Holy, Califon!

Yesterday morning, Jeff and I set off to the Mancuso show in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania (about 2 hours from Pickle Road) to see the show.   califon was everywhere!  It was even used as a class sample!  

  This bag was a class that Phyllis Anderson of the Silver Thimble was teaching using califon fabrics.   She and the bag are adorable.   

This is Bob Anderson, her husband, manning their booth with a califon display.  Silver Thimble is in Springfield, NH.  Their email is:   silverthimble@excite.com  

   If you notice there is a Quilter’s Home page spread in this Meadow Gems booth from when I featured her product in BLING!.   This is the lady who does the paper quilt and pet themed pins!   She’s holding up a pin of what little Petunia will look like when she grows up!

   Jeff and I were floored when we saw that this booth had a califon FEATURE.  OF COURSE I needed a photo!   This couple, Wendy and Dick Shank are from Traditions at the White Swan in Hagerstown, MD.  www.whiteswanquilt.com 

    Meet Mary from Material Mart in Midland, MI next to her califon display.   www.materialmart.com

  This is the Maine-ly Sewing booth from Nobleboro, ME with their rack o’ califon!   www.mainelysewing.com

  This is Lorraine Harnish from APQS.   I may finally take a class from her and figure out how to run my Millennium once and for all!  

  This lady stopped me in the aisles.  It seems that I helped her pick out her quilty quilt block wrist watch a few shows ago!   She was still wearing it and she still loves it.  On second glance, I still really think it’s a smart watch, too! 

 

I have to let you in on my dirty little secret . . .  

 

My new favorite bread is called French Miche from Panera!  

It’s not cheap, but it’s a huge loaf, freezes well and tastes like bread should taste.   I have them cut it thick, and it makes the most amazing French Toast (and hearty sandwiches) ever.  Adios, Wonder Bread! 

I just finished eating a plate of French Toast as I type.   Here’s how I make mine:

6 eggs (right from my hen house)

1 cup of whole milk or half-and-half  (right from the nursing cat —-  JUST KIDDING!!!!)

2 Tablespoons of Cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of orange oil or I’ll use 1 teaspoon of Grand Marnier if I have any sitting around the house.

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

I mix all of the ingredients, soak the French Miche in it for a minute or two, then I melt butter on a griddle and “grill” my French Toast on a medium heat until it’s cooked.     YUMMY!

 

FRIENDS AND FOES

The My Love of Quilting Blog and a cute dog on a quilt: http://journeyofanewquilter.blogspot.com/2008/09/quilters-home.html 

This blog posting  is from The Quilted Word by FrecklesQuilts:  http://frecklesquilts.blogspot.com/2008/06/quilting-favorites.html

Desert Threads was inspired by a photo from the Pickle Road blog: http://desertthreads.blogspot.com/2008/07/sad-news.html

Lori the Librarian took a Quiter’s Home article and made it her own:     http://lauriethelibrarian.electrified.ca/?p=487

Here’s a blog about a Round Robin using the rules from Quilter’s Home (I’ll show you more photos of the results in an upcoming blog):                                                 http://quiltersretreat.blogspot.com/2008/08/round-robin-quilt.html

Canton Village Quilt Works promotes califon:                       http://cvquiltworks.blogspot.com/2008/09/cherries-in-mail.html

Blue Nickel’s reaction to krakow:                                                                         http://bluenickelstudios.com/?p=698

Quiltersmuse.com discovers Mark on a book jacket:         http://quiltersmuse.com/blog/2008/09/03/quilts-from-the-selvage-edge/

Laura’s Over the Rainbow blog welcomes online Shop Hoppers with califon:      http://blog.overrainbow.com/?p=30

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Holy, Califon!”

  1. barb vedder
    September 6, 2008 at 2:49 PM #

    Hey Mark –
    Thank god you’ve returned to blog land – it was a hot dry summer here without you.

    While I enjoyed the shameless self promotion of your blog today, I’m left wondering where the hell are the quilt pictures? Or was Califron the only good thing at the show.

    love as always
    barb

    Oh, I’m sorry…. I didn’t realize that YOU were going to promote califon FOR me! LOLOL
    😛 ~~~~
    Actually, the quilts were cool but I’d seen most of them in Houston so it seemed like a rehash. I was only there for about 45-minutes. I really only drove there for a quick meeting with someone and left for home in time to pick up Evan from school and drop him off at his part time job.

    xoxoxm

    Like

  2. September 7, 2008 at 12:50 AM #

    Nursing Cat Milk!!! bwahahahahah!
    LOVED that movie! That has got to be the special ingredient…Grand Marnier sounds good too…I am working on a Califon quilt now that you Haven’t seen, when I am done I will let you see it! 🙂

    Like

  3. BCQuilter
    September 7, 2008 at 5:01 AM #

    Mark,

    It is great to see all those smiling faces. It looks like they were all having a great time.

    Is it actually possible to get a cup of milk from a nursing kitty in one sitting? Okay… I don’t really want to know the answer on that one. I grew up on a farm, milking cows by hand, and know how much milk you can get from a cow!

    Anyhow… your french toast recipe does sound yummy… Grand Marnier… mmmm.

    -Alice

    Like

  4. anky
    September 8, 2008 at 8:02 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    Remember me Anky from the Netherlands, I just read your blog, needed a laugh you are so funny. A bit late but I like to congratulate you with the magazine, I wil look for it here maybe some quiltstores have it, Your petunia looks great :+))) and so does your tulip, a bit of holland.

    It is nice to read about you, jeff and evan,

    Big hugs Anky

    Anky, nice to see you! xooxm

    Like

  5. Vicki Quint
    September 8, 2008 at 8:41 PM #

    And does everyone know what the best selling bagel is at Panera’s? The cinnamon crunch bagel!!!

    Now how do you know that? xoxom

    Like

  6. Vicki Quint
    September 9, 2008 at 1:32 PM #

    Ummm, because I asked the workers once when I tired of the whole grain bagels what their A#1 seller is: hands down, twice as many sold – the cinnamon crunch. It is perfect toasted with real butter. Note the bins in the shop next time you are in!

    Like

  7. Sue Holcombe
    September 9, 2008 at 3:09 PM #

    Hey Mark,

    So glad your back to blogging. For great bread keep your eye open for a new bakery opening in Clinton mid October called Rise. Their French bread is wonderful!

    Like

  8. September 10, 2008 at 10:09 PM #

    Hi Mark,

    So, you did notice that I used one of your magazine’s articles for inspiration for a blog post. Cool!

    Laurie

    PS My name is not spelled “Lori” 😉

    Like

  9. November 6, 2008 at 11:28 PM #

    Thanks for sharing the pics from Harrisburg. I absolutely adore Dick and Wendy from the White Swan…… I think I need to go down to the shop and get a fabric fix.

    Quilty Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

