Saturday Musings

Four new books came in the mail yesterday from C&T books.   That means that they are on your quilt store shelves.  Look for reviews of one or more of them in upcoming issues of Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home.

wbrdy1.jpg

webrdy4.jpg

wbrdy3.jpg

wbrdy2.jpg

 

Mark’s AMERICAN IDOL Watch:

I’m an American Idol junkie.   judgessoundbites_120x120.jpg I’ve watched every show from every season.  

I love this kid, David Archuleta, 17, from Salt Lake City!   I know that he has 8-1 odds to win, and the thought is that he’s ‘fragile’ but so far, I’m rooting for him.  Besides, he kinda looks like Evan’s brother!  He just seems like a really nice kid.

david_a1.jpg

I’m also loving Syesha Mercado from Miami (Odds: 11-1) and Asia’h Epperson of Joplin, MO (Odds 10-1)

Syesha  syesha.jpg  asiah.jpg Asia’h

Also, not crazy about Austrailian and Irish nationals in the competition.  If it’s called American Idol, then it should be limited to Americans, otherwise call it World Idol and allow everyone to compete.  

Michael Johns  michael.jpg  carly.jpg  Carly Smithson

So while I think these two have real talent, they should compete in Austrailian Idol and Britian’s Pop Idol.  

What do YOU think?

Friend and Foe Blogs

Click here to read a MLQH mention on the Always in Stitches Blog

Click here to read the Barrels of Monkeys blog.   Thank God for 40% off coupons at JoAnn’s!  LOL

Have a wonderful Saturday, Sweeties! xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Saturday Musings”

  1. Mary Ann
    February 16, 2008 at 2:17 PM #

    Mark,
    I love your magazine, it’s the only quilting magazine I’m subscribing to now. I’m somewhat on a quilting hiatus now, am loving knitting socks, but have made lots of quilts and found that I wasn’t getting inspired by the quilting magazines any more. I love your fresh look at the quilting world (fresh as in new and fresh as in sassy).
    thanks, Mary Ann (mother of Suzanne at saltcreekquilts@wordpress.com, machine quilter extraordinaire)

    Like

  2. Patty Skypants
    February 16, 2008 at 2:44 PM #

    My man was Josiah and now that he’s gone there’s no reason to watch, so I probably won’t.

    Oh, I was no fan of his. I liked him until he cried every 5 minutes. Plus, I think there was a pathology there that was not exposed in the shows where he was featured. I’d like to know the real story of an 18-year-old living in his car. I think it may be, sadly, a very dark chapter. xoxom

    Like

  3. Janette
    February 16, 2008 at 10:02 PM #

    I have to agree about Josiah. I have fostered troubled teens and I saw something there that concerned me. I think he has talent and hope he finds the help and support he needs. My guy was Kyle! I got all teary when he left. He was sweet and smart and endearing. I wanted to see how he would handle all of the changes the kids go through on Idol. Oh, a little bit about quilting, Mark. Your Katmandu fabric (four of them) is our guild’s challenge fabric this year. I may actually complete a challenge quilt this year!!

    Like

  4. February 16, 2008 at 11:00 PM #

    I liked Josiah but yeah the crying was getting a bit annoying! I really like that rocker girl / nurse! She’s so chill about everything and just rocks! I just read an article on yahoo or something that said a bunch of the people who made it through already had some sort of brush with success…and there’s talk about a possible rigging or something. I doubt the rigging, but it would be cool to just keep it amateur, not the ones who’ve already been signed with major labels that just didn’t take off.

    Like

  5. Bland Reddy
    February 19, 2008 at 9:37 PM #

    I say let them all participate in American Idol ! After all, Simon isn’t American… and he is the one who is exploiting them. 🙂

    Besides, if they can make it here, they can make it anywhere. And there’s a lot of talent out there that may not be recognized otherwise.

    There is enough time for everyone to get their 15 minutes of fame once the tabloids tire of Britney (ok, there is enough time for most everyone…)

    Please God, I will NEVER tire of Britney! Leave Britney alone! LOLOL xoxom

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

