazy and they just don’t think. Meanwhile your mind races with every wild possibility. They do grow up and become responsible, some sooner than later, mine was later but I wouldn’t trade any of the experiences for anything in the world. I would say don’t worry, but you will. The only thing that keeps you from killing them is that you want to see how they turn out.

    Like

  10. quiltedepee
    January 18, 2008 at 4:15 AM #

    At least he had good sense enough to be watching something good – yay for fencing! 😀 (From a fencer, hence the user name…)

    Anjea

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

