Tie One On!

violet.jpg  Hey Violets!

I’ve been on a roller coaster since Monday.   Bring on the hooch, mama!  untitled.jpg

Oh, look what a got in the mail today!   Another variation of one of my mystery quilts.  By Sharon at Road to California. 

 marksmystery1.jpg  

It’s so different from the other!   

 Well Turtles, I bought this out-of-print cross stitch chart from eBay the other day and it came TODAY!

 flower-gaeity.jpg

It’s an out of print design by my friend, Betsy Stinner.  I adore her but I don’t think she’s designing cross stitch right now.  She had a bad bout with cancer a few years ago and, thank God, she’s cancer free now, the last I’d heard.   You would love her.

 Betsy is the designer of EARTH THREADS which are my favorite cross stitch charts to stitch.  They are small, but not too small, manageable and easy to do and they look terrific when worked up.   I have several hanging around the walls of Pickle Road that I’ve done.  

flower-gaeity-pillowsw.jpg

 Anyway, Betsy and I were in almost constant email contact while she was designing these pillows and she ended up allowing me to name the pattern and then — surprise — she dedicated it to me.  

 dedication-flower-gaiety.jpg

I couldn’t stand seeing it for sale on eBay so I bought it.   When I opened the package, well just a rush of fond memories came pouring out.   I wanted to share that with you.    You can check out some Earth Threads charts (all are out of print) at my fav-0 cross stitch on-line shop, Stitches n Things (they have EVERYTHING cross stitch).   You can also see some great Earth Threads stuff by Googling the name or checking out eBay. 

kathy-smith.jpg  Look what Kathy Brown, designer of The Teacher’s Pet patterns (click here to go to Kathy’s web site) sent to me today.   A Gambino’s Mardi Gras, Ship-a-Cake Party  that you decorate yourself, with the colored icings and sugars that are included, along with Mardi Gras beads (EVAN QUOTE“Are these the beads that the girls get and show their boobs?“) and coins and lots of fun stuff!    Make sure you check out Kathy’s TAKE FIVE pattern! 

 gambinos.jpg

Forget the hooch.  Pass the cake!   Doesn’t this look like fun?  Thank you Kathy! 

xoxom

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Tie One On!”

  1. Jackie
    February 1, 2008 at 3:02 AM #

    Careful with the King Cake Mark! There’s a tiny plastic baby hidden inside and whoever gets the baby in their slice of the cake either ….. hosts the next Mardi Gras party, is the next person to get married, or is the next person to have a baby…. I forget which! Just be careful! I wonder what happens if you slice the plastic baby in half when you cut the cake? You get pregnant at the Mardi Gras wedding? Yikes!

    Like

  2. February 1, 2008 at 10:13 AM #

    Hmmm, I’m thinking Kathy needs to make one of these cakes the next time I’m down there so I can see how blissfully delicious it is!

    Like

  3. February 1, 2008 at 5:17 PM #

    In my blog yesterday, I describe The Rhoda. I am also featuring my personal Mark in a cool Mendham sweatshirt — hot!

    Like

  4. Colleen in Canada
    February 1, 2008 at 6:39 PM #

    Hey Mark! Make mine a Gin and tonic, and let me off the rollercaoster!

    I come to the blog for a break and a laugh and you NEVER disappoint!
    Colleen in Canada

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

