Weekend Saturday

Jeff and I went to our friend, Toby Preston’s, house the other night for a glass of wine and to show her our complete new fabric line, CALIFON, for Mark Lipinski Home for Northcott.    Toby owns my home shop, Kindred Quilts.

scan02022008_115935.jpg   While we were there, Toby showed us the current issue of craftrends magazine that featured Woodstock, NY Pickles, Bob Silverman and Jim Helms, and their shop Woodstock Quilt Supply as well as an article of marketing outside of the quilting box.  

Now here’s a weird bit o’trivia.   sally.jpg  When I was the Exec in charge of the Sally Jesse Raphael show, I got to know Sally’s assistant, Keith.  As it turned out, Keith and Jim were old friends, long before I met Jim.  Small world, eh? 

scan02022008_121304.jpg

article.jpg   scan02022008_120732.jpg

The embellished Katmandu in the photo was made by a Pickle whose name I can’t remember as I write this!!! I believe she is in Alaska?   Help me out here, Pickles!  I’ll post her name later.   I’d look except all of the Katmandu projects have been included in a Katmandu Trunk Show at Pearl Louise Krush’s, Thimble Cottage Quilt Shop in Rapid City, South Dakota.   Jeff made the clock and it sits in our living room!  

This is Bob and Jim’s shop.  Fabulous, no?  It’s a beautiful 1800’s building.  Just like Pickle Road! 

79tinkerstreetfront.jpg

In the article, they discussed marketing Katmandu.    You can read the entire article by purchasing the magazine –  you can ask the guys at Woodstock Quilt Supply to order copies for you.  If you’re not into the magazine, then at least check out their website.  It’s terrific.  www.quiltstock.com  (get it?  like Woodstock?).  

These guys are really amazing and I hope you get the chance to meet them one day.  bobandjim.jpg

Web “Sightings” Friends and Foes.  

Take a look at these blogs where either Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home or Mark Lipinski were mentioned.  Just click on the names and you’re there! 

Calico Cats

 The Modern Diary

Life is a Patchwork Quilt

I’m nuts-o writing and  finishing up the next issue today.   But before I get started and squeeze my fatazz into a pair of jeans (with seams screaming for mercy) fat.jpg     

                                             I wanted to tell you that I had an amazing talk with some Moda designers and with designer Tina Givens (Westminster Fabrics) yesterday.  I tried to call Gail Kessler, the amazing fabric designer from Andover but she was out of the office and not in her shop.  I hear she’s having a huge sale at her shop Ladyfingers Sewing Studio in Oley, PA this weekend.  Call them for details – but her shop rocks, too! 

 Also, I’ve been watching Celebrity Apprentice.  Would somebody PULLLLEEEEESE feed Marilu Henner?  

marilu.jpg

 

  321341100.jpg

Love you, Parrots!   xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Weekend Saturday”

  1. Sue
    February 3, 2008 at 2:58 AM #

    Mark,

    Is Craftrends Mag available to the public, or is it a Trade-Only pub? Looks like it my be fun to get.

    Sue in NJ

    I believe it is just a trade mag but I’m sure they’ll take your $$$! Why not? xoxom

    Like

  2. February 3, 2008 at 4:26 AM #

    Thank you Mark, for the plug for our community-Calico Cats. I’m tickled you swing by time to time (of course I make sure I drop you name ever so often)….I was more tickled to read the article in my latest Quilter’s Home about your dream of being a quilting pirate….arrrgh matey!

    C’mon now, a ship full of drunken men without a woman in sight? Nirvana! LOL xoxom

    Like

  3. Anjea
    February 3, 2008 at 7:08 AM #

    A frequent poster of Calico Cats here! I feel all famous, now. 😀 Love you!
    Anjea
    Austin, TX

    Isn’t everybody just a little famous all of the time? xoxom

    Like

  4. February 3, 2008 at 2:38 PM #

    Hey all, Sue in NJ, Craftrends is a Trade-Only Pub and it may not be all that interesting to the non-retailer. Spend your money on fabric!
    And BTW, I need that mag back Mark!! xoxo back at ya.

    Like

  5. February 4, 2008 at 1:37 AM #

    Thank you so much for mentioning Calico Cats. I’m a member of the community and love it. Its also the place where I learned about your awesome magazine!

    Glad to hear that you swing by on occasion!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

