Springing Back from Ft. Lauderdale, etc.

Helllllyo and Hoppy Spring!

Ah, the first day of Spring.   Daddy is happy and my daffodils are coming up on Pickle Road.   442045958_faea3298d5.jpg

What’s more.  I’m I just got a phone call from my local Agway.  865536351_be0f9de3b1.jpg Seems my new flock of baby chicks are here! 

THIS IS HERE, TOO!!!

The new issue of Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home is hitting the stands!  Keep your eye out for it!

scan03202008_084050.jpg

MY NEW AD

For you guys only!  A first look at the first half-page ad for Califon, my new fabric line for Mark Lipinski Home for Northcott.

califonhorzad.jpg

CALIFON STRIPES

 Here are some other samples of just the STRIPES from the Califon line:

califonmultistripe.jpg

califonyellows2.jpg\

califonblues2.jpg

califongreys2.jpg

BACK FROM FORT LAUDERDALE

 Got back from Ft. Lauderdale on Monday where I lectured and taught at the Quilt Show by the Sea quilt show.   Beautiful weather!  I had forgotten how nice it is to get into a plane in cold, grey weather and get off in a warm green paradise!  

 Here’s the tree that met me right outside of the Baggage Claim area.  

0052.jpg

003.jpg

Joy and rapture!  Right around the block from my hotel, was a shopping center.  I walked over to the local Publix to get some seltzer water when I found …. yes, a Carvel!!!   Look!  Their ‘open’ sign was a Fudgy the Whale (you know when I worked at Channel 9 – “Fudgy the Whale” is what some newsroom folks used to call Al Sharpton in the early days (the 80’s).  I can never see Fudgy without thinking about Al.  Not wild about Al’s politics or media whoring but love the guy — charming, great sense or humor. .  Kind of like, hate the sin, love the sinner — doesn’t make much sense to me but it works for the fundamentalists, so I’m game).   I was going to go in to get a shot of a Cookie Puss but I got kind of embarrassed and didn’t want to end up in a locked ward — and I had two classes to teach and a lecture!

009.jpg  011.jpg

Oh well, don’t say that I don’t throw caution to the wind.  Meet Cookie Puss:

cookiepuss.jpg

Look who was waiting for me (well, waiting for their ride to the quilt show venue) but the amazing Carol Taylor (a longtime buddy) and Robyn Pandolf (whom I thought was going to be an old bag and is instead, a vibrant,  recently divorced, beautiful, wild and crazy mama)!

027.jpg

014.jpg  0131.jpg

I took a shot of Robin’s purse while we were in the car on the way to the show.   I loved the warm patina on the hand tooled leather.  I loved it.   Perfect for a gal from Galveston (or anywhere).  You know, chickens, there is a quilt somewhere in those Mexican hand tooled bag designs!

 Outside of the venue was a giant stone engraved with the 10 Commandments.   A little weird for a public venue.  At first, I thought someone might be buried there — nope.  Just a gentle reminder to “Thou Shalt Not Kill” before you enter a quilt show.  Ironically, there were signs advertising a giant gun show hung above the urinals (eeeew!)  in the same hall within a couple of weeks.  Maybe it meant “Thou Shalt Not Kill with your Hands.”

020.jpg  0211.jpg

Now I have no problem with the 10 Commandments.   Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor’s Wife is one of the very easiest Biblical laws for me to keep — effortless.  But religious symbols in public areas always reminded me of when I was adopting Evan in South America.  There were giant saint statues in the lobbies of the police station, for instance.   When I had to appear before the judge there was a huge bust of the Virgin Mary hanging on the wall behind her.  Now I’m a Catholic (or was) so that kind of imagery didn’t make me wince.  That said, if I hadn’t been a Catholic, I can imagine how I might feel like I wouldn’t get a fair shot once someone found out that I hadn’t been to church since Joan of Arc was burned at the stake.  When I see this kind of 10 Commandment stuff or saints in a judges office, I can’t help but think how exclusionary those symbols might feel.   Very important to keep that separation between church and state in my humble opinion. 

