New Family Members

Baby Chicks Arrive!

Several weeks ago, I got the bug to try to hatch some of the chicken eggs that were being laid in my coop.

I went to a chicken supply house in Flemington, NJ and bought a incubator and all of the junk that goes with it for about $145 bucks.   Jeff and I put 6 eggs into the contraption for the hell of it, not expecting a thing.

chick-2

Yesterday our first chick arrived. 

 chick

As of this morning, we have 4 out of the shell chicklets and one working its way out. 

chick-3

There has been no action in the 6th egg yet.  Not bad for two guys who know nothing about chicken breeding (but we have a rooster who is apparently  packing a punch)!  More pics later!  

Love to you from Atlanta!  xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

29 Comments on “New Family Members”

  1. April 27, 2009 at 12:35 PM #

    Oh how cute! I always wanted to hatch eggs myself. Now I live in the city and we can’t have chickens….maybe someday! So, now what? Are you going to just add them to your flock or start producing more chicks or chicken dinners? ewww, I just grossed myself out. Have fun w/ the chicks!

    Like

  2. Kari in ND
    April 27, 2009 at 12:55 PM #

    Great job! Now what? Are you going to let the mamas have them back and raise them for you? The best fun is to just let a hen or two run loose and raise her young. Of course, chickens have no ethics, so if you have a variety of them in your coop, your chicks will soon reflect their mixed parentage! It’s Party time in the coop, baby! Have fun!

    Kari in ND

    Like

  3. Bert in Rice, WA
    April 27, 2009 at 1:55 PM #

    So are they chickens or are they Pickles? :o)

    Did they imprint on their mamas or on you? I was looking at chicks and ducklings in the feed store the other day. Too cute!

    I’m looking forward to some clever chicken names…

    Bert in Rice, WA

    Like

  4. Sue
    April 27, 2009 at 5:31 PM #

    Isn’t it wonderful how nature can surprise us? Even at my age I’m still amazed every year when my perennials come back. It’s like magic… 🙂

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  5. April 27, 2009 at 5:58 PM #

    So cool! I am watching a robin who made a nest on my windowsill. There are four blue eggs in the nest now.

    Like

  6. April 27, 2009 at 8:48 PM #

    Congratulations Papa!

    Like

  7. April 28, 2009 at 12:47 AM #

    You’re new daddies! How cool is that! Congratulations!!! We raised baby ducklings for a while and ended up with a flag football playing drake who would knock with his beak on our patio door when he wanted us to come out and play. We named him Vern and his wife, Shirley. (we thought he was a she and named her Laverne, originally) They ended up as members of our beloved family of pets until a wild raccoon got Shirley and her egglings and a farm dog got Vern. I cried for two solid weeks. Look out for imprinting…sometimes it’s backwards! I thought that they were my babies!

    Like

  8. Fiona
    April 28, 2009 at 1:20 AM #

    Yeah, Mark. I’m waiting impatiently for my new chicks to arrive. With my last flock, I allowed several momma birds to hatch and raise their eggs (not all were laid by them, but oh well). You’ll haveto make a chickie quilt design now right? 😉

    Like

  9. April 28, 2009 at 11:40 AM #

    Too cool! I never thought of just trying to raise our own chicks from out eggs! We have too beautiful roosters now, and they are doing their part for sure. Thanks for sharing a great “what if?” story!

    Like

  10. April 29, 2009 at 7:34 AM #

    I’ve been watching your notes on Facebook, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this adventure!

    Like

  11. April 29, 2009 at 2:12 PM #

    Oh how fun! I use to do this every Spring in my apartment for our CSA in Michigan. They are so cute and fuzzy….and messy.

    Like

  12. Ann
    April 29, 2009 at 11:15 PM #

    Congratulations to the new Grampas!

    Like

  13. Kate
    May 1, 2009 at 12:47 AM #

    Mark-
    How cool is that! Congratulaitons and best of luck raising them.

    Like

  14. May 1, 2009 at 5:45 PM #

    Hello, Mark,

    It’s me, Raymond from http://www.NachoGrandmasQuilts.com . . .

    I recently began a blog and an online course, “31 Days to Build a Better Blog.” One of my tasks is to write a “list post.” I’m creating a list of male quilters’s blogs and websites that I’ve found . . . may I include you??

    Could you point me toward other male quilters with an online presence??

    Thank you for your help.

    Like

  15. May 2, 2009 at 12:29 PM #

    It’s a miracle isn’t it? Your fabric line should be called, “What Came First?” you get my drift…I can see yolks and shells and those yummy brown and blue shells and feathers and feet and cute little beaks…nature is so good at what it does! xoxo Pam in Chico

    Like

  16. Kari
    May 2, 2009 at 1:28 PM #

    OMG. Pam! That made me think of something completely different. I was picturing the little swimmers on one fabric and other “things” on the other fabrics in the line. There was a hilarious cartoon in an old Playboy I once saw that had the chicken and the egg lying in bed. The chicken was smoking a cigarette and the egg was commenting.. well, I guess that answers THAT question!

