O (bama) O (prah) O (+ or -) or A

Hey, cupcakes!

Thank you all for the outpouring of support and love.  It brought me to tears (. . .and that don’t happen often, sis-tah).

I spoke with Tom, my transplant coordinator today and

. . .this is what I need from a potential kidney donor:

I need a kidney from someone with an O blood type (O Positive  O+ or  O Negative  O-)

or an A blood type with the “sub type” #2. (whatever the heck that means).

So whatdayathink?   Got a kidney to spare?

xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

97 Comments on “O (bama) O (prah) O (+ or -) or A”

  1. April 20, 2010 at 9:09 PM #

    I’m A-, but are cross border transplants allowed?

    Like

    • ckcowl
      April 20, 2010 at 11:05 PM #

      oh, wish i could help…unfortunatly i’m a B+, so pretty worthless to you (except of course my positive energy i’m sending to you)
      keep your chin up, there will be a match for you…we plan on keeping you around for a long time yet!!!

      Like

  2. Amy
    April 20, 2010 at 9:16 PM #

    I’m A+ in Central Missouri.

    Like

  3. Bruce Bennett
    April 20, 2010 at 9:17 PM #

    Mark,

    Sorry to hear this….I rarely visit your blog, but today decided to. What I would also post on your profile is how one gets tested to see if there is compatability. I don’t even know how to even do this. If I knew, I would at least see.

    Hopefully something will turn up for you in your situation. Good luck and keep your spirits up. You are doing actually quite well seeing the postings.

    Bruce

    Like

    • Bruce Bennett
      April 20, 2010 at 10:10 PM #

      I even called my Doctor’s office and they were way lame. I asked if there is anything in my file that denotes what blood type I am and she was like nooooooo, you probably need to go to a blook bank and get tested. I just do not understand this hi tech age where you should be able to get at this information in your main doctor’s office. REDONCULOUS.

      Good luck again…just wanted to let you know I am still trying to find out what my blood type is….lol. You think it would be easy in 2010.

      Like

      • Karen Butler
        April 21, 2010 at 5:34 AM #

        Donate blood through Red Cross or your local blood bank, and they will send you a card with your blood type. But it will only indicate A,B,O,AB; (+) or (-); and if you are CMV (-) [which means your blood can be given to newborns]. To find out a subtype you need a hospital blood bank to test you.

        Like

    • April 20, 2010 at 11:13 PM #

      I don’t know. First it’s a blood type thing. Then a few more tests . . . I’ll keep on posting! xoxom

      Like

      • Candace
        May 17, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

        Mark, I’m an O- healthy and wondering how this whole donor thing happens. (What is a kidney worth?) LOL

        Like

  4. BethG
    April 20, 2010 at 9:20 PM #

    A- in Michigan … what the heck is “sub type” #2?

    Like

  5. April 20, 2010 at 9:20 PM #

    Hoping and praying that you get a donor. You are such a warm and giving person I feel confident that you are going to find a person to give back to you.

    Like

  6. Melissa
    April 20, 2010 at 9:20 PM #

    I am an A- in Kauai (and spend a lot of time in California). Anything I have is yours !

    Like

  7. Jamie
    April 20, 2010 at 9:20 PM #

    Sorry, type AB+ (3rd rarest blood type in the world, apparently). Thinking happy, healthy, transplant thoughts for you!

    Like

  8. Marlene
    April 20, 2010 at 9:33 PM #

    A friend of mine had to have a kidney transplant and what she finally ended up by doing is a kidney swap. She and her boyfriend were on the Drs. show last month talking about the process. I believe the swapping process started with a doctor at John Hopkins in Baltimore. I’m sure you probably know all about the kidney swapping but just in case you didn’t I wanted to let you know about it. The way it works is amazing – If Jeff is willing to donate a kidney (even if it doesn’t match yours) then someone else who needs Jeff’s kidney gets that one and you get one from someone who you don’t even know.

    Like

    • Jackie (aka Katy)
      April 21, 2010 at 12:18 AM #

      I’d be happy to be part of a kidney swap. My blood type is B+ and I’m on the bone marrow donor registry. Find someone who has what you need….. and I can be part of the swap!

      Like

      • Celeste
        April 23, 2010 at 7:20 PM #

        Same here–also B+ and in the bone marrow donor registry. Plus my employer supports donors by giving a full six weeks recovery fully paid, no need to go on partial pay. I wonder if this is an option for you to be in a swap?

