Still Snowy on Pickle Road – Friday Blog #3

Still really snowy and icy on Pickle Road.  

hearing-aid-battery.jpg  Of course, Evan needed hearing aid batteries — apparently he’s been just taking them from the spot where we store them without telling us.  When he announced that he needed new batteries and we went to get them, of course they were long gone.    

I could strangle him.  strangle.jpg  No boundaries whatsoever —  no matter what the consequences.  I should have let him go deaf for the day.  But into the car Jeff and I went to get him batteries.  Bad son!  Good dads! No respect!  Teenagers!  Ugh!

pickleroad-2.jpg

This is our neighborhood, we followed the plow onto Old Farmer’s Road.  When we got to our local, Long Valley Pharmacy, the whole strip mall was closed because of the weather.  So we had to drive to Chester, NJ (the next town) to the Rite Aid there.

winter-day-003.jpg

On the way home, we stopped at Alsteade’s Farm to see what they had.   

alsteades.jpg

Look what greeted us at the door!  There were about 3-4 peacocks in all.   Really pretty birds. I wish I could have some on Pickle Road but if the raccoons didn’t get them, then the fox would.   I’ve lost too many cooped chickens to gamble with a peacock! 

bird1.jpg  cocks1.jpg

Here is the inside of the farm stand.  It was such a breath of fresh air after being locked in the house because of the weather.

store-1.jpg

onions.jpg

The first smell that hits you when you walk in the door is hot apple cider and cider doughnuts! 

cider-doughnuts.jpg

They have their own orchards for apple picking during the fall. apples.jpg

local-honey.jpg   Some local honey!

Local, and not so local, syrup.local-syrup.jpg 

greenhouse.jpg  There is a little attached greenhouse.  It smelled like spring. 

Jeff bought some seeds for the garden.  Planting season isn’t really that far away. seeds.jpg

beeswax-candles.jpg  I love the smell of beeswax candles.  

We bought a homemade Peach/Raspberry pie for dessert!  Yummy! peach-raspberry.jpg

whackpack.jpg   I was introduced to the Creative Whack Pack about 16 years ago, by Lisa Nee, a programming exec at Lifetime Television.  She swore by them.  When I saw them in a local Borders the other day, I picked up a pack.  They are terrific for creative types like us.  When you get stuck or depressed or confused, you pull a card and it will guide you right out of your dry spell and creative slump. 

rag-rug.jpg  I got this “new” old book the other day.  I swear that I’m going to start designing rugs  and counted cross stitch again!  

 Later, Pickles!  xoxom

Categories: Lipinski, Magazine, Quilt

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

24 Comments on “Still Snowy on Pickle Road – Friday Blog #3”

  1. Jackie
    February 23, 2008 at 1:54 AM #

    How is Miss Tulip handling the snowy weather?

    Peeing verrrrry fast! We shoveled out an area for her as the snow is deeper than she is. She’s not going to her favorite spot but she’s not going in the house, either! 🙂 xoxom

    Like

  2. Bonnie
    February 23, 2008 at 3:34 AM #

    Please don’t get the peacocks! Beautiful birds but they will work hard to destroy Jeff’s beautiful gardens and they make a more noise than you’d think possible.

    Like

  3. Peggy Welchert
    February 23, 2008 at 4:05 AM #

    Wow Mark…I was too busy to look at blogs for the last 5 days and you wrote a months worth of stuff on yours. Glad Jeff and you were able to take some time off from work. I love the pictures of Alsteade’s Farm. I really miss places like that. Tell Jeff that our second planting of tomatoes are up. The mice in the green house ate the first planting. They are now in mice heaven.
    Enjoy your snow.

    Peggy

    Like

  4. Jorja
    February 23, 2008 at 4:40 AM #

    Oh, ditto what Bonnie said about the peafowl! They’re destructive as hell and LOUD. And they’ll walk & crap all over your vehicles and outdoor furniture.

    I like mine on cross-stitch or needlepoint, but not on the hoof.

