The Washington Post

EXTRA! EXTRA! Read all about it . . .

washington-post

Oh my gosh, you guys!   

Quilter’s Home made The Washington Post —  AGAIN!

CLICK HERE  to read the article!   xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “The Washington Post”

  1. Sue
    March 5, 2009 at 4:05 PM #

    I wonder if Joann’s feels pretty silly now…

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  2. Tere
    March 5, 2009 at 4:10 PM #

    I sure wish they would have SHOWN us the cover. Why does this article make you seem so REASONABLE?

    Like

  3. March 5, 2009 at 4:50 PM #

    Mark
    My sweet conservative hubby looked at the article and said what is all the hubbub about? He had to look really close to see the male parts and the one quilt he found the most disturbing was the hanging quilt. In my opinion that quilt does exactly what the designer wants it to do! It makes you think! It creates emotions! I am all for displaying any and all quilts in any and all shows. That being said I do feel a warning sign around the objectional quilts and a seperate section may help delicate sensibilites. Mark continue to challenge the quilting community you are the only out there with a voice that sitmulates our minds and our souls to inspire us beyound the normal limits of the quilting world at large! BRAVO Dear Heart!
    Luann

    Like

  4. March 5, 2009 at 5:08 PM #

    love it!

    Like

  5. March 5, 2009 at 5:31 PM #

    Excellent article. Loved the line: (but you buy it for the articles). And she threw in a Dude! She obviously did her research.

    Like

  6. March 5, 2009 at 6:54 PM #

    You go Mark!! I just read you article and listened to your interview with Jenn and as with your interview with Annie it was great! You are such a happy, fun, go for it kinda guy and that is what keeps us following you and reading your magazine 🙂 Never a dull moment! Keep up the great work!!!!!
    Cindy

    Like

  7. March 5, 2009 at 7:35 PM #

    you are my hero!!! my mom is an amazing quilter (she tried to teach me to piece once, but she’s right- i don’t have the patience) and I have nothing but respect for the artform, so I read the article in the Post today ( i think i’m the last person on earth with a subscription)
    I thought the article was wonderful, I think you’re great for showing traditional arts in a new light. I hope this brings you nothing but the best. Keep up the great work!
    xoxo
    beth b.

    Like

  8. sandra henderson
    March 5, 2009 at 10:10 PM #

    Mark,
    From the very first time I read your magazine, I fell in love. Thank you for making me laugh, inspiring and motivating me. I think that we need more people like you who look at the world from a different height and carpe diem!

    I am very conservative. HOWEVER….before some of you reading this get your panties in a wad….
    I think that we are very fortunate to be able to have the freedom in this country to express ourselves and opinions. I pride myself in being open minded. I always try to look at both sides of anything and always try to make chicken salad or lemonade, all the while singing and picking up the pieces to quilt. Nobody says that you have to sell, buy or read any magazine, YOU choose to do this. Life is so chaotic right now, we need to all sort through life and take what we feel a connection to and sift out what we choose to not let enter our lives. Be responsible and open minded and thankful for our freedom of expression.
    I mostly quilt using civil war fabrics and am a traditionalist. I would have no objections to these “contreversial quilts” being shown at shows. My only comment would be that, in my experience, I have seen a lot of homeschooled children and grandchildren being brought to shows. A lot of parents or parental guardians use these shows to inspire and educate and would like to have these types of “questionable quilts” put into a separate area (be it smack dab in the middle of the show or on the side), but in the proper group. Just give parents a choice of whether or not, or WHEN, to expose their children to the quilts that might bring forth questions in areas that a parent is still not ready to expose their child to. I do think that as this country goes forward that we need to expand and grow in many ways. I do think that we owe a certain amount of respect to parents and people who do not wish to participate in something.
    I think that Mark is doing a fine job in beginning a dialog and bringing forth changes. Change is good if it isn’t shoved down someones throat, and I have not seen Mark try to do this.
    Sandra Henderson
    Cumberland Island, GA

    Like

  9. March 6, 2009 at 12:48 AM #

    Dang, Mark, now I wish I had sent something to that show, too!! I’m all for freedom of expression, and that includes quilts, too.

    Perhaps with all the press, your readership and subscriptions will skyrocket!

    Hugs, Carla over at Feathered Fibers

    Like

  10. jeanine hartman
    March 6, 2009 at 1:05 AM #

    I am just so glad that youare back, and that we can hang around in your ad(mis)ventures. Geeeees, life is a lot of fun with you around.
    My quilting buddy, who I gifted a subcription, and thought the Jesus one was more contraversial.
    jh

    Like

  11. maria weinstein
    March 6, 2009 at 12:26 PM #

    Hi Mark I LOVE YOUR MAGAZINE it’s the only one of two I get. I notice that you went to Quilter’s Crossing….Just in case you did not know it’s not the only quilt shop in Rockland County….I work at the Happy Quilter which is a small but great shop…it’s in Valley Cottage and it open every day but Monday’s. I would love to give you a tour of the shops if you like…..Quilter’s crossing (I know the owner) is also a great shop she’s open everyday I was surprise to hear that she was closed….The Pfaff shop Creative Sewing carries all you fabric which I love……
    So you now have an open invite to a tour of all the shop in Rockland Cty. which seems to be a well kept secret.
    Maria

    Like

  12. BCQuilter
    March 7, 2009 at 1:24 AM #

    Someone just sent our entire guild the link to the article post, and I was heading here to mention it, and well… already done!

    Mark you sew man, you sew!

    -Alice

    Like

  13. March 7, 2009 at 4:16 AM #

    I liked the line at the end about your only registered complaint regarding the plastic bag and the environment….you did make sure the plastic was recyclable, didn’t you??
    To me the MOST disturbing ones were the lynching ones and the “Jesus” ones…although we don’t really know that the image used looked like Jesus…most likely not anyway…
    I like what the commentor Sandra H above said about these quilts making people think….so many people just don’t these days…
    Until of course, you prompt them to! 🙂

    Like

  14. March 7, 2009 at 7:06 PM #

    If you thought you hit the big time being in the Washington Post – well, even bigger (!), your issue was a limerick question on NPR’s “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me” news quiz show.
    You can hear it online – go to http://www.npr.org/programs/waitwait/archives.html and click on This Week’s Show, then Listener Limerick Challenge. Cool!

    Like

  15. JeanetteinOH
    March 9, 2009 at 6:52 PM #

    WTG…I think the article took a positive note on the freedom of expression! I haven’t been able to find a copy in this rural area! Darn…Quilting is an art form! And your quilts have as much right as the ‘pretty’ quilts to be included. You are wonderful! I love your fabric, designs, and your sense of humor!

    Like

  16. Cindie
    March 9, 2009 at 7:53 PM #

    Unfortunately, there’s just not a lot that’s shocking anymore, including male body parts. Jesus with a gun? What does that quilter want us to think? I agree that the lynching quilt was the most shocking, but I think when someone makes an Abu Ghraib quilt we’ll finally feel a visceral reaction.

    And none of this invalidates anything anyone else does. So keep quilting the quilts that make the world more beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

