Where am I staying again?

Hey Clamatoes!

I’m writing this to you from somewhere between Dallas, Texas and Ontario, California.

After all of your suggestions, I took a connecting flight with a 40-minute layover (which by the time they started boarding, I barely made it) in Dallas, rather than flying into LAX and being stuck in LA traffic trying to get to Ontario.  

This is what you see when you exit the baggage claim area and through the windows of the airport.

view-from-airport.jpg  I was told that they are the Big Bear Mountains.  Stunning!

I did have a chance to read a bunch of things (and even bought a new book while running from one flight to another – verrrrry OJ Simpson – before he murdered Nicole and got away with it).   oj-simpson_edited-1.jpg

The two books that I juggled on the plane were:

toliver.jpg  Michael Toliver Lives by Armistead Maupin.   I read his Tales of the City series in the San Francisco Chronicle or the Examiner when I first moved to Baghdad by the Bay (probably not the most beloved nickname these days) in the late 70’s.  

maupin.jpg  I even took a gay lit class given by Armistead Maupin at San Francisco State.   Now that I’m old, I can’t say that I remember the story lines of the original series as well as he does – so I may have to go back and reread (like that’ll happen).

brilliance.jpg   I found Release Your Brilliance by Simon T. Bailey on an airport kiosk.  Now how can you pass up a title like that?  The premise is “The Four Steps to Transforming Your Life and Revealing Your Genius to the World.”    Someday, I’ll get a handle on life and what I can contribute to the world.   I’m getting pretty antsy because at 50, time is running out.   I haven’t made my “mark” so to speak and there is so much that the world needs.  I struggle trying to find my place here, to inspire and to unite and well, do something rather than just sitting here.   It’s very frustrating to me.   I have this inner need to do something that will count before I die.  I just don’t know what it is…. So I pick up books like this to help focus and guide me.  

I like to think of it as kind of a spiritual/psychic bank account (which reminds me that I’m kinda sparse in my literal bank account as well).   Anyway, the more good stuff you put into your head, when you need it you will have something to draw on.  That doesn’t mean that it will make the “test” easier, just that  you have more tools at your disposal – theoretically.

Let’s see, I have my trusty iPod with me.

Here’s what I listened to . . .

·         At 6 AM I started with Louise Hay’s Evening Meditation.  It knocked me out for 2 hours.

·         Wagner’s Greatest Hits (because I’m a LARGE person who likes composers with LARGE egos and LOUD music   LOL )

wagner.jpg  Richard Wagner (Large composer)

 

·         Britney (of coursebritney-album.jpg  (Britney Spears:  Large problems)

o   My Perogitive

o   Crazy

o   Oops, I Did it Again

o   Baby, One More Time

·         Abba

·       Alicia Keys

·         Annie Smith’s after quilt market Podcast  anniesmith.jpg

·         Alex Anderson’s before Thanksgiving Podcast  ouralexanderson.jpg

 

·         MorningCoach.com – more podcast positive thinking crap morningcoach.jpg

 JUST LANDED…MORE LATER 

So I get my bags at the airport (oh my gosh, Ontario is painless) and called the hotel name that I was given, Country Suites.  I wasn’t registered.   So I called another area hotel with a similar name.  Not registered.   So I gave Jeff a call to check out the notepad where I had originally written down the information.  Yup, Country Suites.   I called again.  I’m not there.  So I had Jeff call the quilt show office.   I’m at the Doubletree.

So I go back into the airport to the courtesy phones, and within minutes I was in the hotel van.  

The Best Western van!   best-western.jpg

It wasn’t until I got to the Best Western front desk that I found out that I was registered there either.  I called Jeff again.   So Jeff says, “I never said Best Western, I said Doubletree.” 

The Best Western van brought me to the Doubletree.  I was registered there.    And my view – the Ontario Convention Center.   Well, the back of it at least.   

conventionctr.jpg

I love the palm trees – even if they are in a parking lot. 

palms.jpg

Oh, I ran into Susie Osburn at the front desk.  Susie  was a Baum designer but she told me that she had just left to join Blank (scoop alert!).   I think the design team at Blank is terrific.  

Once I got into my room and logged in, I found a link to ANOTHER blog review from the Empire State Quilt Guild.  blog-image-with-karen.jpg Click here to read it.   While you’re there, take a look at this quilter’s creations.  She’s one talented cookie!  

Oh, here’s  my room.   bed.jpg room.jpg

bathroom.jpg

This is the carpeting outside of my door.  I think it’s an incredible inspiration for an giant applique quilt, don’t you?

applique-rug.jpg

It’s easy to remember the room number because it’s the same as my weight! 

roomnumber.jpg

Later sweeties! xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Where am I staying again?”

  1. January 16, 2008 at 2:35 AM #

    Oh Mark you have totally missed the mark on Mark! You are a father to a beautiful boy. A boy that may not have had the love and opportunities that you have provided.You are a vibrant person who has made a difference to many quilters. There is a ‘list’ of people that would wrestle anyone to the ground if they said different. I think you have made a good “Mark”. AND don’t talk back !!!!

    Like

  2. Jackie
    January 16, 2008 at 3:20 AM #

    Mark, the carpet design in the hallway looks like an embellished design from Katmandu fabric. Its kismet. I agree with you about being 50 (me too in 2008) and wanting to make a mark on the world. Must be something about the half century timing. Enjoy your trip. The palm trees look heavenly, even if they are in a parking lot.

    Like

  3. Sue
    January 16, 2008 at 4:04 AM #

    Mark,

    You said: “I have this inner need to do something that will count before I die.” I think you did that the day you adopted Evan.

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  4. jeanine
    January 16, 2008 at 3:44 PM #

    Mark;
    I agreed with JP, you’re doing a great job.
    You’re making your Mark all right!!!
    You’re fighting off all those Quiltizillas, (like a knight in shiny armour).
    jeanine

    Like

  5. sarahmasciana
    January 16, 2008 at 6:14 PM #

    Hey Mark! You’re in my neck of the woods! Hope you enjoy your trip!

    Like

  6. Shelley
    January 16, 2008 at 6:39 PM #

    Oh Mark! Anyone who been to one of your lectures will certainly tell you that you have already “left your mark”!!LOL Some of those straight laced biddies will never be the same again!

    Like

  7. January 17, 2008 at 8:28 PM #

    I just realized you’re speaking Friday night! I’m hoping I can get a ticket still, if so, I’ll be one of the loud ones. If not, have a great lecture and thanks for your magazine! I especially loved your “poking fun” at Nancy Grace this month. Perhaps she could use that book above as well 🙂

    Like

  8. Jane Early
    January 21, 2008 at 10:07 PM #

    Hi Mark,

    Whenever you Blog you make my day…….I smile and I Laugh out load a lot.

    You have a geat sense of humor….and under all of this is a lot of love for the industry and your family.

    Always Good Luck

    Jane

    Like

  9. Marilyn Bielski
    January 25, 2008 at 9:20 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    Found your blog because a member of the online quilting group I belong to wants to know where to buy your fabric in Australia. Love your Katmandu fabric line and the emblelishments you can do on it. Your blog is wonderfully humorous and a joy to read. The design on the carpet is great and would make a great quilt.Good luck and many thanks for the read.
    Marilyn in sunny Queensland, Australia

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