        Like

  9. Sally
    April 20, 2010 at 9:34 PM #

    Mark…there are times if you have a donor that doesn’t match you…they’ll check and find someone that matches your donor, and vice versa…doing a multiple transplant using all. Your co-ordinator can give you info on this.

    Like

  10. Julie Barkley
    April 20, 2010 at 9:37 PM #

    I am an o positive ! I’d give you one of mine!

    Like

  11. Diana
    April 20, 2010 at 10:09 PM #

    A+ here. I got two and willing to share!

    Like

  12. April 20, 2010 at 10:10 PM #

    SO sorry I’m a B-. I’d help in a heartbeat. Hugs and prayers for the best kidney possible. ♥

    Like

  13. April 20, 2010 at 10:11 PM #

    I LOVE to but only have ONE left myself even tho I am “O” negative….hope someone comes forward for you Mark, I feel for you!

    Like

  14. Sue
    April 20, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    Mark, really wish I could help, but I’m an AB+. A kidney would so be a small price to pay forall the joy, laughter, and knowledge you’ve brought to my life. Wishing you all the best, and sending good thoughts and prayers your way. If any good comes of this, it’s that people are talking about organ donations, and hopefully will sign up, and talk it over with their loved ones. I have, along with bone marrow, and donating blood. Hope to see you in Calgary next week, IF I’m not working!

    Like

  15. Cheri
    April 20, 2010 at 10:40 PM #

    O neg in Mississippi. What do you need to do to see if your compatible?

    Like

  16. Carrie Mc W
    April 20, 2010 at 10:51 PM #

    I’m O neg but in California- put me on your long list.

    Like

  17. jeanine
    April 20, 2010 at 10:59 PM #

    I am burning candles, and sending white light.

    Like

  18. Joyce
    April 20, 2010 at 11:11 PM #

    Prayers for you to recieve a new kidney fast! and for a quick recovery too. I wish I could be of help but have had one kidney surgery at 18 and it relapsed after the birth of my children, so none to spare. Lots of love, hugs and prayer going your way. A Canadian friend!

    Like

  19. Dianne
    April 20, 2010 at 11:50 PM #

    Hmmmm. I’m A+ but have no idea about the “sub type” #2. I thought an O could only get from an O. If there’s even a remote chance that I could help, let me know. Not saying positively that I would donate, but I’d definitely consider it (seriously). In the meantime, prayers and positive healing thoughts are being sent from me to you!

    Hugz Mark!

    di

    Like

  20. Jenny Baker
    April 20, 2010 at 11:50 PM #

    Dearest Mark,
    So much has happened in a week!! I can only send you love, but lots of it. My husband’s family suffers with the same affliction and I may need my spare for my son or daughter, who are both A- like me. My SIL is very sick with it at the moment. Love to you and your boys xxoo
    Jenny B Australia

    Like

  21. Julee Johnson-Tate
    April 20, 2010 at 11:56 PM #

    OMG!!!! Honey, I’m so sorry you’re not doing well!! Let us know in the loop and we’ll sure be sending prayers and good thoughts your way!!!! Take care of yourself and keep us informed! J

    Like

  22. Liz
    April 21, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    Hey Mark…I’m O+ and not THAT far away from you (Connecticut). I’ve got a spare kidney. Drop me a line if you want some help and we can talk.

    Like

  23. April 21, 2010 at 1:11 AM #

    I’m actually O+, but I’m also in Australia! (and possibly pregnant too…..)

    Like

  24. Mary
    April 21, 2010 at 1:15 AM #

    With every stitch I take I’ll saying a little prayer for you, Evan & Jeff. I’m A+ but I lived in the UK back in the late 80’s. I can’t even donate blood because of the “mad cow dz”. Luv you lots.

    Like

    • Claudia
      April 21, 2010 at 3:31 PM #

      Isn’t that silly? I feel your pain! I lived in Africa in the mid 1990’s, and although I would love to donate blood, or be on the donation registers, I can’t. (AIDS). With all the other testing that gets done with a transplant, you’d think they could administer a simple AIDS test to make sure that I’m clear. Mark – I’m sending all the yummy happy thoughts I can your way. I’m stopping by the church tonight, so I’ll light a candle for you, and Jeff and Evan too!

