Hasta la Vista, Dot!

     

I was really sad to learn that my quilting buddy, Dot, passed away last night after a short illness.   You guys will remember Dot because I talked about her in a previous blog.   That’s Dot on the right in both photos holding up a few of her quilts at a recent show and tell.   She will also have 2 of her quilts hanging in the New Jersey State Guild show this weekend in Edison, NJ.  

You go, girl!    xoxom

 

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Hasta la Vista, Dot!”

  1. Kim
    June 10, 2008 at 4:28 PM #

    Mark, I’m so sorry one of your friends passed away. It’s alway hard losing a friend. Her quilts are lovely, I especially like the top one.

    Like

  2. June 10, 2008 at 4:55 PM #

    Oh, that is so sad. Her quilts are very pretty! Enjoy the memories…hugs.

    Like

  3. BCQuilter
    June 10, 2008 at 8:04 PM #

    My condolences, Mark.

    From her pictures, it is obvious she enjoyed what she did. And it looks like she liked making bags too!

    -Alice

    Oh my gosh, Alice, Dot was the most prolific quilter that I’d ever met. I’d venture to say that she made hundreds of quilts — big applique ones. No joke! xoxom

    Like

  4. Patty Skypants
    June 10, 2008 at 10:53 PM #

    if she was your friend and prolific, you must have one of her quilts to keep her spirit with you. She was beautiful!! xxoo p

    Like

  5. Sandi
    June 11, 2008 at 2:44 AM #

    Mark,
    Losing someone you care about and enjoy is certainly something that would make you sad. You have my sincere sympathy on the loss of your quilting friend, Dot. And while memories are great, well, the reality is you’ll miss your friend just like I miss my dad. I can hear the voice of Morgan Freeman at the end of The Shawshank Redemption when he says “I miss my friend.” Plain and simple, you’ll miss your friend. I think I know how you feel.
    Sandi A.

    Like

  6. Janet B
    June 11, 2008 at 2:45 PM #

    Hi Mark,

    I gasped in the middle of the quiet library when I opened Catherine’s e-mail about Dot. Quilt guild won’t be the same without her. I keep thinking she’s with her son. I’m really glad to see you better and blogging prolifically. I especially enjoyed all the pictures of your beautiful flowers. Maybe I’ll see you at the quilt show.

    Janet
    I have plans this weekend, that’s why I didn’t teach this year, but I will be at the Common Threads Guild tonight! See you there? xoxom

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

