Smells, Puppies, Shows, and Princeton

Scents

 OK, so here’s the deal.   Wherever I go, after hand shakes and hugs and autographs, I’m asked what kind of cologne I’m wearing.   Now, here’s my scent secret.  First I use this body moisturizer that I buy at Bath & Body Works, that I put on after I shower.  It’s called Energy, from their Aromatherapy line.   I love, love, love it, and as you can see.  It was just on sale.  I bought 4 bottles the other day.

princeton-025

 As for cologne, I use Dunhill.   It’s the bomb.   Very nice and I always, ALWAYS, get comments on it.   I just bought a new bottle for myself and, gave Evan what was left of my older bottle so that he can be Mac Daddy, Jr.     The combination of the two scents gives me my signature scent.  

Now, turnips, if I’ve had an onion bagel and a cup of coffee before we meet, all bets are off at how alluring my cologne mixture will be! dunhill

It’s a crock alright . . .

I found the following product description for a new crock-pot on AOL last week.   Once again mixing the word “quilt” with “grandma”  as if there is no other kind of quilt but an old one, a family quilt, or a ‘grandma’ quilt.    Will the stereotype ever be broken?  

Crock-Pot

What’s Changed:The venerable crock pot, long a staple of the American kitchen, is trying to become the ultimate multi-tasker for the contemporary two-income family that wants to eat healthy. Crock-Pot’s owner, Jarden Consumer Solutions, wants the slow cooker to become a “trophy” product that people want to give as gifts and buy for themselves. So new cookers will come in bright colors — no more cream and burgundy — and will feature updated packaging that evokes savory root vegetables rather than grandma’s quilt.    (Ohhh no they di-ent!)

A Puppy

 I went for a walk with my buddy, Toby Preston of Kindred Quilts (Clinton, NJ) the other day and we stopped at the local Clinton pet shop, Fur Majesty.    Apparently, each week, they take in a new, adoptable puppy.   Look at this one!  How fricking cute.  You know, it’s hard for me to pass up bringing home a puppy — any puppy.   Used to be that way with men but that was many, many waist sizes ago!  🙂 

Here’s Toby with the pup.  Cute, huh?

princeton-037

I love the little widow’s peak on his forehead!

princeton-043

The shop owner took me by the hand to show me the new T-shirts they are selling with the message SPAY AND NEUTER.   While the graphics are hysterical, it’s an important message.   Tulip is fixed and Petunia is about to be spayed, too.  It’s the best thing for everyone!   

princeton-041

There is a woman’s cut (about $35) and a heavier men’s cut (about $39).  I love them.   If you’re interested in buying one of these T-shirts, give the shop a call at (908) 730-7977‎.  

A New Thread Recommendation

 While I was at Toby’s shop, she turned me on to some new threads, Invisifil, that she’s been raving about so, of course, I bought an assortment (which I needed like I needed another hole in my head — or rip in my jeans).    They cost about $3 a spool.  Toby uses them for Sharon Schamber’s machine appliqueing technique.   I have to admit, Toby’s machine applique work and these treads look great.   Now, you know I probably won’t do a thing with these threads, but daddy HAD TO have them!

princeton-092

Quilt Fest New Jersey

 I visited Quilt Fest New Jersey a few weeks ago.   My krakow line was selling!   Here it is in a booth and here are the vendors who were selling it!  

princeton-045

princeton-044

 I found this doll in another booth and had to have her.  You know what a ‘ho I am for Indian crafts and design. 

princeton-098

This photo does these wools no justice, but I had to have them for a rug hooking project I’ve been working on (for 4 years or more LOL).   Believe it or not, they are skin-tone.   The camera didn’t pick up the true colors as they are HUMAN skin-tone, not SWAMP THING skin-tone!

princeton-094

Princeton, New Jersey

 Jeff and I took a day to run around Princeton, New Jersey.  It’s really not very far from us so we took advantage of a warmer, non-rainy day. 