      Like

  25. Lisa
    April 21, 2010 at 1:49 AM #

    Mark- Just wanted to let you know you are in my thoughts and prayers. I know for a fact transplants do work!!! My son had a liver transplant at the age of 3 and will be 21 and in excellant health in a few weeks. I know many recipients who have lived many years post transplant and lead fulll lives. If you need a little inspiration (like you would LOL) go to the web site for the Transplant Games. It an olympic style setting held every 2 years. This year the athletes will be competing in Madison Wisconsin. Unfortunately due to his job my son won’t be copeteing this year but we will be there in 2012. Hopefully you will have had your transplant by then and will be on a team! Maybe needle threading or rotary cutting could be new events!!!

    Like

  26. April 21, 2010 at 2:00 AM #

    I’m O-, healthy, in So. Cal. And for you, definitely willing. Just let me know.
    Hugs,

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

    Like

  27. Susan
    April 21, 2010 at 2:02 AM #

    O+, willing to donate a kidney to you. All you had to do was ask!!!

    Like

  28. April 21, 2010 at 2:29 AM #

    Type O and willing to be tested. Just let me know how and where and I am there.

    Like

  29. Sheila
    April 21, 2010 at 3:13 AM #

    I’m O-
    Let us know how to get tested.

    Like

  30. April 21, 2010 at 4:12 AM #

    Sending positive, healthy thoughts your way!

    Like

  31. April 21, 2010 at 4:35 AM #

    OMG ! Mark my heart goes out to you and your family for having the rug pulled out from beneath you. Stay positive even though you are O –
    I will add you to my prayers. Hugs to you all, I’m sure a shiny new kidney will come your way.

    Like

  32. Jennifer in WA
    April 21, 2010 at 6:39 AM #

    Mark, I so wish I could help – right blood type (APOS), but previous cancer means you wouldn’t want mine anyhow. darn it all. 😦

    Stay strong. You have sooooo many people out here who care about you, and we quilters, we’re a pretty thick group. We take care of our own. Let us know how we can help when you get the information.

    I did find a great link about becoming a living donor. http://www.transplantliving.org/livingdonation/livingdonor/default.aspx

    xoxoxo-j (sorry to steal your TM, but it’s time for you to get lovin’ payback)

    Like

  33. Betty
    April 21, 2010 at 9:37 AM #

    Hey Sweetie! I am very available–and so is my kidney!! I am 0+ (per the blood bank where I donate). No family to have to consider. In pretty good health and am willing to talk!

    Like

  34. Sue George
    April 21, 2010 at 11:15 AM #

    Hey Mark, Sending good thoughts and positive prayers at ya! I see from the posts that you have OFFERS!!! How exciting. I KNEW there were SPECIAL people all around you. Some you know, most you don’t. We all care about you and will keep following your posts. Hope one of those offers from this post will be the positive outcome you’re seeking. Thinking of you! xoxoxs

    Like

  35. Jan
    April 21, 2010 at 1:22 PM #

    Hey Mark,
    Very touching to see so many people wanting to help. I’ve never met you , but feel as though i know you from the quilting world .:) I have RhA- blood type, and 2 ( healthy, as far as i know) kidney’s
    Quilter willing to share 🙂
    Jan

    Like

  36. Marilyn Kingsley
    April 21, 2010 at 1:56 PM #

    Hi Mark, I’m so sorry to hear that you are having to deal with such a serious issue. You have brought such joy to my life. I really appreciate your upbeat sense of humor and all the quilty stuff too. Thanks for all you do and super good luck in your quest for a kidney and good health.

    Like

  37. April 21, 2010 at 2:24 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    I’m O- and in Orange County, NY-not that far from you. Let me know what has to be done for compatibility.

    Like

  38. Kathe Navarro
    April 21, 2010 at 2:37 PM #

    A+ in WA! B positive and your halfway there. I have a kidney to spare!!! Prayers are with you Mark. Will find out about the subgroup thing. Got a good friend that is a doctor. Will have her check. Blessings to you and your family. We need you healthy ’cause I have not yet been able to attend one of your classes and it is on my wishlist. So this is for you, but also for all of us Mark “Groupies” Love ya!!!

    Like

  39. Kathy S
    April 21, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

    Hi Mark,

    Since reading your shocking news you just keep popping into my thoughts. You will be a survivor. I have friends on their second trasnplants living wonderful full lives. Prayers winging their way to heaven for you and yours until your are well.

    Like

  40. April 21, 2010 at 6:08 PM #

    Mark,
    I’m so sorry to hear that you have this to deal with. My prayers are that a kidney is found for you soon, and that you and Jeff and Evan can somehow find peace in this process. I know from experience that being family of the patient can be as devastating as being the patient. Be positive, bask in the love being sent your way, and don’t be too proud to accept any offers of tangible help that come your way. (This goes for Jeff and Evan, also!!!!) With love, Shannon

    Like

  41. April 21, 2010 at 11:50 PM #

    I’m not a match (I’m also an AB+), but it really does my heart good to see folks here willing to help you out. You are such a treasure, Mark. You’ve certainly brightened my day a time or two and I hope all will go well for you. Take care of yourself until you can arrange that transplant! Kisses!