    Like

  5. Janet Stone
    February 23, 2008 at 6:00 AM #

    Mark, did you publish your counted cross stitch designs or just design for yourself? I’m an old cross stitcher from way back (well not OLD old) now addicted to quilting.

    Believe it or not, my first company was “The Cross Stitch of Briar Way.” I had a couple of things published but then got into quilting and that was that. I want to start really getting into it again! I love cross stitch. xoxom

    Like

  6. Ylva
    February 23, 2008 at 8:30 AM #

    I could trule make do with one pack of them cards, cause I am sooooo stuck on what to do next. And seeing Jeff buying seeds made me realize that it’s high time to hit T&M’s online store:-).

    Hope miss Tulip don’t freeze her pretty little paws of while trotting around in the snow. Arwen and Fiona sends doggie greetings, they are in a happy state since we have had a practically snowless winter and all goes Yeeeaaayyyyy.

    Hugs,
    Wolfie

    Like

  7. February 23, 2008 at 9:07 AM #

    Peacocks should be fairly safe from predators as they roost high up (like on your roof or high trees) but and it’s a huge but the make a huge amount of noise and a huge amount of mess and they destroy gardens.
    I know this the hard way.

    Like

  8. February 23, 2008 at 11:17 AM #

    Glad you’re enjoying your Creative Whack Pack. I think it’s fun too!

    Best wishes to you and your readers.

    Oh my gosh! You’re the CREATIVE WHACK PACK creator/god!!! Wow! What an honor! I bow at your feet! xoxom

    Like

  9. February 23, 2008 at 1:47 PM #

    I’m glad Evan is going to live to see his 16th birthday 🙂 But, yeah, couldn’t ya just strangle them sometimes???

    Like

  10. Sue H
    February 23, 2008 at 2:51 PM #

    Hey Mark,
    Well you did get a great dessert for all your troubles : 0 Your pictures that you post on your blog come out so great, what are you using?

    I use a wonderful little cheapie that I got at WalMart called a Canon Power Shot SD1000 Digital. My friend (and former MLQH editor) Jan Hunold had one and turned me onto it. It really is fabulous and super easy to use and download. Effortless. I agree, the pictures look amazing and I do NOTHING to them but download them. I’ve seen them online for as low as $155 but my Walmart sold it for $179. I love it. xooxm

    Like

  11. Patty Skypants
    February 23, 2008 at 3:00 PM #

    I’ve been to the farm store and your photos have really captured the ambiance, but I have to say I never noticed the peacocks. Maybe because my visits usually occur between the vernal and autumnal equinoxes (is that a word?). I love New Jersey and I’m glad you share so much of the beauty of it with us!

    Like

  12. February 23, 2008 at 3:06 PM #

    Love the farm stand! We are in orchard country in West Michigan and between the farm stands and the farmer’s markets we are happy, happy campers!!
    TerriW

    Like

  13. Nancy
    February 23, 2008 at 3:32 PM #

    Hey Mark… Speaking of rugs, have you ever heard of Shirret rugs? Fun thing to do with fabric scraps of many kinds although my fav is using wool. On my LONG agenda is to make some kind of patchwork design rug using the shirret technique. Google and you can see some pics.
    Oh – loved the pictures of the farm store!

    As a matter of fact, I have not only heard of Shirret rugs, I’ve made one many moons ago. Really easy. I’m working on a new rug technique (one that I’m trying to develop — hopefully no one has beaten me to the punch yet) made with old scrap fabrics that should be fun to make. Wish me luck! I’m introducing it (maybe) with my Northcott Line, califon! xoxom

    Like

  14. Laura
    February 23, 2008 at 4:28 PM #

    I agree, great pictures! I’d also would love to know what camera you are using.

    Canon Power Shot SD1000 Digital from WalMart. xoxom

    Like

  15. Diane F
    February 23, 2008 at 11:38 PM #

    Ok Mark, You have made me hungry and now I must go and make a pie. Mine will be apple as I still have better than a bushel from the orchard I worked at this fall. I better hurry as the oven is still hot from the bread I just baked. I see by mt DS#2 that DH has already cut into it. I can’t even post a picture to make others hungry.
    I am new to your blog but will be back often.

