Garden Party

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

      

      

This year I am obsessed with the garden! 

In the past it was Jeff who was GOCD (garden obsessive compulsive disordered) and he’s a remarkable gardener but for some reason, this year, I have gone haywire spending money like I had it on plants and flowers that make me feel good.  

So, in that spirit, I want to show you a couple of our Pickle Road gardens, the pool area and the front of the Pickle Palace.

      

    

Here is Mr. Toad who lives in the pond with the fish

Here’s the pool garden

   

  

   

I found the Buddha at K-Mart near Carlisle, Pennsylvania on my way back from a lecture!   Only $49-bucks.

 

   

 

    

           

      Here\'s where the canaries live!   The giant cage is where the canaries live!  No eggs this season.  I think Daddy Canary is shooting blanks!

Hot Days

Evan and Tulip take a dip (doesn’t it look like Tulip is smiling?  Weird.)

My Veggie Garden

I think I went a little heavy on the different types of lettuce!  

 

  

As if this weren’t enough

I bought a bright orange azalea, some gold, orange and red poppies, a red rose bush, carnations, and a fiery orange rose bush, and cucumbers at an amazing new greenhouse right down the road from us!

  

Here’s only a part of the damage . . .

  

Here’s a photo of the new peony that I bought just this morning

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Then I ended up at a very dangerous place — Barnes and Noble!

 

 

 

 

 Barnes and Noble is a very, very dangerous place for me.  I can drop some chachinggas there in record time!

I bought about 15 magazines for a secret project I’m working on and found a quilting book on their sale rack in less than 10-minutes.

Now that I think about, I’m afraid that I already bought this book on one of my last visits there!  Shit!

Magazine Shopping

While looking at magazines I was amused to find Quilter’s Home right next to Fons and Porter.   You can see the green Q with Mark Lipinski in the center of it on the right side.

I like Marianne Fons (and I think she’s cute, too).  She’s always been friendly.  

 

The Thing About Celebrity

Sometimes people who are legends, like Marianne (or people who are legends in their own minds), show their true colors and get all weird with a little attention.  I didn’t know her before her quilting fame, but Ms. Fons is certainly likable and warm. 

Look, after a gazillion years as a network producer, you can imagine that I’ve seen ’em come and I’ve seen ’em go (ask some of the stars I’ve had the pleasure of working with:  

  Star (Don’t go dissing my idol and pal  Barbara Walters. . .

My dear, you owe her BIG TIME  for what little career you have managed to salvage.)

  John Edward (Crossing Over was one of my least favorite jobs.  Just ghastly.)

And that oh so self-important  and self-aggrandizing hypnotist     Paul McKenna (not a very nice guy, although my friend Julie, a former View production person, loved him.  Julie was also Debbie Matenopolis’ roommate when we all first started at The View.  I LOVED Debbie when I worked with her).  

“WHO?” you say

Exactly!

If there is one thing that I’ve learned in 25 years of producing real television, you’re only as good as your last show and just when you think you’re on top, you find yourself meeting the same folks on the way down the ladder.  It’s just show biz.  No rhyme or reason. 

I only hope that I never get so busy or frazzled that it seems l as if I look through anyone or treat anyone unkindly.  I hope that no matter what cards are dealt, I’m like Meredith Vieira   who is truly one of the nicest and most down to earth celebs on the planet. 

 I really love people and being around them and having a laugh or two.    

LOOK AT THIS

My buddy, designer Scott Hansen, sent me this little Katmandu art quilt.  He even embroidered Katmandu into the design.  I love these kinds of things.  Thanks again, Scott! 

Is Anyone Else Out There an . . .

Office Supply Junkie?   

I am.  I can’t get enough.   I found this set of, what look to be terrific, pens at Staples the other day!   Bought the whole set.   I can LIVE at Staples (although their copy departments suck), Office Max and any bookstore U.S.A.

