This and That on a Thursday Afternoon

Well, turnips,

I’m off to Puyallup tomorrow morning on the wings of Continental!

continental

If I don’t land in the Hudson, I’ll be having lunch in Washington tomorrow afternoon!   I got confirmation today that all of my quilts for the trunk show made it safe and sound. 

Natch, I filled my iTouch with 3 movies — I get so bored on a  short flight, let alone a 6+-hour trip.

I downloaded Brideshead Revisited

brides

The Pink Panther

pink

The Girl with the Pearl Earring

girl

La Kindle

My Amazon Kindle arrived yesterday so I ordered several books for the ride, too!   kindle1

The Reader (Bernhard Schlink) reader

sTori Telling (Tori Spelling)

tori

On Writing (Stephen King)

writing

Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea! (Chelsea Handler)

 51x01n0mtql__sl500_aa240_

Open Roads

Pickle Road finally opened again after huge trees fell during our last wind storm, knocking out power lines.  

valentines-day-2009-011

Look at the size of the tree the fell — you can see the snapped tree trunk in the woods towards the middle right of the picture.

valentines-day-2009-006

valentines-day-2009-010

From Marcia

QH reader and fan , Marcia, from Rockport, Texas sent me these two books the other day.   I’ve been reading them and they are terrific.   Look, I’ll be straight with you.  I’d never pick these up in a bookstore, but I’m known to read a little of everything and really, really try to live outside of my “bubble.”   I liked these books – Everything  just is what it is.  It kind cuts the drama in a life.   

_20090226_14482401 

_20090226_14490007

Marcia also sent me a needle book for my collection!    Thanks, kiddo!

New Books

The American Quilter’s Society sent me a few books for review and they did a terrific job (at least from the covers).  I haven’t cracked them yet, but I’m impressed!  They all look like something I’d buy.   I can’t wait to review them for Quilter’s Home, because you never know, dumpling. 

_20090226_14501200 

_20090226_145114091

_20090226_14515304

_20090226_14523908

New Cross Stitch

I found this Silhouette cross stitch sampler in the NeedleworkShoppe.com catalog and had to order it.   Now you know and I know that I’ll never pick up a needle to work it up, but a guy’s gotta do what a guy’s gotta do!

_20090226_14493704

Sneak Peek

Here’s a sneak peek at my next cover!

qhaprilmaycoverv3

More when I get back!    Until then. . .    xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “This and That on a Thursday Afternoon”

  1. Pattyskypants
    February 26, 2009 at 9:45 PM #

    Hey, Marcia from Rockport, TX! If you read this, hope you’re doing well honeypot! xxoo Patrice

    Like

  2. digifigi
    February 26, 2009 at 11:12 PM #

    Are you really NJ QU1LTER??? You mean I’ve been tailgating you without knowing it??
    hee hee
    Keep up the good postings and have a good trip west

    Like

  3. Suzanne
    February 27, 2009 at 1:20 AM #

    I hope you have a safe, uneventful trip, so you can enjoy the movies and books; and that you’ll have a fabulous time in WA! All of your fans there are probably very excited that you’ll soon be there 🙂

    Like

  4. Sherry
    February 27, 2009 at 1:45 AM #

    So glad you are back to blogging! I hate dry spells and you are fun to read. Love your license plates too, in fact, I love them so much, I have the identical ones in Ohio.

    Like

  5. Carin
    February 27, 2009 at 10:49 AM #

    Please oh please review Hearts and Tulips asap! It just might be worked into a special wedding quilt… The wedding was last year and the quilt will be a Christmas present this year!

    Have a safe trip and enjoy!

    Like

  6. karin
    February 27, 2009 at 11:01 AM #

    hey, shug!!(one of my “southernisms”creeping out),
    i can also heartily recommend the stephen king-enjoyed it a lot.
    karin

    Like

  7. Terri
    March 1, 2009 at 12:03 PM #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for coming out to Puyallup for the Sewing Expo! We had a blast last night! In fact I’m so wired after listening to you “live” for the first time that I finally gave up on sleeping around 3:00 and found myself here for some additional inspiration. Safe travels and I’ll definitely watch for your return!

    Like

  8. March 1, 2009 at 3:53 PM #

    Hey Mark, Have a great trip! Stori Telling is a good trashy read. Can’t believe Tori wrote that all down, and that I took time to read it! Good to see you blogging again. I missed you!

    Like

  9. March 1, 2009 at 5:06 PM #

    Mark, glad to see you back blogging again! Missed your funny posts….

    Like

  10. March 2, 2009 at 2:37 AM #

    I hope you enjoyed Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea as much as I did. I kept laughing out loud and having to read portions to people. Except when I didn’t dare because it was too racy for the person to hear. (I don’t generally read things about other peoples err….encounters to my mother or certain co-workers!)

    I got a Kindle for my birthday last year. It is one of my best toys ever. I know you are enjoying it.

    Like

  11. Dee Safley
    March 2, 2009 at 6:38 PM #

    He does not disappoint! I made the trip from Eugene OR to Puyallup WA just to hear Mark! It was a fun filled, laugh packed two plus hours. Well worth the entry fee and twelve hours on the road (round trip). I would do it again in a heartbeat. Thanks Mark for the great show, you made my year!

    Like

  12. Lydababes
    March 3, 2009 at 3:03 PM #

    When I lived in Washington we alway called Puyallup….Pull yall up…..neat area , Love your blog and mag……..from nowhere Missouri the middle of nothingness…..no one ever comes to this area…..Jefferson City, MO

    Like

  13. Ellen French
    March 5, 2009 at 8:56 PM #

    Hey Mark–
    Did you ever get a book I sent you–called The Gallery of Regrettable Foods? Sent it to you at Pickle Road for Christmas.
    Effervescently Yours,
    Ellen French

    Like

  14. March 8, 2009 at 12:17 AM #

    Hi Mark! What a hoot!!! Today is the first time I have read your blog – it is so great! Please keep up the good work and the good writing. The airplane incident was entertaining. I also love your magazine and recently subscribed. Erie, PA

    Like

  15. Jae
    March 14, 2009 at 3:27 AM #

    Hey Mark, What did you think of sToritelling? I loved that book 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

