Snowing on Pickle Road

Yuck.  It’s cold and snowy on Pickle Road this morning.

 picrd.jpg Pickle Road, 8:00AM, 2/4/08

Oh well, I’m warm in the win of the New York Giants.

 Honestly, Tom Brady is uber cute fh2zstca00lvfbcafk6va6cadqx189caa65oagcakq94ppca2y1nqmca2dhooycawluh7kcasigye3caj237n3cauaz1zwcau3k1wlcav5vtr7cal1j9qwcalv8jrecaixh8vycabnp72kca37nl1ccak2mzoo.jpg tom-brady.jpg

BUT some “hero” he turned out to be.   Well, yuck!   Keep it in your pants, Brady!

fm9nt6calk7nzfcaq4h0dhca8823p1caxnz0e2caccitxzcau53j93cahbmqsmca95zg9mcai19r7rcasig8ldcad23th6cal2cqjeca3bxbr9caesd90acamq4hc7cajf8fwbcaucwkoicacldanhcaf722u6.jpg

Which, by the way, that Stephen Gostkowski is the new Raider I HEARTrd2xq9cakizcp5cacumakbcaii22nacapuzcpzcaqnx6ngcaqo1frrcatv3tkrcab1ahfncar0p74tcaj4js29caa1nf4tcaavrvu2ca7il1rfcaneg4nxcaywxxrjcaotfarbcad0nobbcaowfr0qcapahtqb.jpg 2068290227.jpg 2875455271.jpg

A Polish boy.  We’re all cute!  LOL  3926742071.jpg

I read a pretty good vintage book last night.  

 scan02032008_202541.jpg

 It’s just a digest of antique quilts, published in 1984.  These old books (my total favorites) always inspire me — if not for what’s in them, for concrete examples of how far we’ve come in the craft. 

 I had the chance to have an incredible conversation with Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin quilter, Jane McCabe.  Jane sent me the most heartfelt letter a few weeks ago, along with one of her favorite books, Quilty as Charged by Spike Gillespie.

scan02032008_202318.jpg  It’s a series of articles that cover the art, history and benefits of quilting.   I like a book where I can jump around rather than have to read it from page one until the end.  There are stories of famous quilters and not so famous quilters.   It’s a good read, but the best part is finding a new friend like Jane.   When I called her, we just — bonded.   It was like talking to an old friend rather than to a new person. 

TRY THIS TODAY:   Engage someone whom you don’t know.  Make a new friend — even if it’s over the phone.  What you sow today may reap many, many wonderful experiences and benefits and a wonderful kinship with a fellow human being tomorrow.   Post, in my comments section, who you tried to befriend today and how it turned out!

Look what showed up in my mailbox on Saturday.  I just had the time to leaf through it but I can’t wait to sit down with it.  It’s the Studio Arts Quilt Associates Journal.  I’m most interested in the article, Selling Your Artwork Online with Etsy.  I’ll read it when I take a writing break this afternoon.  

 scan02032008_202509.jpg

While I was shopping at Road to California, I met Sheri Bignell, an author and quilt designer.   I have one of her pattern booklets, French Country Farmhouse Collection.   I love Sheri’s White Sage quilt in the little booklet. 

scan02032008_202407.jpg    scan02042008_083004.jpg

scan02032008_202810.jpg  Simon & Schuster sent me a new book — well, an updated and revised version of an old book — Potatoes Not Prozac.  This book got a lot of good attention when it was first released.   You know and I know that I have totally “let myself go” and I could use a book like this that will balance my sugar sensitivity, lose weight, and stop cravings.   Maybe it’s worth a try.   Any of you read this?   Anyone tried it? 

scan02032008_202617.jpg

Jennifer Chiaverini has a new book out – The Quilter’s Homecoming.   I’m not a great fan of fiction.  I like a juicy biography.   I do know that this author celebrates quite a loyal following but my hunch is there are no Sonny Corleone screwing the bridesmaid in the extra bedroom chapters, so I’m forced to pass.   This book will be a Pickle Prize so stay tuned!   By the way, I have noticed that this book actually feels good in my hands.  I don’t know why?  I’ve held a bazillion of her books — but this one feelsgood.   And if you’re a bookophile, you know just what I’m talking about. 

Speaking of books, my friend Gloria Dighton give me this book.    Hilarious, right?   And you know I’m a native Pittsburgher!   It’s written and colored by Judi Barrett and drawn by Ron Barrett in 1997.  Thought you Pickles would get a kick out of it.

scan02032008_202729.jpg

Now, have you guys all received your Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home subscription mailing?   If you’re not a subscriber and want to be, call … (866) 429-0133.  

scan02032008_202645.jpg

Look what I won on eBay yesterday:

 c920_1.jpg

It’s from the day I was born.  June 15, 1957.   I have  a couple of publications dated 6/15/57.   I’d like to have them framed, eventually, for my office or studio (if it is ever organized  and weeded out enough to walk through again).

Here’s another magazine I eBay won, dated with my birth date. 

juen-15.jpg

Finding these magazines are an amazingly personal and fun birthday gift.   Just search eBay with the date.  

Web “Sightings” Friends and Foes

Click this to read the Oregon Surfers.  Take a look at her Friday Five Questions about Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home.

 That’s it for today, Pickles!    xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

13 Comments on “Snowing on Pickle Road”

  1. Robin
    February 4, 2008 at 2:54 PM #

    Good morning, Mark! I wish it were snowing here in northern Delaware. It’s so peaceful! All we have is rain. Good day for quilting.