Here is a table that was set up during the show where attendees could buy raffle tickets and then drop their tickets into a box in front of the  “prize” they wanted to win.     Here, the shop Once Upon a Quilt offered 10 yards of Katmandu fabric as a prize.   

023.jpg 024.jpg

I wanted to show you this award winning quilt (3rd Place) in the mini division.  It’s a tiny log cabin made with Katmandu fabrics and it WON!!!  The photo does it no justice.  It was made by Sally Moon.  I’m in love with it and must make one! 

048.jpg  0511.jpg

This is Lisa Stevens, the owner of Once Upon a Quilt and the sponsor of the Quilter’s By the Sea quilt show.   I LOVE her.  Feels like family (of course that would mean that she would be out of her mind).   She’s a very smart business woman and really knows how to work a show and a room.   This woman is a prime example to all of those struggling quilt shop owners.  If you want to be successful you cannot treat your shop as a job but as your life.   A lot of hustle and more than liberal amounts of elbow grease = success.  It’s so not easy but it works.  Lisa is a primo example.

031.jpg

Here is a part of Friday’s class that I taught.

0181.jpg

On Friday, before my lecture, Lisa took us on a boat ride dinner. 

044.jpg

Just kidding!  That’s a photo of a photo hanging in Chuck’s Steakhouse where we REALLY had dinner! 

032.jpg

033.jpg 

This is the first time I had met quilter/teacher  Cindy Blackberg and l00000ng armer, Barbara Hahl.  0401.jpg

Then there is: 

Jeff (not my Jeff but Lisa’s employee, Jeff)

Sally Moon (she made the log cabin quilt)

Lisa’s mother (a firecracker to be sure – the apple didn’t fall far from the tree)

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-015.jpg quiltersbytheseaftlauder-017.jpg quiltersbytheseaftlauder-016.jpg

A group shot at The Cheesecake Factory (Halle Berry’s favorite restaurant, by the way) in Fort Lauderdale. 

Lisa S. (OUAQ Lisa’s friend), me, Lisa, Sharon, and Sally.

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-045.jpg

Jeff’s partner, Bronte, with Josie who is doing her impeccible impression of Madonna

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-047.jpg

madonna_naked_023.jpg Madge would be proud. 

Jeff (not my Jeff) and Kathie Alyce, the creator of The Flip Flop Block

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-051.jpg

Here are some shots of Fort Lauderdale from the Cheesecake Factory.  Click on them for larger shots.    The beach is just beyond the horizon in the photo on the right.

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-019.jpg  quiltersbytheseaftlauder-020.jpg quiltersbytheseaftlauder-023.jpg 

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-025.jpg

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-027.jpg

FLORIDA WINDOW SHOPPING

I found this pillow in the window in a Ft. Lauderdale shop.   3-D roses on a frilly pillow.  Frankly, I hate this pillow, but it does give some examples of how to use fabric and embellishment techniques in your own projects.  quiltersbytheseaftlauder-037.jpg

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-038.jpg   It has so much going on that it looks like a prom dress at a drag show! 

 Now THIS I LOVE!   The photos do nothing for the beauty, grace and style of this ball gown.   Absolutely gorgeous!  Yards and yards of gathered and folded silk made to look like giant roses.  Coupled with simple beading on the bodice equals WOW!   Probably not to be worn while Krogering

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-041.jpg quiltersbytheseaftlauder-042.jpg

I liked this gown, too.   Again, simple embellishment on printed fabric.  I think that puce might be my new favorite color. 

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-043.jpg  quiltersbytheseaftlauder-044.jpg

Here’s downtown Ft. Lauderdale at night from the parking garage. 

