Shamed into posting!

So whatdayaknow?  I’m finally back to my blogging. . .it took long enough!  My FACEBOOKING had eaten my blogging time.  If you want to know what’s going on with me, minute-by-minute, “friend” me on Facebook.  Anyway, long story short, I’ve been nagged and shamed into posting!  Here ’tis!

Things have been hectic and I’ll get into that at a later post.  All about my new magazines (all 4 of them!!!) with All American Crafts,  a couple of new Mark Lipinski Home for Northcott fabric lines, HUGE licensing news with somebunny new on the horizon (I’m crossing my fingers), QNNtv’s Quilt Out Loud stuff (with permanent co-hosts Jodie Davis and yours truly), fabulouso stuff going on about The Alliance for American Quilts,  my  travels, new products and books I’ve found and love – and bought, etc.   I’ll fill you in on all the down and dirty soon enough but . . .

I’m totally excited over this quilty thing that I’m involved with.

One is The Alliance for American Quilts.   Today, I hit my local antique shops and my own stash so that I can finally get started on my Alliance Quilt Challenge.   What?  You don’t know what I’m talking about?   Read on, cupcakes!

“Calling all quiltmakers! The Alliance for American Quilts invites you to enter “New from Old”, a contest for all ages that celebrates the past in the frame of the present.

The Grand Prize this year is a Handi Quilter HQ Sixteen Quilting Machine for Sit-Down Use! There are many other incredible prizes to entice you and the best incentive is helping the AAQ. All contest entries are a donation to the annual AAQ eBay auction. Click on This Link  —–> Visit the “New from Old” contest page for complete information and a downloadable entry form.

Now, of course, Daddy has actually sat and quilted on the Handi Quilter HQ Sixteen Quilting Machine and frankly, I like it.  I like it A LOT!  It is so worth the value and if you haven’t had a test drive on this sucker, make sure that you do!  You won’t be sorry.

Now, I know, punkin, money is tight these days and maybe the fantabulous Handi Quilter has to stay on your wish list for now , so MY suggestion is to get off your rump and create a small ‘NEW FROM OLD’ quilt for at least a chance at the prize — you gotta play to win!   So get the party started!  I know I am.

I could’ve been a contender . . .

I have no idea what I’m going to do, but I’m going to do something.   I found this ancient, falling apart, quilt and I’m trying to figure out how to cut it up and redesign it to use in my piece.  I just know there is something in here somewhere.

It really is in crappy shape, as you can see — so I may have to deconstruct then reconstruct it for my Alliance piece if I use this suck-ah.

Then, I found these retro hand-embroidered napkins and their unfortunately stained matching table linen (also hand embroidered).  I’m batting my head against the wall trying to figure out how to use these in my “NEW FROM OLD’ piece.  The hand crocheted border alone would be worth cutting off and edging my quilt with in lieu of binding.


(Isn’t the term,  “in lieu of,” the very creepiest?  When I read it, I always think of:  “In lieu of flowers the family wishes that donations be made to the Lindsay Lohan Fund for the Narcissistically Screwed Up.”

(Of course, not even Lindsay can hold a candle to the screwiest of loose screws, Jermaine Jackson, who actually named one of his sons, “JerMajesty!”)  Wonder if anyone ever slips and calls the kid, JerHighness?  

But I digress —

These ‘kins also came with a hand embroidered (and very stained) table topper that I could cut up and use as well.

I also found this weak and tattered hand-embroidered tablecloth.  “Had to have it.  Probably won’t use it.”   That’s become my motto!

Can’t wait to hear your suggestions and your plans for what YOU”RE going to do for “NEW FROM OLD.”    Heck, maybe I’ll just photocopy my OLD mug (smooshed nose and all) and transfer the image to NEW Printable Treasures for a Mark Lipinski-esque Shroud of Turin thingamajig NEW FROM OLD.

It just SCREAMS Easter!

Get thee to the Alliance web site by clicking here to find out all you need to know about the competition.   Why shouldn’t that fab-o Handi Quilter be sitting in YOUR house?

AND . . .

How excited am I?    I just got a review copy of  my buddy Ann Hazelwood’s latest AQS book!

And guess who is one of the featured 100?   MOI, along with my Little Grandma’s Bishop Bread recipe (my childhood favorite) and a pic of one of my quilt designs!  Yummy!

Pick up a copy by clicking —–> HERE!  I’m having one sent to my Mom and Dad!