Princeton is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon.   It’s a beautiful and historical town (as you can see in the pics) with tons of great restaurants and fun high-end places to shop.   The kitchen shop is phenomenal as is the toy store.   We bought Evan an crepe making machine for his birthday (he wants to be a chef —  but so far, no crepes)!   The bookstore is also a place where book lovers can wander for hours.   Of course I left with an armful of books.   There is a great bead store and a fabulous cupcake shop. 

princeton-052 

princeton-054

Honestly, isn’t it the cutest town?  

princeton-058

Jeff HAD to visit his favorite store, Simon Pearce, where he picked up a piece of crystal (so not my thing). 

princeton-055

Jeff took home the larger of the two bowls.   I have no idea what he plans to put in it?   Cheese curls?  LOL

doverbowls

 

princeton-046

The barber shop was adorable.  Like stepping back in time!

princeton-083

princeton-082

There was a time that I thought that Birkenstocks looked like Flintstone shoes.   That is, until I bought my first pair.  I’m a Birkenstock convert and I love mine (they last forever, too).

princeton-060

Believe it or not, these colorful sandals are Berks!    LOVE THEM! 

princeton-059

These suckahs ARE NOT Birkenstock but I saw them in a window and snapped a pic.   They are fierce, but what kind of S&M broad would actually wear these?

princeton-085

I’m just about sure that Jeff and I are buying a ginormous quilt block themed hand hooked hall runner for our center hall form Amy Karyn.   What a beautiful store.  Fabulous help.   Great stuff.    If you’re in Princeton, check it out.

princeton-051

In the window were these cute “patchwork” eggs.  I don’t think they were for sale, but more of a display.   The thing is that I’ve been making these kinds of “Easter” eggs for years (although they look great in a grapevine bowl all year round).   I’m going to do a blog class on how to make these eggs in a few weeks.   Keep coming back!

princeton-050

I am a slut for paper products — stationary, binders, greeting cards, blank books — you name it.   This shop had me pulling out my credit cards!  Shit. 

princeton-049

Now, here’s the weird thing:  It’s MARCH!   At least 50% of Princeton still had Christmas decorations in their windows.   The Papery was one of those shops, but it was so pretty that I snapped a photo. 

princeton-047

princeton-048

The other weird thing about upscale Princeton is that it is clearly the FASHION DON’T capitol of the world.*  I couldn’t get pictures of the over-abundance of weird or just plain butt-ugly fashion combos without getting jumped, but take my word for it.     

*Author and Princetonite, Meg Cox, is the queen of tasteful fashion.   She must be a Princeton transplant because she ALWAYS looks very well put together! 

Welcome to my new passion.    It’s ratting out  . . .  

bad-customer-service

Mark Inducts

PINS & NEEDLES

 Princeton, New Jersey

as a member of

The Worst Customer Service Hall of Fame

princeton-062

I remembered that there used to be a quilt shop in Princeton.  I had heard that it was going under years ago.   When I visited at that time, it was half fabric and half knitting.    I dragged poor Jeff from one side of town to the other (you know how that is — if there is a craft/fiber shop within 100-miles then walking isn’t a problem) to find this joint.    And why not?  Daddy had money to burn!  

When I saw the awning, I hyperventilated.   I could feel the cash in my pocket start to dance.   Even better, not only was it a knitting shop (sadly knitting is  so jumping the shark) but it was also a needlepoint shop!    You may not know this, but I used to PAINT needlepoint canvases for shops when I was in college for extra cash.  So I was jazzed.  I love to buy needlepoint canvases (although, admittedly, they are very expensive).   I also buy yarn for embellishment projects (that I never quite get around to).

When we walked into the very pretty shop, there was a lady knitting at a table.   The shopkeeper was also sitting at the table.  They weren’t talking with each other.   Just doing their own thing.   

We walked in and smiled.  The shopkeeper look right through us then turned her head.  She totally ignored us.  No “Hello” or “Can I help you?” or “Kiss my ass” or anything!  

