Hey Dudes!

SOMETHING A LITTLE DIFFERENT. . .

Many of you may not know this but I love to watercolor.   

As a matter of fact, I’ve taken several classes but haven’t had the time to actually keep up with it. 

  Yesterday, I was speaking with my friend, Susan Fuquay, who is the editor of The American Quilt Retailer, who surprised me that she paints with oils and is a part of a weekly class group.   

Susan totally inspired me, so I’ve just signed up for Evening Watercolor classes with the Somerset Art Association on Wednesday nights starting in June.  I’m very excited about getting my paints and papers out to start painting again.  

Just a little TEASE:

I wanted to show you this bag whose pattern will be in an upcoming Quilter’s Home along with an iron-on QUILTZILLA-themed patch!   Now, this isn’t a bag you’d take to work or to the market, but is one for shop hops, quilt shows, vendor night at your guild, etc.   It’s roomy and bright and, with the iron-on, will have a total quilty theme!    This bag was put together by celeb quilter, Amy Buehler.

On the Couch

Thought it was time to start therapy.  I need to deal with this weight issue of mine amoung other things (Evan growing up and my fear of the empty nest).  

Wanna talk about karma?

 

My therapist is in an office above a DUNKIN DOUGHNUTS!   Now, what would Freud think of that?!?

Keep Your Eyes Open!

The latest Mark LIpinski’s Quilter’s Home is just starting to hit the stands!  So keep your eye out for it!   It’s kind of a fun issue if I may say so myself!  So far I’ve only caught one typo!  LOL

 

MY Mid-Life Crisis Purchase

The other day, I went to quiltmaker/author Eleanor Levie’s home in Bucks County, PA to work on a story for Quilter’s Home.   On my way back, my midlife crisis hit me and I stopped in Lambertville, New Jersey where I bought……

. . . Yes, I finally picked up my ukelele!   I have no idea how to play it nor do I have much time to learn but it’s something I have wanted for a long time.   Now, I can write naughty quilting diddies for y’all!  

By the way, Elenor is the author of this Martingale book, Skinny Quilts And Table Runners: From Today’s Top Designers (I’m not one of them. . .  )

While I was in Lamberville, I found one of my favorite kind of shops . . .

A used bookstore. I came out with these babies —

 

NEED A JOB?  Know someone who does?

QUILTER’S HOME IS HIRING!!!  HURRY TIME IS RUNNING OUT!

 

Please respond to Lin Sorenson at lsorenson@ckmedia.com

 

Managing Editor  (this is one you can do from home!)

 Internationally distributed, Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home magazine needs an experienced Managing Editor to manage magazine and book schedules, participate in creative concept meetings, write articles, assign and edit copy, and supervise staff and freelancers. The ideal candidate is creative, organized, self-directed, and has a strong interest in the quilting industry.

 

 Manage schedules and handoffs:

·         Create and maintain magazine timeline.

·         Coordinate workload so that editorial, art, and production are able to produce magazines, special issues, web content, and other products with minimal overlap.

·         Track multiple projects and ensure that all steps on the timeline are completed according to schedule and all handoffs are complete, accurate, and on time.

·         Maintain editorial calendar to ensure that broad plans are in place for content a year in advance, and detailed plans exist for two upcoming issues.

 Create, edit, and proof content:

·         Help concept and plan content for magazine, web, books, etc.

·         Write articles, and edit/approve incoming articles to make sure they are factually and grammatically correct.

·         Copyedit text at Design phase, and perform QA edit of proofs before they go to the printer.

·         Gather and coordinate visuals (photography, headshots, etc.)

 Manage staff and freelancers:

·         Manage staff members as direct reports, and manage freelance editors on both per-issue and ongoing basis.

 Requirements:

·         Solid knowledge of and ability to perform within magazine and web publishing cycle, with a proven ability to produce deliverables for multiple ongoing projects.

·         An excellent understanding of the quilting industry and our readership, or, at minimum a strong interest in quilting and other interests pertinent to our female demographic.

·         Exceptional writing and editing skills pertinent to quilting, women’s lifestyle topics, or the hobby and craft industry.

