Hey there, Chitown!

Here’s the link to The Chicago Tribune article about Quilter’s Home that appeared in today’s paper. 

Click Here to read it

xxx

Here’s a link to designer Sue Cook‘s blog (Larkspur Lane Designs) where she questions something that I have been noticing myself regarding the Quilter’s Home controversy (Sue has a beautiful featured quilt design in the issue – not in the article in question)….lots of strong opinions about the issue from people who never saw a copy of Quilter’s Home let alone saw/read the article.  I think she sums it up nicely. 

Click here to read Sue’s blog.   

 suecook

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Hey there, Chitown!”

  1. March 12, 2009 at 2:38 AM #

    That’s a really well done article. This whole thing seems to have taken on a life of it’s own. I wrote a little blurb about it weeks ago on my blog and have gotten tons of hits because of it and it has not subsided. I think your magazine is wonderful and fresh and yes, rather than a tea party, I’ll take a cocktail party anytime!

    Like

  2. March 12, 2009 at 10:25 AM #

    Haven’t seen the magazine, but do lurve this headline:
    “Quilting magazine pushes the envelope”.
    It’s about time a quilting magazine pushed something ~ anything!
    I make traditional pieced quilts, for the most part. I am not, however, quite ready to move into my dotage yet.

    Wait… sold out. Does this mean I have to go to eBay and pay the big bucks for a quiltinig magazine? LOL

    Like

  3. Janet Brady
    March 12, 2009 at 12:06 PM #

    Sue is right on the money! I’m adding her to my blogs to watch.

    Like

  4. March 12, 2009 at 2:39 PM #

    Mark! Loved your ‘more like a cocktail party’ comment. AND IT’S TRUE!! Last weekend I had a bunch of gal pals over to make Xmas ornaments from scraps. We chattered more than we stitched, while drinking “Poinsettia” cocktails–2/3 champagne, 1/3 cranberry juice, garnish with a lime slice and you have a Christmasy looking light drink! Next time I plan on trying out that yummy banana mint conction from your ‘shocking’ issue. Salut! P.

    Like

  5. March 12, 2009 at 10:10 PM #

    Cocktail Party?! Count me in every time! Oh yeah, I already have my subscription, I’m good!

    Like

  6. Shady
    March 13, 2009 at 12:58 AM #

    “More like a cocktail party” is why I subscribed – it’s so refreshing to read a mag that is more like reading a letter from a dear, fun, outspoken friend than one that reads like an encyclopedia or instruction manual!!! As if real quilters aren’t supposed to have opinions or a sense of humor or an imagination!! Pulleezz…. Keep up the good work Mark!!!!

    Like

  7. Jae
    March 14, 2009 at 3:19 AM #

    How funny – as a QH reader from issue #1, I happened to reread this issue today, cover to cover, unaware of the uproar the article created.

    Like

  8. New Baby Pickle
    March 14, 2009 at 10:32 PM #

    Geez. What’s all the fuss about?
    I totally agree with Jake Finch in his opening line of the magazine’s article; Shocking Quilt’s, “Sex can sell anything, honey! (I mean, have you seen a Bratz doll lately?)”
    I have that prized copy of QH Mar ’09 issue. I was pleased to learn about the featured quilt artists works and was not offended by the article or the art at all. I want THIS magazine to inform me about the world around me and Mark does exactly that. He’s one brave dude!
    What does offends me is when one (who has no appreciation or tolerance for the things I like) can stir up such a negative reaction to have my likes taken away. BOOOOOOOO to JoAnn’s! I say to all the naysayers, MYOB, and leave me be.
    I subscribed (2 years) to Quilter’s Home (QH) immediately after reading the first refreshing issue. I’ll be the first to sign a petition to keep this magazine in print if anyone starts some crap.,>}
    Ta Ta. Off to read my Apr/May ’09 issue of QH with a cocktail in the other hand. Rock-on Mark!

    Like

  9. Dee
    March 20, 2009 at 3:20 AM #

    You can also check your local bookstore. We got ours in a plastic wrapper like the playboys and penthouses. Did you see the latest issue of
    Quilters Newsletter? There’s a picture of Chinese quilt coming in an exhibit in California in the eyeq column. Suppose they’ll boycott that also? We love QH, I work in a bookstore and called and requested it for my store and sell them well. Thanks for a great magazine!

    Like

  10. Chris
    April 18, 2009 at 8:45 PM #

    Well, I bought the March 09 QH issue – not because of the controversial quilts but because JoAnn’s refused to sell it, someone “hid” them at a Wheaton store, & I just felt it was B S! This was the 1st quilters mag I read cover-to-cover in one setting & totally enjoyed. Any magazine that can make me smile like this one did is a keeper. I’m be getting a subscription when I pick up the next copy. Hopefully I won’t need to rip thru a plastic wrapper – hee-hee!
    Great mag – Great blog – Keep up the food work!
    PS – I’m a grandmother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