We walked around the shop  for a few seconds looking at things and I found some very expensive but beautiful yarn skeins I wanted — but  still nothing from the shopkeeper.   Jeff even commented on the chilly reception and how stuffy the place felt.   Look, it’s not like she or the shop was busy –  no one was in there but us (gee, wonder why?).  Clearly she was just ignoring us.

A few minutes later, two women walked in the door.   As soon as the bell hanging on the door rang, the shopkeeper pipes up “HELLLLLLO! CAN I HELP YOU, LADIES?”

I put down the yarn (about $160-bucks worth so far) and we walked out.    Buyer beware.    If you shop here you’re nuts.   I will never EVER go back there again.  

There are so many other independant shops who are struggling or are more than willing to treat all of their customers with respect and common manners and courtesy that it is our duty as consumers to seek those shops out and support them.     Dudes, this goes for quilt shops as well.   If you’re not treated well by a shop owner or shop help, simply do not shop there and spread the word.    They don’t deserve your cash.

That’s why I’m suggesting that if you happen to find yourself in Princeton, New Jersey SKIP a visit to PINS & NEEDLES.   It’s a very pretty shop with really shitty manners.  It sucks.

Window Shopping

 While I was walking through town, I snapped a few pictures of  patchworky things in the windows.    Loved this purse.   See what you can do with some embellishment in a simple patchwork design?

princeton-057

 I wasn’t wild about the purse, but I thought that the design was applique inspirational.   Keep your eyes open for designs that would translate to applique or patchwork.   It’s all around you IF you open your eyes.

princeton-014

The Princeton Campus

 How could I visit Princeton without showing you the campus.  It’s breathtaking. 

princeton-078

princeton-081

Believe it or not, these are DORMS!

princeton-071

princeton-063

 

princeton-072

princeton-073

princeton-074

princeton-075

princeton-076

 

princeton-077

Introducing:  Freak of the Week!

freek1

Now, I don’t mind criticism, I’m a big boy who realizes that I push the comfort circles of some folks — and I enjoy and invite reasonable, healthy and cordial debate.  I don’t expect for everyone to agree with my point of view and opinions (I’d be a little scared if you did),  but I’m over the idiots who write the most vile, name-calling, inaccurate and   mean spirited letters and blog posts under the dark cloak of a screen name thinking that it’s both appropriate and necessary.  

So read this blog on occasional Freaky Fridays as I crown a FREAK OF THE WEEK.   

Now, you may agree with me, or you may agree with the freak.  You may respond to me or you may respond directly to the freak.  It doesn’t matter either way.   It’s all just an excerise in physics (every action creates a positive or negative reaction) but it’s time to reveal the passive/aggressive pathology of the small but “freaky” handful of ridiculous , self-righteous, and self-absorbed nasty Quiltzillas.   

Stone throwers beware!

skull

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

37 Comments on “Smells, Puppies, Shows, and Princeton”

  1. Linda
    March 20, 2009 at 4:05 PM #

    Can I just tell you that you are awesome and you make my day whenever I discover that you have posted a new entry? Thanks for ‘keeping it real’, as my son would say, and for sharing your great humor with the world.

    Like

  2. March 20, 2009 at 4:23 PM #

    Wow! I just hate it when shop owners or even sale people look at us men like what the hell are you doing in here. I think you may have stepped into the wrong store, now get out. Damn it, we are people too. I am tired of being treated like a third class citizen. Why can’t we all play together nicely?

    Mark, you’re right we need not supporting shops where we are not welcome there are allot of other stores that will gladly take our money and make us feel welcome at the same time.

    Like

  3. March 20, 2009 at 4:29 PM #

    wow — it’s like having another whole issue of the magazine! and, with swear words, too! (I love it) When I left my last corporate job, they gave me a beautiful Orrefors crystal bowl, which I immediately filled with orange marshmallow peanuts. Cheese curls would be good too…

    Like

  4. March 20, 2009 at 4:35 PM #

    Mark, your posts are always enlightening. Where to start….ummmm….love all the pictures (blogs w/o lots of words and no pictures bore me). I’ll be sure to remember that coffee, onion bagel and Dunhill do not create nice scent mix… 🙂

    I LOVE the eggs…I will be waiting patiently to see your blog class on those.