·         Self-directed and able to proactively solve problems and keep editorial team running smoothly.

·         Knowledge of basic computer programs (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Outlook).

·         Degree in English, Communications, or related field.

·         Four years writing and management experience required (magazine, book, or newspaper writing preferred).

 

 

FRIENDS AND FOES

Jean Boyd mentions my schoolhouse in Portland.  Here goes —  Quilt Market Revisited #4: Schoolhouse

Julie gives a shout out here Home Again, Home Again, Jiggedy Jig

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Hey Dudes!”

  1. May 30, 2008 at 11:08 AM #

    I can see you being a watercolor hobbist, but personally, I just can’t paint unless it’s with fabric! 🙂

    I LOVE the bag! And you look GREAT! Really good picture Mark! I think I would use that bag for daily wear!

    Good luck on the couch….I think we all need to go to a therapist at least once in life, it was the best thing I did for myself and I’m a much happier person because of it!

    I can’t wait to get the new issue of Quilter’s Home! It always makes my day!! I wish I had more experience and could apply for the job 😦 I would love a at home job! (more time to quilt on my 15 minutes break)

    Mark, I love your posts…you rock my world!

    Like

  2. May 30, 2008 at 1:14 PM #

    A couple years ago my husband got both a banjo and a guitar within a month. Yikes! Probably cheaper than a Porsche ;-). I think it will be good for you to have various creative outlets…quilting…watercoloring…ukalele.

    I don’t know which would be harder….to attend, say, Weight Watchers meetings next to a Dunkin Donuts or to discuss food issues above a Dunkin Donuts. Seriously, though, I am sure the therapy will help you figure out what’s going on with yourself and I wish you luck with that.

    Oh, boy, looking at that magazine cover makes me so ready for summer! Can’t wait– and can’t wait until the next issue arrives!

    Like

  3. Carolinian in Texas
    May 30, 2008 at 1:29 PM #

    Mark…I am sooooo glad you are up and posting again. We missed you. Can’t wait for the mail to come, so I can see if my new issue is here…yipeeee.

    Like

  4. Lois Griffin
    May 30, 2008 at 8:36 PM #

    Mark….Dunkin’ Donuts Latte Lite is only 2 points for a small and 3 points for a medium….I like mine with a squirt of caramel…the real stuff not the flavoring…and it only adds a point. This is the way I get my calciYUM in every day. I have to hop back on the WW bandwagon…20 pounds crep back on and I want it off before my son gets married next year!!! So glad to see you back and posting and just being you!

    Like

  5. BCQuilter
    May 31, 2008 at 1:36 AM #

    Mark, I can’t wait to see your water colour creations. I can see, some of your designs on fabric!

    Oh darn… I only have about 1/2 the requirements.

    Sounds like a great job. I would love to start as an assistant or something and work from home. Anything on that line. I would love to learn more about the magazine biz.

    -Alice

    Why don’t you start as a contributor? Coming up with Quilter’s Home-esque article concepts then getting them approved, written and paid for? xooxm

    Like

  6. ABB
    May 31, 2008 at 4:06 PM #

    Hey buddy, I’m hoping that your blogging is a sign that you finished writing the next issue of Quilter’s Home! Woohoo!
    Wish I could do the watercolor class with you. Didn’t they have a morning class?
    Let’s get together next week and play – Amy

    Not even close! Morning class? I have a full time job, sister! I just bought my stuff for the class — $300!!! Quilting seems like a bargain! xoxom

    Like

  7. Irene
    May 31, 2008 at 9:11 PM #

    Join Weight Watchers! It is in Fairmount or Chester or Hackettstown and is CHEAPER than therapy ( I know, I work in a mental health center) and you are always inspired by others in the group.

    I’m not ready for group dynamics. I’d rather go it alone but thanks for the suggestion! xooxm

    Like

  8. BCQuilter
    June 2, 2008 at 4:25 AM #

    Mark,

    That sounds very interesting. I am intrigued. Who do I contact? Where? How?

    Thanks much!

    -Alice

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