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-053.jpg

. . . the fountain in front of my hotel at 4:30 on Sunday morning.  I’m waiting for the shuttle to take me to the airport.  Ugh.

quiltersbytheseaftlauder-056.jpg

emailed TO ME STUFF

Tina from Rhode Island sent me a photo of dancers with a note.  Tina took a second look at the floor of the clogging venue where she was based on one of my previous blogs.   She thinks she sees a quilt in the floor tiles.  

tinainri.jpg

FRIENDS AND FOES

The Quilter in Me blog talks about taking her shop-chosen quilts to show me when I’m speaking in western Pennsylvania in a few weeks. 

Miss Mabel Studio’s blog writes on March 15’s entry about my invite to her to write something for Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home….that was several months ago and I have yet to hear from her as to what she might like to tackle.    I’m always looking for new writers and ideas — so if you have any consider yourself invited, too! 

Nellie Holmes – originellies blog talks about her picking up her friend’s copy of Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home!  LOL  Sounds like she likes it but why isn’t she buying it herself?    Click here to read her Saturday, March 15 entry.

I love this blog.  It’s called MY QUILT LIFE.   The blogger posts a long, totally unnecessary apology to yours truly for something she had posted about the quilts in Mark Lipinki’s Quilter’s Home.   Click here to read all about it.  It’s her March 18th entry.

The Modern Diary’s blog talks about the arrival of her Mark Lipinski designed Katmandu Fabric.  Click here to see what she thought

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Springing Back from Ft. Lauderdale, etc.”

  1. March 20, 2008 at 3:00 PM #

    Mark, love the wavy lines in your new Califon collection. Did you notice that if you scroll down past those pictures, the lines gives the illusion of actually moving?

    I think I see a quilt in those dancers’ costumes–love those colors and patterns!

    Like

  2. ABB
    March 20, 2008 at 3:40 PM #

    Hey Mark, that puce color is the color I had my beat-up featherweight painted. That’s the greenish-yellow color I was talking about.

    Can’t wait to see the new fabric for real. Northcott’s fabrics have such a nice silky hand.

    Like

  3. Sue
    March 20, 2008 at 4:48 PM #

    Welcome back Mark,

    Separation of Church and State is my #1 political issue. When you’re the minority religion, is really important.

    That floor in the picture of the dancers…that’s the pattern of my Katmandu quilt! I’m entering it in the NJ state guild show, so I’ll let you know if I win anything.

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  4. Gracie
    March 20, 2008 at 6:15 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    I have to say that your blog is one of my favorite ones of all the ones I have visited, I just love your wacky sense of humor and your wonderful way with words. You brighten my days with your style, keep up the great work and I have to tell ya, I’ve been buying all your magazines to date! I wouldnt miss a single one!
    hugs,
    Gracie

    Like

  5. Jorja
    March 20, 2008 at 6:59 PM #

    So Mark, did you pick up that hitch-hiker?

    Her brother! 🙂 xoxom

    Like

  6. Jackie
    March 21, 2008 at 12:00 AM #

    The Califon looks great . . . . just one question – – did you play with the Spirograph when you were a kid?!? That’s what it reminds me of!

    Like

  7. March 21, 2008 at 11:30 PM #

    Mark! Your photos are the best! I want tons of those stripes that wave…can’t wait. Northcott is awesome.
    I want the pillow you hate..it isn’t me but I loved the pompoms on there.
    That dress with the fabulous skirt is something that Cinderella would wear these days…it is awesome.
    Hey, is the Spokane page going to be in the next issue of Quilter’s Home? If it is, I want to put the cover up on my blog and contact the newspaper here.
    Keep up the great work.
    Mary Lou

    Like

  8. March 22, 2008 at 1:35 PM #

    Hi Mark! Thanks for visiting my blog! I absolutely love the new fabric line, but don’t see any mention of when it’s going to be available for purchase. Do you know?

    Yup, Califon will be in the shops in September! xoxom

    Like

  9. March 26, 2008 at 11:51 AM #

    Oh Mark! The new issue cover is a HOOT!!! I can’t wait for it to arrive in my mail box! And I love the new fabric – now to get my boss to bring it into the shop!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