    And nope, not a S&M kinda gal so those shoes are just not for me…I know you are shocked being I’m a pirate and all 🙂

    Princeton is beautiful through your eyes/camera!

    As I read your review on the “bad” shop….my jaw hit the floor. How rude and stereotypical is that?? I’m still soo dumbfounded! Being I work in a quilt shop as well, our goal is to reach out to each customer individually and assist them, I can’t imagine being so selective in your customer base. I guess they just aren’t suffering from the economy. Lucky them–not.

    OOOO Freak of the Week looks interesting. I too agree, why hide behind a mask. While it’s easy to do on the internet, reality is what it is. If you live life true to yourself, why hide it? I believe I don’t have anything to hide, but at the same time, I don’t go posting all my drama online for others to “pity” and sympathize with my own stupidity. I try to take responsibility for my own stupid mistakes. That is what makes me….me.

    Love ya!

    Like

  5. Pam Matthews
    March 20, 2009 at 4:46 PM #

    Mark – I will add your experience to the Things Shopowners Do That Annoy You topic page on the Quilters Home Facebook Page! Personally, I think you should’ve dropped the expensive yarn on the floor and stepped on it on your way out of the shop. JMHO. F. Scott Fitzgerald flunked out of Princeton, yet another reason to love it.

    Like

  6. Stacy-in-Soap Lake, WA
    March 20, 2009 at 5:07 PM #

    Mark, thanks for making me laugh out loud! I agree, it’s like getting a second issue of the magazine! I think the P & N shop was ignorant to think men don’t like to fondle yarn…wth?! Love that black purse w/embroidery! The fabric eggs would go well in Jeff’s new crystal bowl!

    (just curious, have you noticed the sponsors on the yahoo group main page? at the very bottom they drop the f-bomb a few times in their ads! Not Cool!)

    Your Princeton pix are so beautiful! Thanks for sharing, as I’ll never find myself out that way.

    Like

  7. Christa
    March 20, 2009 at 5:09 PM #

    HEY!!! Those shoes aren’t S&M!!! I love them and I am not even kinky! Though I would love them more in a different colour… like black or maybe RED. lol
    I agree with you- we need to be searching out and patronizing the shops who appreciate our business and spreading the word about those who don’t.
    I too, am looking forward to the Freak of the Week.
    Love your blog!

    Like

  8. March 20, 2009 at 5:15 PM #

    Mark
    As always your musing delight and enlighten us! I am a number 1 fan from many Moons ago. I know we stand in good company with you. You push the limits for us and we reap the benifits. I loved the Blog today and look forward to the Freaky Fridays. I always wonder why some people just have to decide what you should do how to do it and why you should do it. I am a grown up well I am by chronological age so I can and do make my own choices. I think I make good choices in my quilting and life so why must anyone try to tell me my choice is wrong! Geesh can they just leave us alone. So keep doing what you do best Mark as the quilt world has said you are a breathe of fesh air and the industry will never be the same. Gramda’s Quilts Indeed! Humph!!!

    Like

  9. March 20, 2009 at 5:25 PM #

    About that crock pot…
    wouldn’t you love to see one decorated NOT with veggies but with something like a Caryl Bryert Fallert or Jane Sassaman design? Hmmmmmm?
    It might even get me back in the kitchen…temporarily.

    Like

  10. March 20, 2009 at 5:45 PM #

    If you need yarn there are two shops that I would highly recommend:

    Stix N’ Stitches in Montclair, NJ

    Jill Deal in Milford, PA

    Oh, and Milford, PA is one of those great little towns that is fun to visit. They also have a wonderful Music Festival every summer.