Until next time, turnips!  Happy April Fool’s Day and  keep coming back.   xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

30 Comments on “Shamed into posting!”

  1. April 1, 2010 at 11:19 PM #

    You are too much, my friend! LOL Glad you’re back!

    Like

  2. April 2, 2010 at 12:46 AM #

    I sure need those embroidery pieces for my fabric postcards. I took some and cut them up and made some cards. You can see them on http://www.welovequilting.com/blog.. BY THE WAY where did you find yours? Mine was family pieces.. I started whacking away and now you have it..

    Now about your new work. See one door closes and a multitude open up. Proud and happy for you. GREAT GOING.

    Like

    • April 2, 2010 at 1:10 AM #

      I found mine at an antique store in Clinton NJ. The owner gave me the whole kit ‘n kaboodle for, like $20-bucks, because every piece was in such bad shape. I thought it was a bargain! xoxom

      Like

  3. Jackie (aka Katy)
    April 2, 2010 at 1:57 AM #

    Thanks for blogging Mark! See all the great new information you passed along. 🙂

    Like

  4. Alice Dawson
    April 2, 2010 at 7:09 AM #

    All those stained antiques…calls out Crazy Quilt to me! Good luck!

    Like

  5. April 2, 2010 at 12:29 PM #

    Glad you are blogging! I miss your perspective on things (as in QH). Thanks for all the good info as well.

    Like

  6. April 2, 2010 at 3:23 PM #

    Mark, you’re brilliant and hilarious–you’re brillarious! Great idea to go antique shopping to get inspiration for “New from Old.” You’ve inspired me and I hope a whole bunch of your listeners will enter! Thanks so much–amy

    Like

  7. CelticRose
    April 2, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    “Shroud of Turin” + “It screams Easter” = ROTFLOL!!! Mark, you’re just too much! 🙂

    Wait, 4 magazines?!! I only counted 3 in the last post. Did you miscount, or does the news just keep getting better? 😉

    Like

  8. Kathy Cueva
    April 2, 2010 at 4:14 PM #

    I have a girlfriend that had really good luck with OxyClean and stains on very old ( well, older than I am….) embroidered tea towels. I can ask if you need me to. And I am so excited for you!

    Like

  9. April 2, 2010 at 7:02 PM #

    Mark-There is a wonderful lady named Cindy Needham who specializes into turning antique linens into works of art. BEFORE you cut up anything, talk to her and look at her work.

    Per Cindy, those stains are part of the “character of the piece.” Do not cut up or destroy those gorgeous antique linens until you have talked with Cindy. She actually teaches classes in how to turn antique linens into works of art.

    Like

    • April 2, 2010 at 7:22 PM #

      Thanks for the tip. I’m just to looked her up! She does BEEEEEUTIFUL work!

      Here’s Cindy’s web site address everybody: http://www.cindyneedham.com/home.htm

      I’m so happy we have the ‘net full of talented folks like Cindy to inspire us! xoxom

      Like

  10. Lynnell Rowe
    April 2, 2010 at 9:54 PM #

    Glad to see ya back on the blog, bud! Nel

    Like

  11. Mary Van Dijk
    April 2, 2010 at 10:41 PM #

    What a great contest! I have many old quilts and linens that I have collected/saved over the years that would be perfect. So many projects, so little time! Happy Easter!

    Like

  12. nancy
    April 3, 2010 at 12:41 AM #

    glad you are back at it… hot d! you sure make quilting fun! and how was that red velvet cake?

    Like

  13. Darlene
    April 3, 2010 at 1:42 AM #

    Loving the treasures you found. Can’t wait to see what you create for your New from Old!

    Like

  14. Fiona
    April 3, 2010 at 2:00 AM #

    Mark, welcome back!! I second the crazy quilt, but I’m prejudiced. A friend just got me addicted to making crazy quilts. The best part is shopping for old things to use for embellishment. I’ve come to LOVE estate sales, second-hand shops, and yard sales. Other peoples’ trash become beautiful treasures.

    Like

  15. Kathleen Frosch
    April 3, 2010 at 3:04 AM #

    Thank you for bringing a smile into my day.