I’ll let you know how they work out!    

FRIENDS AND FOES

 Michelle got her Quilter’s Home but she’s feeling really guilty….read why here Good mail day!

This is an OLD posting but one I missed while out sick.  She’s a Pickle and look what she bought here A Fabulous Mail Day AND a Trip to the Fabric Store!

Margi writes about her favorite magazines and why she likes them here Favorite Quilt Magazines and a Great Knitting Resource!   Are YOUR favorites the same as Margi’s or different?

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

28 Comments on “Garden Party”

  1. June 2, 2008 at 7:21 PM #

    Hey Mark,
    Your gardens are Spectacular!! Ours might be if they ever got weeded, and I could keep the cat out of it….I would never post pics of them….well, Linda’s veggie garden looks good, but she actually weeds it!! LOL
    I am glad that you liked the mini quilt….even well enough to post! That makes me happy! I love making little things like that as they feel like play with no pressure or expectations….I never know what they will come out like!

    Like

  2. Darlene Riggsbee
    June 2, 2008 at 7:31 PM #

    OK Mark, I think we are the same person except I’m not as compulsive cause I don’t get near done that you do. We love the same things and spend our money at the same places. Bet we have the same stacks of mags, fabric, etc. So glad you’re well, take care or there could be a relapse. God forbid

    I’m pretty sure, almost 100% positive, that the relapse stage is over. Boy, May was hell! xoxom

    Like

  3. Laura
    June 2, 2008 at 7:52 PM #

    Mark, your garden is stunning!!! Love all your color and flower choices. What a relaxing place to spend the summer:-) Hope you have time to enjoy it!

    Like

  4. June 2, 2008 at 9:08 PM #

    Well, if you still want to buy some plants…….I have a yard that needs work!!!
    LOVE seeing all the flowers, wish we had the bucks to cover our whole yard.

    Like

  5. June 2, 2008 at 9:35 PM #

    What a beautiful garden. My little (okay not so little) over achiever rose bush is due to explode with beautiful red blooms any day now. Someday I’ll have a garden like yours, at least I hope to.

    Glad to see you’re well enough to post a little more often.

    Miss ya!

    Like

  6. June 2, 2008 at 10:22 PM #

    What a garden!! I have to go and look at it again!

    Like

  7. Sue
    June 2, 2008 at 10:41 PM #

    Mark,

    This must be a great year for Clematis. Mine are off the hook, and yours look fabulous also!

    BTW, how did you get your fabric design on the pool tube on the cover of the mag? Is it photoshop magic?

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  8. ellen harper
    June 2, 2008 at 10:58 PM #

    your garden is beautiful. I used to be a real gardener (veggies) but arthritis and time have tempered that. Now I just let nature do the landscaping. Other than cutting the grass down a couple of times in the summer. Still I have tons of fruit trees, lilacs, roses, daffodils and wild flowers every where. The raccoons, possum, deer and the my resident bear seem to like it just fine. No complaints from any of the other critters either. However I am in awe of all the work and creative energy that has gone into your slice of heaven, um though do you ever sleep?

    Jeff did all of the planning and planting. I only just started getting even remotely interested this season and went wild buying more and more plants, flowers and shrubs! Jeff is the outdoor artist, not me! I’m just well built and handsome. xoxom

    Like

  9. Sally
    June 3, 2008 at 3:16 AM #

    Mark, the garden pictures are beautiful. But your quilts and work on Quilters Home is just as beautiful and you truly are a pleasure to see and meet. Loved the dinner we Pickles had with you in PA and so glad you are feeling well again.

    Like

  10. BCQuilter
    June 3, 2008 at 3:20 AM #

    Mark, your photos of the flowers are mind blowing. Are you sure you are not taking up photography with the watercolour painting, and quilting. *grin* I can see the transition… what started as a photo, was made into a watercolour which was then made into a quilt.

    Kudos to Jeff on the work on the garden, and your added splash is well done.

