Lazy Sunday…

Hola Pickle-os! 

I got a surprise phone call from one of my favorite people on Friday, quilt and fabric designer, Patrick Lose!  Keep your eyes open, chipmunks.  Patrick is just about ready to release new products with a creative vengeance — a whole new set of patterns (some of which you’ll be seeing in an upcoming Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home), and several lines of fabrics and energy. 

patrick-lose.jpg  Patrick also has a new granddaughter, Lily!  To visit Patrick’s web site click here

I also got a very nice note from the ladies at The Quilter’s Inn in Danville, CA.   It seems that I’m the Pin-Up Boy in their shop’s —  bathroom!   Well, if it’s good enough for Senator Larry Craig, then it’s good enough for me!   🙂 

mark-l-is-a-pin-up-boy.jpg

AN ON-LINE SALE

(and backhanded compliment)

Now here’s an offer you can “barely” refuse.   On the first of each month, members of the Pickle Road Pickle Posse list (over 1600 members to date) are allowed to buy, trade, sell, give away, and/or advertise their products, classes, books they they want to get rid of,  sewing machines, etc.   Well, Vis, owner of Bears Quilt Shop in California is having a sale…but there is a catch.  A “BIG” catch if you catch my drift….  I had to laugh in spite of myself  — actually the larger ‘I’ get the smaller ‘it’ looks!

😦     So not funny!   LOL   

But don’t allow my personal agony to stop you.  Take advantage of his sale!  LOL    Here’s the ad he posted:

“Stop on over to Bears Quilt Shop (and check out the cruise info, love to have y’all join us!)
Order anything from our online store, and then follow up with an email to me saying “Mark has a large Pickle” and I’ll give you 20% off your order. That’s for anything on the site, Fabric (our average is about 6.25 per  yard, so you can really get some great deals with 20% off!) Notions, patterns, books, block of the month kits, whatever!
Offer is good until the 4th. (sorry, the discount may not be applied to the cruise !=)” 

Oh dear God!   Click here to visit Bears Quilt Shop!

 QUILT SHOW WEAR — NOT!

How do you like these shoes?  Apparently they are the hippest things to hit the red carpet and Hollywierd is embracing them.   It’s not as if platforms aren’t bad enough, but platforms without heels?  Brutal.   There are some woman-hating designers out there — and some shit-for-brains broads who would wear these! 

shoes1.jpg

Maybe after a few of the divas fall on their asses and break a bone or two they’ll get to use crutches without any crutch!  🙂  

Did the World End? 

Tulip received a sweet card and a photo of Marmalade (and her mom Rhonda Lauer), an 11 year old Sheltie from Iowa.   As you can see, Marm has her own quilt to sit and sleep on the the world, as we know it, has not ended.   dog_130618.jpg

A New Tool (for Mark)

scan03022008_130653.jpg  It great anticipation of making a One Block Wonder quilt (which is my current favorite pattern book on the market), I bought this Clearview Triangle from my LQS.  It was designed by Sara Nephew.  Now I have to find just the perfect fabric.   I think these OBW quilts are amazing and I can’t wait to get started.   I spoke with Maxine Rosenthal the designer for the OBW the other day.  I was hoping I’d meet her at Quilt Fest New Jersey (which I had told her about) but she must have gotten busy with the folks she was visiting in Livingston, NJ this weekend.

A Second Look Book

scan03022008_130719.jpg  I bought this book on Amazonand upon closer look, this book really rocks!  So many different quilting and embellishment techniques in one little book.  If you haven’t seen it you should take a look at it.  Really imaginative stuff and good instruction for those of us who can piece but who are less comfortable with out machine quilting skills!  

 

You know I have a real love for cross stitch so when I found this for like, 99-cents, I made an eBay bid and won.   I know I’ll never do any of this stuff and took 3 seconds to look through it but I’ll put it in my “someday” pile with all of the other worthless shit that I must have but know I will never use!   Have any piles like that?  scan03022008_130746.jpg

You KNOW Spring is Coming

I love me a Peeps!  I have been buying these up like mad — mainly because I don’t really care for the fresh, out of the box Peeps, but I like to open them and wait until they’re stale and hard as rocks before I can truly enjoy them.    Next to popcorn balls (no comments please), Peeps are my favs!   peeps.jpg  Did you know that Peeps has an official FAN Site?  Click here to see it!