    Like

  11. ABB
    March 20, 2009 at 5:49 PM #

    Pretty silly of that shop owner to ignore her male customers. My husband surprises me with quilty stuff sometimes, and he won’t go back to any shop that doesn’t give him some guidance. Wonder why she thought you two would even step into her shop and obviously stay long enough to seriously peruse yarns. What did she think you were doing? Sometimes the stupidity of people can be amazing – that owner missed a huge plug for the shop here, didn’t she?!

    Like

  12. Pattyskypants
    March 20, 2009 at 6:09 PM #

    You know, crockpots used to come in bright, cheerful colors — back in the 70’s! Thanks for the Princeton tour. We’ll be there in a few weeks. Also, bravo on calling out the proprietor of Pins & Needles! Although you think it is anomalous, there are far too many shop owners like that. In my town, we had four. Miss Tillie’s (named after the owner’s dog) closed down last year after the owner died, but whenever I visited with my husband (a great color expert and fantastic binding and backing picker-outer) Miss Tillie would bark and growl at him. The owner’s explanation: ” She doesn’t like Men!” So, should my husband leave or what? One shop down, three to go. Peartree Quilting, the MOST expensive fabric shop in town, banned from my itinerary for selling my husband five 1cm buttons for $1 apiece and then refusing to let him return them when they turned out to be the wrong size. Okay, so I will spend my thousands of dollars elsewhere. Two to go. Fancy Stitches where I buy most of my fabric and where I bought my lovely little Pfaff. Not too bad and mostly friendly except the owner is always gossiping about people and how much fabric they buy “It’s like an ADDICTION!” I can’t imagine what she says about ME when I leave! Down to one! Joann’s, where they are always friendly, respectful, chatty and helpful but I don’t like the fabric. Down to ONLINE!

    The Freak of the Week thing is interesting (as long as I’m not the Freak), but don’t take the chatter personally, Mark. You’re an out-there guy. You think no one is going to be offended? I’d say, let it be.

    P.S. I’m a grandma. What’s wrong with my quilts? Whatevah!

    Like

  13. bettina elliott
    March 20, 2009 at 6:41 PM #

    Wow, Mark, I think you must have run into the “sister store” of the quiltzilla i told you about….sounds way too familiar in customer service, sizing ’em up by their look….

    Like

  14. JeanetteinOH
    March 20, 2009 at 6:41 PM #

    YOU are better than watching TV…your own sitcom! Adore your comments!

    Like

  15. JeanetteinOH
    March 20, 2009 at 6:42 PM #

    OH…and BTW…I’m a quilting grandma!!! 8 grandchildren and lovin’ every minute! you can send them home!

    Like

  16. Sue
    March 20, 2009 at 8:54 PM #

    Did you go to Thomas Sweets for Ice Cream in Princeton? Yummy!!

    The vendors at Quiltfest that had your fabric have lots of great stuff, don’t they? I bought an entire line of fat quarters from them.

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  17. Jackie
    March 20, 2009 at 10:13 PM #

    Mark, Mark, Mark. You didn’t stop bringing home “strays” because your waistline expanded. You stopped when you found the perfect companion and learned all the laughing and loving and living with that person is way better than whatever any “stray” could provide! I’m still sifting through strays . . you’re not missing anything.

    Like

  18. Penny Schmitt
    March 20, 2009 at 10:52 PM #

    So love it that you are posting often again. There’s always something jaw dropping, something to giggle about, and a whole passle of ideas. I look forward to making those fabric eggs! Bring on the class brotha! Hugs, P.

    Like

  19. Karen Jurovcik
    March 21, 2009 at 12:55 AM #

    Thanks for giving us something great to read as always. You always write things that make us laugh.

    Like

  20. March 21, 2009 at 1:00 AM #

    Great post Mark! Let us all unite against poor customer service and root them out all over the world.