    Like

  16. February 24, 2008 at 6:15 AM #

    Checking in from Australia where it’s currently summertime…

    About the peacocks. Forget about them! Enjoy them where they are, but don’t fall in love with them and purchase them. My sister has 50 acres here and they purchased two recently. The noise was horrific–until the foxes got them a few days later.

    About the store. Thanks for bringing back memories of rural Ontario, Canada where I lived for 12 months some 20 years ago. The smell of cinnamon, apples, etc. Mmmm… Amazing how a wintry smell can come back just like that–and in the middle of summer too.

    Rhonda

    Like

  17. February 24, 2008 at 2:40 PM #

    The farm store looks wonderful!

    I like hearing your stories about Evan because it lets me know I’m not alone in my battle with a teenager boy. How is he doing with his text messaging withdrawal? 🙂

    Like

  18. February 24, 2008 at 4:34 PM #

    hey AGAIN mark-
    just blasted u an e-mail (to the group) 2 min. ago. i was raving about my favorite gay u.u. minister and then i read about evan’s being deaf–the guy was a teacher of deaf kids for 20 odd years before he “got the call”. we were his first church after divinity school/ordination, so he was still signing half the time, but it was cool because he would teach us a word or 2 of sign language that tied in with the service.
    watch that cabin fever!
    luv, karin

    Like

  19. ABB
    February 24, 2008 at 4:41 PM #

    Mark, in my house, we have a list on the fridge and if anyone takes/opens the last of anything, they write it on the list. That way I know there’s no more milk in the other fridge or frozen packages of chicken or…..hearing aid batteries! You only keep them in one place? I keep a pack in my purse, one in the car (and in H’s car), one in my sewing bag, a pack in my bathroom, etc……Evan should keep a pack in his backpack – maybe he already does, but when that runs out he should tell you so that you know. Then again, here we go with the communication issue!!

    Like

  20. Rebecca
    February 24, 2008 at 5:08 PM #

    The cucumber salsa at Alsteade’s is delish – try it next time.

    Who knew? I’ll pick some up on my way past there sometime! Thanks for the tip! xooxm

    Like

  21. April 15, 2008 at 12:26 PM #

    Ohhhh the smell of apple cider and donuts! THAT brings back childhood memories! Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  22. March 15, 2009 at 6:10 PM #

    Hi Mark, I was just wondering if you have any idea of what you might be teaching at Camp Watch-A-Patcher in Orange County in July of 2010? I know that is a long time and was hopeing you might give us a clue. I want to make sure I sign up early. I read every page of your mag and just love it. Thanks, Mary in CA

    Like

  23. Lynda Whitton
    June 6, 2009 at 9:44 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    Goodness knows I’ve been wanting to email you and let you know that Quilter’s Home is my favorite magazine…read it from cover to cover within the first day or two of receiving it. I love your humor and enthusiam (sp?) and esp. the fact that you encourage us to quilt for the love of it, not the perfection of it. In one of the issues that point came across and I’d be dispairing because something wasn’t lining up exactly and I just said to heck with it…it’s a gift for someone, I love picking the fabrics and finding the just right pattern or making up one and giving it…they will probably never notice what I did or didn’t do.

    Keep up the good work, looking forward to Quilting Out Loud and each issue of QH. Love YA, Lynda from Corpus Christi, TX where it’s already hot as all get out!

    Like

  24. Sigrid K. Shafer
    September 6, 2009 at 2:35 AM #

    Mark, received your magazine today…………..had to take time this pm to read it. Oh, this is a wonderful blog, I’ll watch for new entries. Your magazine is # 1 on my must have. I hope to be able to attend one of your visits and/or teachings in this area. Thanks so much for what you do, I’am a grateful fan.

    Sigrid
    Aurora, Oregon

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