    Like

  42. Barb
    April 22, 2010 at 12:48 AM #

    Oh, wow…what a bummer…however, I’m O pos – in WA state…put me on the list if needed! I’m sure with your network someone will be compatible!!!

    Like

  43. April 22, 2010 at 12:59 AM #

    Mark, I just know that a guy like you is destined to live and thrive for a whole lot longer! Just look at the outpouring of love you are getting–I hope you are sharing this with Evan and it will help him cope to see how many people love his dad and want to keep him healthy.

    Like

  44. JoAn godfrey
    April 22, 2010 at 2:55 AM #

    i am o+, but no one wants mine. i had hepatitis before the vaccines came out when i worked in dialysis. not infectious, just have antibodies against it.

    Like

  45. Shari
    April 22, 2010 at 3:16 AM #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your illness Mark but I just know you are destined to beat this! I’ll be praying for you and a donor.

    I’m O- but I’m older (you notice I didn’t say old!) and I’ve had both Osteomyelitis and MRSA so I don’t know if I would be able to help. I live in NV and hopefully will get to meet you in your mystery class at the Quilt Expo in June. Maybe you can give me an update then.

    Love ya!

    Like

  46. Penny Wolf
    April 22, 2010 at 4:00 PM #

    I am so touched and relieved to see the support you are recieving. You are in my prayers strongly! The world is still in need of your joy. You will be made well.
    Lori (Pheil) found you recently and shared the info with me and we have been keeping an eye on you. Let me just say I know there is an Italian behind that name and beautiful red hair and what are you doing using a cake mix?

    a blast from your AIP past, Pen Thom

    Like

  47. Ann
    April 22, 2010 at 9:36 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    You’re in my thoughts and prayers! Best of luck in your journey. Keep us posted. Sorry to say my kidneys are the wrong “flavor” for you.

    Thanks for the steak and kidney pie recipe. It made me rofl. 😀

    Ann

    Like

  48. Lee Ann
    April 23, 2010 at 8:04 PM #

    Mark, Please know that you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers! I am sending good Karma and positive thoughts your way! I live in the interior of Alaska and in our small community know two that have had to have kidney transplants, one small child and one adult. The adult had the same kidney disease you have, he got a kidney recently from a lady at his car dealership! Just keep telling people and spreading the word! I wish I could help but am a B+. So my help will be in the form of lots of prayers for you and yours!

    Like

  49. Carol
    April 23, 2010 at 9:35 PM #

    Oh Mark, my thoughts and prayers are with you for a speeding replacement kidney!! I am O+ as well, but in Canada. For someone who has made us laugh and smile there has got to be help out there for ya! Chin up – HUGS!!

    Like

  50. Aileen Bergado
    April 23, 2010 at 10:38 PM #

    I’m A+ from the Aloha State….not sure if I’m a subtype 2 but I’m a donor at our local blood bank (platelets) so I can ask how I can find out. I have 2 healthy kidneys so you are welcome to have one if it’s a match.

    Like

  51. Karen Cassidy
    April 23, 2010 at 11:35 PM #

    Hi Mark! I will be keeping you & your family in my thoughts & prayers. (I know I don’t pray enough, but I will for you) Keep positive, we will find a donor. xoxo

    Like

  52. Yvonne
    April 23, 2010 at 11:54 PM #

    A+ here, in the Pacific NW, but no clue about my “subtype.” Seems to me I have a spare kidney lyin’ around… 😉

    Like

  53. Kristi
    April 24, 2010 at 9:25 PM #

    Wow….I am not a match, but I do know that having all antibodies match will be a plus for compatibility (there are about 24 of these). The A group mentioned is almost like a non-A and is very rare (most like a very weak A when we do the testing in the blood bank). Fortunately O is common….YAY! Hoping this goes quickly and we hear great news soon!

    Like

  54. Donna Rogers
    April 25, 2010 at 4:24 PM #

    O+ here in Virginia, have donated blood to the American Red Cross 4 times, so I know that they love my blood. Let me know. You are in my prayers, Mark. Keep making us laugh, and you keep smiling. We love you right back.

