getzingchreadyformineveekend

 Hi Kids!

Well out of adversity comes fabulosity!  Kay, a Pickle from Nebraska, was baking me homemade Kulach’s last week when the  ice storm hit NJ and my Lincoln classes were cancelled.  Well don’t you think that Kay individually wrapped them and sent them off to me — across the country!  THEY ARE AMAZING!   I want the recipe!    I ate 4 while I opened the damn box!   A raspberry, 2 apricot and a poppy-seed.  Yummy!   Thank you Kay!  You Rock! 

kulachs.jpg

Well, I’m now officially addicted to my Library Thing and have spent the day organizing a lot of my books (over 400 to be exact) with the cute bar code reading cat (only $15). untitled.jpg  I can’t believe how wonderful this service is and why in the hell didn’t I think of it?  I only have about 1500 more to log into the system.  It’s pretty amazing – and affordable.    Click here to read all about it. 

I haven’t written another word on my book.  I’m freaked out.      Maybe I’ll bang some out this weekend after I get back from my signing tomorrow at Quilt Fest New Jersey.  

 If I don’t get something turned into C&T by Monday, they’ll have my my head on a platter head_platter1.jpg 

Don’t Forget: 

I’ll be at Quit Fest New Jersey starting at 10:30 tomorrow, Saturday, March 1 (can it really be March already?) until whenever the magazines sell out! 

MY GUILD

After being so busy that I haven’t had a chance to get to my local guild meeting in months!  So I went the other day.  Here are some pics from the Common Threads Guild meeting.

guild-meeting-003.jpg  This is my friend Sherry Cowley.  Sherry went to LA with me when I taped Simply Quilts a few years ago.  She’s a riot.

guild-meeting-001.jpg 

guild-meeting-004.jpg  guild-meeting-015.jpg This is Catherine from Paris!  She is the best damn cook! and a very talented quilter!  Catherine designed and made several quilts for my booth in Houston.  Her work has been exhibited all over the world.

guild-meeting-006.jpg Y’all know Amy Buehler — she wrote the Martingale punch-needle book!

guild-meeting-017.jpg Gloria Dighton helped out at our booth in Houston…Remember her? 

 This was a small show and tell (it’s a tiny guild).   Dot (on the right) makes a gazillion wonderful quilts and all from scraps.  I love to tease and joke around with  her.

guild-meeting-007.jpg  guild-meeting-008.jpg

guild-meeting-010.jpg  guild-meeting-009.jpg

guild-meeting-011.jpg  guild-meeting-012.jpg

guild-meeting-023.jpg  guild-meeting-021.jpg This is Loretta with her charity quilt.

I was lucky enough to get a galley of Debbie Field’s new Landaur Table Topper book.  It’s a good one, you guys!  First of all I think that Landauer does a great job on their publications.   This, of course, will be another in their long line of quality books.   d-field-book.jpg

d-field-table-topper.jpg  This is one of my favorites in the book (although there are many of my favorites in the book).  It’s a book worth having. 

I found this on the sale table at Barnes and Noble.  I love inspirational art books.  artist-jurnal.jpg

FRIENDS AND FOES

Calico Cats’ blog has a fantasy about moiClick here to read what it is in her Friday Five! 

The Shoppe Girls blog talks about califonVisit them by clicking here

Retail Sites:

The Crowning Touch has some Katmandu for sale.  Click here.

Katmandu is back on Material Girl’s site.  See it here.

Katmandu is also on the Life’s a Stitch site.  Click here.

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “getzingchreadyformineveekend”

  1. Sue
    March 1, 2008 at 1:29 AM #

    Mark,

    Where does the Common Threads Guild meet? Is it out by you?

    Looking forward to meeting you tomorrow!
    Sue in NJ

    Long Valley, New Jersey

    Like

  2. Jackie
    March 1, 2008 at 3:54 AM #

    This was a “small” show-and-tell, and another member of your guild has written a book?! There goes my idea of joining a guild. No way, no how. Maybe I could drive by y’alls meeting and some of the talent would spill out on me.

    Like

  3. March 1, 2008 at 4:01 AM #

    omg! I’m “famous”! Mark mentioned me in his blog!! LOL **wink**
    Should I be on the lookout for the papparazzi?

    Gotcha on my blog, as well as the recipe. Save some for Jeff & Evan!!

    HUGS
    K

    Like

  4. ABB
    March 1, 2008 at 1:25 PM #

    Oh no, Jackie, please join a guild! Please, please, please do. It will be one of the best things you ever did for yourself. It’s a totally giving and encouraging environment, and even in our little guild, we have beginners and experienced quilters working on their 9-patches, even book authors like me (I’m Amy and I am a regular person, hahahaha) are appreciative of ALL quilts. Seeing the range of quilts, from artsy fartsy to traditional 9patches (still my fav), makes you appreciate each other. I thought I would feel intimidated when I first went, but good golly, quilters love to share and teach each other. Please go/ come to our meeting and sit by me!

    Like

  5. March 1, 2008 at 1:48 PM #

    Oooo! Great show and tell! I would love to get my hands on those tops! Beautiful!
    Dang! Now I have to check out Library Thing. Just what the organized quilter needs……..
    TerriW

    Like

  6. March 3, 2008 at 11:57 PM #

    I just ordered 1/2 yd cuts of your Katmandu collection at EQuilter.com…can’t wait for it to get here!!!

    CheriS

    Like

  7. March 10, 2008 at 3:30 AM #

    Isn’t LibraryThing the best??? Look me up – I’d love to see what books we have in common. veronicarichmond

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