    Love your idea of collecting magazines from your birthdate! Off to eBay I go!

    Have a cheery day!
    Robin

    Like

  2. Sandi Andersen
    February 4, 2008 at 4:44 PM #

    Engage someone whom you don’t know. Mark, Where do I begin? Thanks to your magazine and the Pickle Posse, I have connected with an interesting group of ladies. Just the mention of something in a post on the Pickle site has prompted me to send a private e-mail to someone and vice versa. I am always surprised by this. It’s kind of like being a kid and having a bunch of pen pals. Just this morning I received an e-mail from, Trisha, a pickle who is also a racing fan so we speak a common language. Then there’s, Karen, who also enjoys collecting miniatures and quilting. Then there’s Carol and Andee and a couple others who, when we began e-mailing realized we had some common bonds. I live by this phrase – Engage someone whom you don’t know. It drives my mother nuts that I have the ability to make friends with almost anybody and she says I am just like my grandma (that may be what drives her nuts as it’s her mother-in-law). I have “sown” many a friendship seed that has brought me life-long friends, quilters and non-quilters, that have brought a great deal of joy (and support in tough times) into my life. I could share more but I don’t think you’re looking for long comments here. E-mail me if you want to hear more. There’s a Jeff Turner in my life that made a difference for me, but that’s a story I only share with very close friends.

    Like

  3. February 4, 2008 at 5:12 PM #

    Love those old quilting books!! But I usually want to figure out how to incorporate it into what I do now. But hey… I’m still drooling over that quiltstock site you posted earlier….. how do you get through all the material sent your way?

    It’s nuts here so I do a little at a time. Tomorrow, I’ll show you just the stack of magazines I have to weed through! Wish you were here to help! xooxm

    Like

  4. February 4, 2008 at 5:21 PM #

    Mark, when are the subscription mailings supposed to start? Just curious if I should be buying the March issue or waiting for it to come in my Mailbox. I subscribed the first day you posted about it on the yahoo group.

    Gee, I don’t know. I only do editorial here, at Pickle Road. If you need help with anything to do with subscriptions please telephone
    (866) 429-0133. xoxom

    Like

  5. Bonnie
    February 4, 2008 at 6:39 PM #

    Don’t have time to connect with anyone today – I’m supposed to be working on a rush delivery ;-). I’m not really here reading your blog – I’m very busy hitting the keys today!

    Like

  6. February 4, 2008 at 8:11 PM #

    Enage someone I don’t know, today. Well, does talking to the new hire that started today count? I definitely will think of your advice to “reach out” as an ongoing thing! BTW I have the “Quilty as Charged” book too. Funny thing is, I am finding myself enjoying jumping back and forth with it! It’s taking a while to finish since I usually have more than one book going at a time (one for different rooms of the house)!

    Everyone counts! That’s the entire point of the exercise. You never know who you’re letting slip past you — someone who could possibly change your life! xoxom

    Like

  7. Susannah
    February 4, 2008 at 11:40 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    If you’re looking for a good biography… Try Rupert Everett’s. Forget the title because since I turned 40 am suffering from what comedian Sandra Shamas refers to as “LOSS OF NOUNS” disease. In any case, he’s quite articulate and definitely an amusing read if only to find out that Julia Roberts smells of sweat… Enjoy

    Like

  8. February 5, 2008 at 3:42 PM #

    Woo-Hoo! Thanks for mentioning my book. I had so much fun writing it. I used to write about bad relationships for a living. Now I write about quilts. Must say the change has done me good. Stay warm. (It’s about 70 here in Austin today.)

    Like

  9. Liz
    February 5, 2008 at 8:42 PM #

    Hey Mark…I am a 6/16 baby myself…knew there was something I liked about you!! You have me by just a couple years though…
    keep warm…your Art Tart, Liz

    Like

  10. Tama
    February 10, 2008 at 5:44 AM #

    I’m reading your blog at the end of the day, but I did what you told me by accident, in a way. I worked at Black Cat today with someone I had never worked with before and didn’t know. We hit it off just fine, had a very busy day. had big conversations with lots of people (some new, some not). Fun!

    Like

  11. February 15, 2008 at 6:42 PM #

    My issue of Quilter’s Home just arrived in my mailbox yesterday. It took a little longer to get to Canada than it probably did for subscribers in the U.S., but MUCH quicker than another quilt mag I subscribe to which is on the newstands for well over a month before I get my copy. Great job, Mark! It may not be very “green” of me, but I like the cellophane sleeve it came in as well. I like to receive my magazines in pristine condition. I am halfway through this issue already and am looking forward to some quiet time to finish reading the rest.

    Like

  12. February 15, 2008 at 8:41 PM #

    I’ve pretty much decided that etsy is great. I can find so many different things there… and not mention how inspiring it is to see the different designs not just of quilts or fabric, but of jewelry, pottery, and other handiwork. I bought a pair of black pug earrings… SO fab. I personally have not sold anything on the site (though I hope to), but from those I know who have, etsy is very fair with their pricing and supporting of the homemade arts and crafts!

    Like

  13. February 24, 2008 at 3:20 AM #

    I read “Potatoes not Prozac” & decided I needed the antidepressants more than the potatoes.

    Sandra

    HYSTERICAL!!! And now that you mention it the same goes for me . . . xoxom

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