    As for all the lettuces, you’ll have much more variety in your salads!

    I’m sure your gardens will be a favourite spot this summer!

    -Alice

    Alice, What’s a salad?!? xoxom

    Like

  11. June 3, 2008 at 9:25 AM #

    If I get a passport can I come visit 😉

    Sure, but you can’t come in the house! My studio is such a mess that I can’t see the floor anymore! 😦 xoxom

    Like

  12. June 3, 2008 at 11:29 AM #

    Mark, what a beautiful garden! It is so easy to become addicted to gardening! The power of nurturing not only life, but color in ones space is awsome!

    And I like Meredith as well, it’s my morning routine to watch the Today show everyday!

    L-O-V-E Meredith, but The Today Show is being produced in a way that’s a little too fluffy for my taste. xoxom

    Like

  13. June 3, 2008 at 12:16 PM #

    Love the garden tour! Beautiful pics. I especially like that toad!

    Like me, that damned toad is ENORMOUS! xoxom

    Like

  14. Paula in Omaha
    June 3, 2008 at 1:32 PM #

    So true is the tale about those you stomp on the way up, will kick you as you fall back down. During my years as a television director (we did it by candlelight back then), I can remember shooting a PSA with Vincent Price. Before he left the studio, he insisted on personally thanking EVERY ONE on the crew, from Audio engineer to the tape dude in the basement. What a gentle man. I’ve personally been enveloped in a famous Mark L hug and it is a wonderful place to be.

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful garden photos, too. And, Page 13 is one of my personal favs.

    . . . and then there is Lauren Bacall. Ugh! A talk show guest nightmare (and I remember that hell from the 80’s)!

    Like

  15. June 3, 2008 at 1:47 PM #

    Great advice! And I LOVE your gardens! Amazing!!!

    Like

  16. Pam D.
    June 3, 2008 at 5:20 PM #

    Mark and Jeff… LOVE the gardens.. absolutely beautiful…..
    Color is just awesome.. you must love walking out in your gardens!

    Like

  17. mary lou
    June 3, 2008 at 11:49 PM #

    I lived in New Jersey for 10 years, way back in the 70’s. I forgot how beautiful a state it is. It gets a bad rap for the refinery area.
    Beautiful gardens!!!

    Like

  18. June 4, 2008 at 3:03 AM #

    I wish I’d know that you were going to find my blog and write about it. I might have written more. Or prettied up the site a bit. But seriously, thanks for bringing some attention to my blog; I’ve enjoyed yours for some time now. And of those 5 quilting magazines that I received last week – I did take a bit of time out of my reunion planning to begin reading one… and it was yours!

    Like

  19. June 4, 2008 at 7:44 PM #

    Mark – Heck with the gardening stuff….too many bugs, weeds and sun to wrinkle us up. Looking at your beautiful photos is a much easier way to enjoy gardening, and it leaves us time to quilt or at least to dream about quilting. But I think you could have had a career as a photographer too! Oh to be so multi-talented and to be as humble as you are!

    But I wanted to share a little Norwegian humor since I just returned from Wisconsin where I visited my many, many Norwegian relatives. My husband said I shouldn’t put it on my blog because it might offend someone (now is there ever a time when someone isn’t offended by something?). But somehow I knew it wouldn’t offend you (especially since you aren’t Norwegian like I am). So we decided to take a trip to the cemetary and see where my ancestors were buried. In all the years as a kid when I trekked from Los Angeles to Wisconsin I was never at the cemetary. So now that I’m “older” and my parents have passed away, I thought it was time. I saw the Stevens and Berg relatives, but when we got to the grave stone for “Ole” I was reminded of the Ole & Lena jokes. So we got a little laugh, then we looked at the stone behind Ole and the name was “Christ”, so we decided if only Ole had the last name Christ, then he could have been Ole Christ!!! And this is a true story….only a Norwegian could have been Ole Christ.