    Like

  21. Jackie
    March 21, 2009 at 2:17 AM #

    BTW … the dog’s widows peak makes him look like Eddie Munster! 🙂

    Like

  22. March 21, 2009 at 2:22 AM #

    Thank you, THANK YOU for calling out the foolish store people that ignored you. I, too, will refuse to patronize a store that treats me poorly. If they can’t wait on ANYONE who comes in, they don’t need to open the doors. Bigotry for any reason is not acceptable. How can they not see that a man’s money is just as green?
    If I were near Princeton, I think I would go there just to wait for them to have customers so I could SHOUT in the door “Is this the shop were the storekeepers IGNORED the HEAD Honcho of a MAJOR quilting magazine just because he was MALE?” Then just stand there and let it sink in, and see if I got any response.

    LOL. I guess you can tell I have been on the same end of that type bigotry.

    Like

  23. Angie
    March 21, 2009 at 3:30 PM #

    Loved the road trip Mark! Your pictures are wonderful. It would have been really difficult to leave that puppy there. Hope it finds a good home. The Princeton pictures are beautiful! I love the pictures of the historic buildings. When shop owners treat me like that, I get in their face. Instead of feeling ignored, I go right up to them and start talking at them! “How are you today! Looks like rain! You have some really nice merchandise!—–” I don’t let them get away with it! Sort of makes them uncomfortable, but that’s my point. Can’t wait to see pics. of your new rug!

    Like

  24. carol
    March 21, 2009 at 4:26 PM #

    Mark, I’ve done the same thing, when I go into a business and they ignore me because I don’t fit their ‘preferred demographic’, I also walk out without leaving any of my $$$ behind. Once I was in line waiting to pay for my armload of purchases when the clerk served the person behind me. I walked up, put the pile of goodies on the counter in front of her and walked out.

    love your blog, btw

    Like

  25. March 21, 2009 at 11:24 PM #

    Thanks for stopping by my website Mark and for your kind comments about my quilts. You might like to check out the Twelve by Twelve Collaborative Art Quilt Project too (see http://twelveby12.org). Window-themed quilts are due to be shown on our blog on 1 April and your shop windows from Princeton add further inspiration.

    Like

  26. March 22, 2009 at 10:05 PM #

    Not being greeted is HUGE pet peeve of mine. No hello… no dough.

    Like

  27. March 23, 2009 at 1:54 AM #

    Hey Mark,
    Yeah, there was a major quilt shop in the Seattle that had beautiful stuff…but whenever I was there without Linda, they mainly ignored me, and I really think it was because I was a male. Unless they know me, and a lot of local shops do, if I am with Linda, they ask her what SHE is looking for……
    Since I work in retail too, I know about having all sorts of customers, but you just never know WHO will spend what so the best bet is to treat EVERYONE the same! with Great customer service!

    Oh, and I think Cheese curls would be fine…or maybe Fritos! Even though the crystal thing doesn’t do a lot for me either….(an antique wooden bowl…now there’s something cool!)

    Like

  28. Mary
    March 23, 2009 at 12:00 PM #

    This is not just a “guy-thing” We have a “quilt shop that shall remain nameless” – which is exactly how it is referred to by my guild members, that ignores customers ALL the time … unless you happen to be from the sailing community of Annapolis.

    Like

  29. Lyda Loehring
    March 23, 2009 at 2:32 PM #

    You blog is the gbom…..What a neat town…thanks for showing it to us. Boy I agree wth ya about snobby shops….I went to Jenny Beyers shop and being from the midwest, I guess I didn’t have enough class to be in there…..So I just looked and left…..O well……

    But here in the mid west , we don’t have that problem…..

    Can’t wait for the egg blog….they are so neat. Have you ever boiled eggs with silk ties wrapped around them….they come out beautiful…….

    Keep up the great work….love it…..

    Like

  30. March 23, 2009 at 4:31 PM #

    What a fantastic blog! So many tidbits.

    I like the convenience of a crock-pot, but the texture of items just don’t cut it (now it could be that I’m not experienced enough to cook properly with it).

    I love “old” buildings, and your photo shoot of the Princeton campus was awe inspiring.

    Isn’t it great when you can wander through a town and find inspiration in different items in the shop windows. You know, even those high heeled shoes could be an inspiration.