    Like

  16. Sheri Whiteley
    April 3, 2010 at 4:59 AM #

    Hi Mark, Thank’s a million for all that you post!! I will be checking the contest out. I have several old guilts that my Aunt made one is most interesting she used all the kids PJ’s that she raised for it Most interesting was a butterfly that she made out of the fabric which you could see unless you look at it. Anyway Iam gratefully for the pics of your find she use to take the best part of thing like what you showed and sew them together as they looked and cut out no shaping them like we do now squares or what ever like a crazy quilt and used a thread that stood out as it would be black on light fabric. I love them not sure if others would but to me there beautiful. So think about that. I am very happy about all your new exciting stuff you have going on. Can’t wait to hear more all of your project. Thank you again. Sheri

    Like

  17. Monica
    April 3, 2010 at 1:33 PM #

    OMG!!!! Mark! Mark! Mark! Please don’t stop blogging! You bring such joy and laughter into my day! My husband thoroughly enjoyed the shroud of Lipinski! I love your take on things in this world. You are Laugh Out Loud Funny! I’m happy things have turned out for the best for you and will enjoy looking for your magazines and other projects!

    Like

  18. April 3, 2010 at 5:06 PM #

    That is so funny that you bring that up Mark, because I am working on the very thing. When my mother was growing up, her and her sisters had to sit down in the “parlor” while listening to the radio (as there was no TV at this time) and crochet or do embroidering on dishtowels and hand towels, hankies, etc. to put in their trousseau. I still have some of them very stained from years of storing them but I did not want to loose an important part of my mother’s memory. So I have made a Hanky Quilt. I put my mothers pic in the middle, with an old 1930’s car in the background, and sewed on some interesting pieces from all of her handiwork. When I finish quilting it I will be sure and show it to you.

    Like

  19. lorraine teel
    April 3, 2010 at 11:34 PM #

    Great to be able to visit with you in blog form! Missed you … glad you’re back!

    Like

  20. Julee Johnson-Tate
    April 4, 2010 at 6:51 AM #

    I was blessed to have a bunch of family crafts in the old cedar chest I inheirited. I shared some with a relative who appreciated them, but most are still awaiting various reincarnations, so I’m glad for this contest and to get people thinking of resurrecting pieces. Love love love the embroidered flower table cloth. Please show your finished results! See you on fb! J

    Like

  21. Lorraine Padden
    April 4, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

    Love the blog. Thanks or including the recipes. Pizza on the grill and cake!!!!

    Like

  22. Sandy Dailey
    April 4, 2010 at 11:57 PM #

    For years, before it became vogue, crafters and quilters have been actively involved in the Reduce, Re-Use, Recycle way of life. We have utilized old clothing to make quilts, found a multitude of ways to create a work of art from an old light bulb (milk carton, cardboard box, etc). So the idea of creating something new from something old is second nature.

    Like

  23. April 6, 2010 at 12:35 AM #

    You have some very interesting pieces I have a whole plastic bin of old pieces like those. Hmm.. maybe I should check out the old from new cahllenge. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  24. Dixie
    April 6, 2010 at 3:37 AM #

    How about taking the antique linens and making patterns available for those of us who enjoy embroidery almost as much as quilting? Especially the basket one. Try tea dying the pieces to cover up the stains and then use them in your entertaining. I know your goal is to make something new out of something old but destroying vintage linens that don’t already have holes, or other MAJOR damage, just makes me cringe. I couldn’t do it. It would seem too much like murder to me. I’ve done a lot of crochet too and know how many hours it takes to make edging using that very fine thread and a tiny crochet hook. If I were dead and knew someone was cutting up my handwork I would turn over in my grave, no, actually I think I’d spin at high revolutions before leaving to haunt them, unmercifully, forever. Just a thought :-).

    Like

  25. April 7, 2010 at 1:12 PM #

    ”Had to have it. Probably won’t use it.”

    This will solve so many of my shopping dilemmas.

    Like

  26. Debbie Rouse
    April 8, 2010 at 11:36 AM #

    I’m so glad I found your blog! That OTHER magazine just isn’t the same without you. Looking forward to your new ventures!

    A big fan from South Jersey!

    Like

  27. Melody Edenloff
    April 12, 2010 at 2:21 AM #

    I have several of those old tableclothes, hand embroidered, in my closet. also old hand embroidered old pillowcases. When you figure out what to do with them let me know. Rummage sale and auction sales season is coming. can buy more!!

    Like

  28. October 30, 2010 at 7:08 PM #

    my sister loves table linens because she says that it is easier to clean than cotton ”

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