    Love you! Kari

    Like

  17. Candy in Washington
    May 3, 2009 at 7:08 AM #

    Congratulations Mark! The photo of the peep is great I too have new peeps..though I guess I should say they are toddlers now. lol They are so much fun to watch as they grow and explore the world around them. Have fun peep papa.

    xo Candy in Washington State

    Like

  18. May 18, 2009 at 3:10 PM #

    How cute is that, way to go. So beautiful.

    Like

  19. May 20, 2009 at 4:19 AM #

    Okay this is not about chicks…but I got my June/July ML Quilter’s Home today and I am sitting here in tears and also with a big smile ! Your sweet boy Evan is adorable…and I am thrilled to read about you both! Happy Summer you guys! xoxo Pam in Chico

    Like

  20. Laura
    May 23, 2009 at 3:02 AM #

    Mark: I had to look up your blog and write to thank you for this month’s mag. I’m a quilter–only 3 yrs now, teaching my self ’cause I live in the BOONIES (Wisconsin, not Hawaii any more!), AND I raise chickens! And I have a gay son! And my daughter is friends with Chelsea’s bro, Roy! See, we have so much in common! I even take Celexa!! Anyway, I can tell from the way you write that you’ve “been there”–depression, existential and relationship crises, everything–and I wanted to tell you that your articles in this month’s issue really helped me. I started my second quilt last year, deciding to hand-piece since I loved hand-quilting on my first, and designed it for my then-husband, who’s a CG Lt. Anyway, we broke up after 11 yrs last fall and I think I slept through the entire, 6 mo. long Wisconsin winter. I’m in therapy, but I still had not touched that quilt since the break up. Last night I took the new QH to bed, and it seemed like every article–even “Cocktails with Mark”–was like you were personally making me laugh, telling me to go back to needle-therapy (sewing, of course!) and everything would be ok. Today I got the quilt top out for the first time since last year and happily stitched for hours. It’s for me now. I’m getting my life together. Thank you!! Love, Laura

    Like

  21. May 27, 2009 at 12:57 AM #

    Oh, that so reminds me of my grandma’s chickens and days when I was young. Surprised I can still remember – it was so long ago. 🙂 You and Jeff did very well. Now you are “Mother Hens”.

    Like

  22. Joan
    May 27, 2009 at 7:50 PM #

    You have the best blog, but have you lost interest in it? Facebook and twitter are not as interesting as this blog.

    Like

  23. May 29, 2009 at 1:53 AM #

    You such a talent for covering all of the bases in your blog, I read through evey article and viewed pictures, clicked links for articles and have laughed through magazines and related to so many. Raising the chickens tickles me because I was just at a flea market and they had a beautiful rooster, hen and chicks for sale. The young boy with his family at the booth had raised the rooster for a 4-H project and he was gorgeous with color and almost fluffy from being so well cared for. Even his “crow” was pleasant. I was smitten but had to refrain from purchasing because I have three large dogs and a large back yard that floods and has standing water half the year. I could train the dogs, but I can’t stop the rain. Thanks for sharing……

    Like

  24. May 29, 2009 at 2:03 AM #

    Oops, noticed a typo after my post. should read, You have such…., not, You such….Doggone margarita’s! P.S. It is really 9:53 p.m. here not 1:53a.m. as the blog posts.

    Like

  25. Lyda Loehring
    June 4, 2009 at 4:07 PM #

    I think the chicks took over and haven’t learned to type as of yet. Is Mark still around or come down with Chicken Fever???????

    We want to know……

    Like

  26. June 8, 2009 at 2:09 AM #

    Mark, your lecture at the Quilter’s Unlimited show was soooooooo fun! I posted photos of it on my blog! Come over and read about it!! lovwe, Polly, a pickle member!! 🙂

    Like

  27. June 10, 2009 at 6:03 AM #

    This was my first visit to your blog- it’s funny and irreverent! I love it!

    But, sorry, the chick coming out of the egg- that was just gross. I didn’t know there was BLOOD involved. Or whatever that red stuff is… I kind of hope it’s blood. And the tendons were all purple and stringy-looking… and it just… yuck.

    It was cute after it came out though.

    Like

  28. October 30, 2010 at 7:38 AM #

    Best you should make changes to the blog subject New Family Members Mark Lipinski’s Blog to something more suited for your subject you create. I liked the blog post nevertheless.

    Like

    • October 30, 2010 at 3:48 PM #

      I don’t understand . . . these chicks ARE my family. They’re still walking all around the coop! xoxom

      Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