    I have had my share of shops with lacking customer skills. I had an experience where it was a “hip” place for young people, and the clerk was maybe 10-15 years younger than I. Finally, when I was asked if I wanted assistance, and when I shared what I was looking for, there was no real care or attention given to my needs. I walked out. Went to another shop, and explained what I was looking for and the clerk treated me like I was the only customer. A month after the experience I went back and told the owner about my wonderful experience. I have begun to praise those establishments who do treat their customers with respect, care and attention. I’m not sure if it is my getting older, or from running my own business, but customer service has become very important to me… doesn’t matter if the shop is the only one with what I am looking for, if they don’t have the customer service to back it up… I’m outta there!

    I am going to stay tuned for the Freaky Friday Freak-out! I think you have us all intrigued!

    Keep Smiling – it makes people wonder what you’ve been up to!

    -Alice

    Like

  31. Lesley
    March 23, 2009 at 10:32 PM #

    Mark,

    I applaud you for walking out of that store. Regardless of how the economy is stores owners and there employees should make every effort to welcome and help out people. I started quilting when I was 14, and to walk into a store, seemed like a sin of some sort. No one would give me the time of day… even now 11 years later, I still get comments referring to my age and inexperience when it comes to quilting… If only they realized I design all my quilts, and have likely been quilting for the same length of time they have, and have money to spend. There are some beautiful shops where I live, but I have decided to boycott them, since then treated me so poorly in the past.

    Like

  32. Elaine
    March 24, 2009 at 11:27 AM #

    You are going to LOVE that Invisifil thread. I have been using it for a while and just love it. It’s super for machine invisible applique. Another one that is superb for the same thing is Superior Bottom Line.

    And KUDOS for walking out of that store. Just because you are men doesn’t mean you don’t have money to burn. Probably more than some of the women. Rude rude rude on their part and their loss as well.

    Like

  33. March 24, 2009 at 8:03 PM #

    Wow – Princeton, New Jersey – does that bring back memories…..it’s been years since I was there the last time! Your pictures were amazing and so much hasn’t changed – thanks for sharing! As far as that shop goes – it’s good to know the ones to avoid!

    Like

  34. May 2, 2009 at 3:04 AM #

    Mark the last time I got treated poorly in one of our local yarn shops the owner actually told me I was in her way! No excuse me, can I help you or nuttin’. And I’m as nice a knitting/quilting grannie as you’d ever want to meet I swear! I dropped the yarn I was holding like a hot potato and headed for the door, anouncing to her and her knitting cronies that I would come back when she had her going out of business sale! Alas I never did make it back for that sale the next year, only heard about it later.

    Like

  35. Sherry
    May 4, 2009 at 6:45 PM #

    Hi Mark: Could I add Kindred Quilts in your area to your listing of places to avoid? The reception that you received in Princeton is exactly what happened to me there a while back.

    The only way I was able to get some “help” (if you want to call it that) was by standing in front of the woman that was yakking away with personal tidbits on the phone. I had inquired about a pattern (for which there was a sample hanging on the wall) and was told “we’re sold out, we should have it again in about a week.”

    Proper customer service (at least to my way of thinking) would have been to offer to let me pay for the pattern & have them mail it to me, or at the very least to offer to take my name & telephone # & offer to call me when it came in.

    I walked out of that store with another pattern (which I should have just left on the counter, but I try to support independent quilt shops when I can). . . but I will never knowingly purchase anything from them or go to that shop again.

    I loved the pictures of Princeton. . . . my HS graduation was held there.

    Have a happy day,

    Sherry

    Like

  36. May 8, 2009 at 6:34 PM #

    Weird!!! I dated a guy years ago who graduated from Princeton, and he also wore Dunhill cologne. How strange to see them both in the same title all these years later. And yes, I loved the Dunhill.

    Like

  37. Wendy
    June 12, 2009 at 3:28 PM #

    Hey Mark:

    Love your posts and your magazine! I really like reading what you have to say. Glad you walked out of the store. Some people (like the store owner) don’t have any common sense! Keep up the good work!

    Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