    Hope to see you at the New Jersey quilt show next week. I’ll be vending there again this year.

    Like

  20. Sandi
    June 4, 2008 at 8:25 PM #

    Wow, Mark, the gardens surrounding your home are beeeeeeautiful! And your photography of them is so good, it’s like I could reach right out and touch those blooms. You are fortunate that so much is in bloom already. I am looking forward to picking wildflower bouquets from a patch I planted on the hill in our backyard. Summer here is only about two months long so they need to “get growing” before Father Frost drops in come Septmember!

    Like

  21. June 5, 2008 at 4:20 PM #

    Had I known you were going to be at the Portland Market, I would have bought a quilt shop just to meet you. Ever consider making house calls to some of your most devoted fans???

    Of course I would, but only if you live in Paris, Milan, or Perth! xoxom

    Like

  22. June 5, 2008 at 8:08 PM #

    Just found this website. Can’t remember what trail I followed. Hah!

    I love your garden! And I think I have one of your magazines at home, waiting for me to look it over and decide if I need to add another magazine to my ever growing list of subscriptions.

    Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  23. bethny
    June 6, 2008 at 2:18 AM #

    Beautiful photos of flowers and all things growing and creative…I take photos of my gardens and house to e-mail to my Mom who just had a hip replacement and an emergency trip to the hospital with blood clots..we almost lost her…so I take photos of everything to share with her. Thanks for sharing with us. we learned about sharing in Kindergarten..it seems so much more important now……

    Like

  24. June 6, 2008 at 4:09 AM #

    But what a garden to enjoy!! I am green with envy 😉 !!

    Like

  25. Patty
    June 6, 2008 at 7:12 PM #

    Evan is growing up HUNKY! Better watch out or you’ll be a grandfather soon. GAWJUS gahden! Did you take those close-ups of the clematis with that walmart Canon you bought this winter? Nice to have you back, Mistah. xxoo

    Like

  26. Jean C.
    June 6, 2008 at 10:10 PM #

    You know, we bought those same pens around Christmas (my hubby gives pens to the crew he works with… I know… we aren’t allowed to spend much… otherwise someone will think he is playing favorites!) Anyway, I got a few of the extra’s and I really like them… only problem I found with them is I can’t find any re-fills for them! Always something!

    Like

  27. Annetta
    June 7, 2008 at 6:20 PM #

    Mark, I am so glad I found your blog….I go to Bunny Hill every day and Anne had you on hers…..so here I am 😉 First I have to say, I just loved looking at your gardens, pool and home pics….so nice !!! Makes me want a place just like it! Beautiful !!!

    The first magazine of yours I picked up, I couldn’t put it down. I absolutely love it…..and have read them (I have several now) cover to cover…..more than once. I am a magazine junkie and yours is one of those at the top of my list that I have to have. Lots of goodies!!! and little Tulip has stolen my heart 🙂

    ME TOO!!! I’m a office supply junkie….when I go to Staples, my favorite, or some of the others I know the old pocket book is gonna take a big hit 🙂 Do you know why that is? I can just spend time looking all day…..almost like Barnes & Nobles (almost) 😉

    Well, I’ve enjoyed your blog…and “I’ll Be BAAAACK”
    *thanks for such an entertaining magazine, that gives sooo much!!*

    Like

  28. Flatlander
    June 9, 2008 at 12:45 AM #

    Yes, Tulip IS smiling … that’s because she’s the superior breed (being raised with pugs and a #1 fan of all pugs, I should know these things). LOVE pictures of her in your magazine … love your twisted humor, too, Mark … keep up the great work … gave your magazine to a friend as a birthday present and she’s absolutely ADDICTED!! Garden is beautiful … do you hire Jeff out? LOL

    No, I don’t hire Jeff out, but there are days that I’d just give him away — stay close and one day may be your lucky day! 😉 xoxom

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