A GIFT FOR MARK

Yesterday at Quilt Fest New Jersey, Liz brought me a pair of her undies that she thought that I just had to have!   They say:  “There’s a THONG in my heart …But I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing it!:

 Take a look!

scan03022008_130409.jpg

Thanks for thinking of me, Liz.  Tom Jones eat your heart out!  🙂 

jones-tom-photo-xl-tom-jones-6227826.jpg

FRIENDS AND FOES

Suzy’s Quilting Room’s blog has a photo of us taken at Quilt Fest New Jersey plus a little paragraph about our meeting.   Click here to see it. 

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Lazy Sunday…”

  1. Darlene
    March 2, 2008 at 7:52 PM #

    PEEPS ROCK! I buy them every holiday for a good friend. She also eats them stale! I won’t touch them but for some reason just HAVE to buy them. They call my name

    Like

  2. Bonnie
    March 2, 2008 at 10:12 PM #

    I bought a package of the green peeps – love that color. When I buy them, I poke holes in the package – they go stale must faster that way.

    Like

  3. March 2, 2008 at 10:49 PM #

    Another person who knows how to eat Peeps! We buy ours early, open the packages and forget about them for weeks until they are ready……..yum!
    TerriW

    Like

  4. March 3, 2008 at 12:12 AM #

    Shouldn’t all good dogs have their own quilt to snuggle in? Or at least get to share our quilts with us? I know mine do. 🙂

    Like

  5. Sue
    March 3, 2008 at 12:52 AM #

    I love Peeps too! But I’m an eat-them-fresh gal. I like when they’re soft and marshmallowy.

    I wonder who Maxine was visiting in Livingston? That’s where I’m from…my parents still live there.

    The clearview triangles are great; that’s what I use.

    Sue in NJ

    P.S. Great meeting you yesterday!

    Like

  6. quiltedepee
    March 3, 2008 at 1:02 AM #

    Have you ever done Peep Jousting? Stick a toothpick in the chest of two Peeps, and then stick ’em in the microwave for about a minute. Watch them expand, and one Peep wins the joust! Perhaps it classifies as Peep Abuse, but it’s entertaining for one go-’round at least! 😀

    Marmalade is a cutie – reminds me of the shelties we had growing up.
    Anjea in Austin

    Like

  7. bettina
    March 3, 2008 at 2:36 AM #

    how appropriate that the newest peep is a “tulip”……i shall buy them & think of you & tulip as i devour the entire package on my way home from the store…..
    i thought i was alone in my love of peep’s…..

    Like

  8. Canada Quilts!
    March 3, 2008 at 2:44 PM #

    Hey, not to be a “mom” but weren’t you supposed to be working on your book after the Quilt Fest. You’ll never get your book done with all this blogging… Not that the Pickles don’t enjoy it immensely, but we all need Mark in a permanent form on our quilting bookshelves! (You’re already in our hearts!). And where did that awesome pink tshirt come from? I must have one!

    I was and I didn’t 😦 What pink tshirt? I went back to look and I can’t find one!! xoxom

    Like

  9. Canada Quilts!
    March 3, 2008 at 4:29 PM #

    The pink tshit in Suzy’s Quilting Room blog. I am guessing that it came from a vendor at Quilt Fest… It’s too cute and my MIL would love one too. Any idea where I can order one?

    LOL Duuuuude! While I am seemingly omnipresent, I really have no idea where someone purchased a blouse that someone is wearing in a random photo on another blogger’s blog! Wish I could help but even I have my limitations! 🙂 xoxom

    Like

  10. Canada Quilts!
    March 3, 2008 at 7:49 PM #

    Ta Da!

    http://www.blockpartystudios.com/shopping/gifts.asp

    Like

  11. March 8, 2008 at 2:23 AM #

    Oh my goodness!! I love stale peeps! I thought I was weird or something, now I know if you love them there’s nothing wrong with me.
    YUMMY!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

