Tuesday

I have Book-itis

I just ordered a slew of books from Amazon.com (I love that site).  Some are brandy new and some are used (I buy a lot of the Amazon.com used books without ever having had a problem).   

 61gk30qjejl__bo2204203200_pilitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg  This is Mary Lou Weidman’s book called Whimsies & Whatnots.  I have another of her books and this one looked really interesting.  I think she’s the greatest and very talented.   You know what?  I wouldn’t be a bit surprised, now that I’m looking at this image again, if I don’t already have this book in my  studio (I literally have about 800-1,000 quilting/crafts books)!  LOL  Yeah, I think I bought this one once before!  I have so many doubles of things that I love, you wouldn’t believe it.     Maybe that will all settle down after my lobotomy. 

I was turned onto this book at Road to California by a Pickle.   It’s a great one but I’m not telling why.  You’ll have to read the next issue of Quilter’s Home.    I got the last used copy on Amazon for $30.00.    YIKES! 

 61xtei3yozl__aa240_.jpg

I liked the cover of this book called, Textiles:  A Handbook for Designer —  and that was enough for me to get it.   Now that I’m designing fabric I should begin to understand the process.   Although I must say, while designing for Troy I found it fascinating to briefly learn of the different processes involved and I loved my Troy fabric.

 514y22bnwgl__bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg

61s3q9yayql__aa240_.jpg  I own and use Adobe Photoshop (the super big version) so buying this pricey book, Adobe Photoshop for Textile Designers, seemed a good choice.   Now, if I’ll only crack it open, I might be able to do some good work!  LOL 

456129373_acb369896b.jpg   I also ordered a book (without a cover photo) of, God help me,  Fashions of a Decade: The 1980’s!   Hysterical!   Madonna fashions!   High heels and anklets!   Walk Like an Egyptian, ladies! 

 Califon inches it’s way to the press

This morning, Jeff and I met with Northcott designer, Ro Gregg, to go over final versions of Califon that will debut at Spring Market.   Pretty exciting.  

rogregg.jpg   This is designer  Ro Gregg and she hates having her picture taken (I can relate).   She’s talking to the Northcott Sales Manager, Bernie in Lyndhurst, NJ! 

 

elise.jpg  This is Ilse, Ro’s assistant and partner in design crime.   So sweet with a hysterical sense of humor (which sucks me right in). 

Meet Marco, Ro’s Dog.  He’s so friendly and cute but wouldn’t stand still for the photo! What a cuuuute face! 

marcopolo.jpg

 

 Designing fabric is like having a baby.   The first one will always hold a special place in your heart, but the others are equally as important and you love them all for very different reasons. 

019.jpg  On the way home, Jeff and I stopped for Chinese in Mendham, New Jersey.  I had General Tso’s and Jeff had Hunan Chicken.  We both hated our soup. 

 

Evan just got home from school and he’s getting ready for a swim meet tonight.  It’s gonna be a late one, dudes!  evan.jpg

 

Web “Sitings”

Here are some websites that had been forwarded to me that are either friend or foe of the Pickles.   Take a look by clicking on their names! 

Patty Sky Pants

Art Quilts and Other Adventures by Suzanne Earley

Putting the Pieces Back Together

Later, chippies!  xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Tuesday”

  1. January 29, 2008 at 10:26 PM #

    Well, Rhoda… I’m old enough to remember the show and I’m not even sure what that means. It’s a puzzlement. I’m going to go take a happy pill of some sort.

    Like

  2. Sue
    January 30, 2008 at 12:03 AM #

    Mark,

    Put your book doubles up for sale on Feb. 1 on the Pickle Road forum, or give them away as monthly prizes!

    Sue in NJ

    Sue, honestly, do you think I would part with doubles of books? No way, Jose! The more stash the merrier! xoxom

    Like

  3. January 30, 2008 at 4:11 AM #

    I hope you will consider me a friend and not a foe! I had what I thought was a really brilliant brainstorm yesterday morning and then had to do some mental head-smacking when I realized that my brain was really just conjuring up what I’d read in the latest issue of Quilter’s Home….

    A friend? You mean BFF (how Lindsey and Britney)! Love reading your blog, too! xoxom

    Like

  4. January 31, 2008 at 2:11 AM #

    Rhoda as compared to who? MTM or Rhoda’s husband Joe? Hmmm. And, Mark, you aren’t a fire sign, right? I’m going to look up the Fashions of a Decade book(s)–I’m currently co-teaching a class that is covering one decade a month…right now we are on the 1920’s. the 80’s book would be awesome for when we get to the month of July.

    I’m not a fire sign. I’m an AIR sign. Gemini. June 15, 1823. xoxom

    Like

  5. January 31, 2008 at 4:48 AM #

    My goodness my face is bright red after seeing my Whimsies and Whynots book on Mark’s fabulous blog. Mark, you made my year and I am so honored. This book is being rewritten or sort of. I am doing a book on creativity that will follow the ideas of creativity in Whimsies and take it even farther. One can never be too creative…or was that thin and rich? Well, all three. Thank you Mark!
    Mary Lou

    I’ll take THIN! xoxom

    Like

  6. Tama
    February 3, 2008 at 7:41 PM #

    Hey, Mark – try half.com for used books, too. I have heard that the Amazon sellers often don’t actually get their money (has happened to a couple people I know). In fact, just as I was looking to see if they have a fair selection of quilting books, I bought Denyse Shmidt’s book for $13.80 including shipping!

    Like

  7. November 4, 2010 at 2:56 PM #

    there are many used books sale in our area and i frequently visit them to buy some::

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

