Why I’m in New Jersey

It’s snowing on Pickle Road — REALLY snowing.

You might wonder why I am not on a plane to Nebraska.   Yesterday, the class coordinator, Nancy (poor Nancy) and I made a call to postpone my classes until the first weekend in April (5 and 6) due to the storm warnings and Continental’s urging to reschedule due to flight impact on their carriers.   Right now, almost 4 hours before my flight was scheduled for take off, there is an FAA delay of over 5 1/2 hours.   The worst part about this storm?  Evan’s school was cancelled — so I’m home with him all day having him nag me about texting.   Please stay tuned to your local Eyewitness News for updates on his impending murder. . .

map.jpg

Already, this is the most significant storm of the season for New York City,” said National Weather Service meteorologist Jim Connolly. The weather service predicted 6 to 9 inches for the city, with up to a foot in suburban Westchester and Rockland counties. Up to 10 inches was forecast on Long Island before the storm passed out of the region late Friday.The New York City Department of Transportation has suspended alternate side of the street parking rules for the day.

While I’m sad that I won’t be in Lincoln (the quilter’s there really rock, you guys — so much fun), I’m happy that we made the right call and in plenty of time.

Janet-Lee Santeusanio, who is the founder of the Machine Quilter’s Exposition, (MQX), an annual machine quilting show and conference, read the blog and saw the typewriter jewelry.  Look at hers!  She’s a trip.  If ever you get the chance to meet her, do it.  I wonder where she was able to find the customized version? 

miscellaneous-photos-002.jpg

I opened a letter yesterday to find a photo and raffle tickets for my Brownstone Quilter’s Guild in Northern, NJ. The tickets are $1 and I’m buying both of my books myself (I hate whoring them out to my friends). But I want to say that I think this is a beautiful quilt and you should get a chance to win it — I mean, let’s be real for a second —  Every raffle quilt that I’ve ever been involved with is won by someone that no guild member knows from out of state or out of the country so you just might win it.  Now, how to get you your ticket?   brrownstone-quilt.jpg

My bud, Amy Buehler, told me about this 1996 book – The Unbroken Thread, A History of Quiltmaking in the Catskills.  

BEFORE I WRITE ON:   Is Quiltmaking and Quiltmaker a compound word or two seperate words such as quilt maker and/or quilt making?    I can’t seem to find a definative answer anywhere on line.   As an editor of a quilting rag, you might think I would know the answer?

Our mutual friend and quilt designer, Mary Lowe (she works at Kindred Quilts) is in it, I went nuts and bought an old copy right away!   Now that damn Mary never mentioned a word about having been in a book.  Consider this her “outing.”

book-cover.jpg

mary.jpg  This is Mary today (Be careful — Who you calling, Mary?)

Friends and Foes

Zeppelin Threadsblog talks about Katmandu. 

Quilter’sRInn’s blog gives a 10% discount if you can find the “pin up” picture of me in their shop!  LOL  I wouldn’t mind seeing it myself! 

 I want to play in the snow!  I just might take a walk after I have a conference call with my boss-lady, Lin! 

More later Pickles!  xoxom

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Why I’m in New Jersey”

  1. February 22, 2008 at 4:45 PM #

    Hi Mark
    I had 5 snow days lately here up in New Brunswick (Canada). My students are way behind. So now we’re making up for it, and I am pushing through the curriculum.
    I received Katmandu material from E-Quilter. Thanks for telling me about these. The mail was delayed too, as we had two storms in 1 week.
    I just hope that March Break will be storm free.
    jeanine in canada

    Like

  2. Carleen
    February 22, 2008 at 5:34 PM #

    Hey Mark,
    Although we are all so disappointed by the cancelation, you definitely did the right thing and we know you are safe. We are no strangers to winter storms in Nebr. so we definitely understand. Love ya, Carleen

    Like

  3. crafterrn1
    February 22, 2008 at 6:12 PM #

    Mark
    A great call on cancelling the trip to NE. I know what you went thru in Dec! I know you did not want to go thru anything remotely like that again. Kudo’s and the NE quilters will enjoy you all the more in April!
    Luann

    Like

  4. Bonnie
    February 22, 2008 at 6:42 PM #

    Mary isn’t going to be happy about having her birth year shown on the internet!

    Dude, don’t shoot the messenger! xoxom

    Like

  5. ABB
    February 22, 2008 at 11:02 PM #

    I wondered when you were going to get the book, Mark. Glad I could pass on something you could use! Good cll staying home – the snow turned out to be a real snow! Mae and I went out and made a snowlady and a snowbaby!

    Who knew? I’m always miffed at TV warnings: WINTER STORM WATCH 2008 and then not even get a flurry! Boy, that bites my (rather substantial) butt! xoxom

    Like

  6. Jackie
    February 23, 2008 at 1:53 AM #

    Quilt raffle tickets?! Sign me up! I need quilt raffle tickets! I’ll take a book!

    Like

  7. Janet-Lee Santeusanio
    February 23, 2008 at 2:33 AM #

    I knew you’d get a kick out of my watch. There’s a button lady that goes to Vermont Quilt Festival and other big shows. I saw her in Houston too. She scrounged up a letter “J” and a letter “L” too which she made into earrings. The hilarious thing is I usually wear them bass-ackwards because I’m looking in the mirror and I can’t figure out which letter to put in which ear. I know, I know……. you’d think I could figure that out. Now I just put them in and ask one of the kids Max (15) or Ariana (almost 14) if I’ve put them on correctly. Since they have both mastered the eye roll thing, I THINK they give me an honest answer. Oh well. “JL”

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