    Like

  55. Dara
    April 26, 2010 at 1:56 AM #

    I’m O+. While I’ve grown attached to my kidneys, I imagine I can share. Let me know if I can help even though I’m in California.

    Like

  56. Leila
    April 27, 2010 at 12:52 AM #

    Hey Mark, I’m not your blood type nor am I medically a sound donor but what I can do is send you some healing Reiki energy. I hope the energy helps give you some strength and energy while the hunt is on. Stay positive! You’ve got to many of us rooting for you for! Big hugs and lots of energy.

    Like

  57. Gail
    April 27, 2010 at 2:54 AM #

    From Elaine’s Quilt Block in Salt Lake City…Will keep you in my prayers. While I’m A+, I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, so would not be a good match. I’ll spread the word around here.

    Like

  58. Aune Mattila
    April 27, 2010 at 8:08 AM #

    Dear Mark, the only thing I can say is I hope everything goes well. Promise to pray for you. I`m living far from you, in FINLAND. Warm quilty hugs: Aune Mattila

    Like

  59. Karen
    April 27, 2010 at 1:40 PM #

    I am A+ and would like to get tested, is there a national data base for kidney transplants? The research and meds have come a long way in the last 25 years since my mother was on the list. She was an O- and A’s weren’t even considered. Please consider putting out the call for everyone to sign their drivers license and talk with their families about being a donor. I am glad to here that you are trying to stay as active as you are able. Your attitude will make all the difference! My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family, you will beat this!

    Like

  60. April 27, 2010 at 3:00 PM #

    My thoughts and prayers are with you. I lost a kidney to cancer 5 years ago, and unfortunately need the one I have left! What you are going through is my greatest fear. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers that everything goes well. God Bless, Mark!

    Like

  61. Debbie
    April 27, 2010 at 7:57 PM #

    Mark, you, Jeff and Evan will be in my prayers daily, I don’t know what blood type I am, but my health is questionable at this point. My love and prayers will be with you and your family. You have given so much love and laughter, that your fight is ours. Debbie

    Like

  62. Linda K
    April 28, 2010 at 1:22 AM #

    Sorry can’t help with the kidney, long,long family history of renal cancer…but if you need an assfat transplant, I’m your girl! Just say the word and it’s yours.
    Seriously best of luck with your donor search and rapid recovery.

    Like

  63. April 28, 2010 at 5:43 AM #

    Oh Mark, so many people love you! I’m praying for you and your family. I just know you’ll have a wonderful outcome because the world needs Mark Lipinski around (and I don’t mean that attorney guy). 😉 Now I’m off to beg a kidney off of my hubby (he’s O+).

    Like

  64. MARY
    April 28, 2010 at 11:33 AM #

    MARK,
    BESIDES KEEPING YOU AND YOURS IN MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS, I AM OFFERING YOU UP A KIDNEY OUT OF MY “STASH”. I AM O POSITIVE, HEALTHY,DISEASE AND DRUG FREE. I GIVE IT UP REGULARLY TO THE RED CROSS SO I FIGURE IT MUST BE GOOD. KEEP THE FAITH SWEETY, GOOD THINGS WILL COME YOUR WAY. LOTS OF LOVE TO JEFF, EVAN, AND OF COURSE YOUR FOUR FOOTED POSSE.

    Like

  65. Kathy
    April 28, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

    Am 0+ here in CT. Would be willing if they’re willing to take someone on methotrexade. Mark, know that prayers and love are being sent to you and your family…babe, you’re going to get through this!!! God bless you! Kathy

    Like

  66. Susan
    April 28, 2010 at 7:36 PM #

    I’m O- and ready and willing. I’ll check out the website for further testing. I’m healthy but a little oldish 60 – does that matter alot? I’m also in the Pacific Northwest – but what’s distance these days? You are going to be fine! With all the love, support, prayers, not to mention the multitudes of kidneys coming your way, you have many, many, many, more years to share your laugher with the world. Evan, all us grandmas are sending you love and warmth and comfort and hugs and love. It’s going to be alright – really. Your daddy is in good hands.

    Like

  67. Sharon aka Sam
    April 28, 2010 at 10:46 PM #

    Mark – You have so many friends I’m sure things will work out for you. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Jeff and Evan will take good care of you.
    XOXOXO

    Like

  68. Gale
    April 28, 2010 at 10:59 PM #

    Dude! I’m O+ with a spare kidney (& I ain’t talkin’ beans, here!) You’re welcome to my extra. Seriously. I just hope you can deal with the 3:00 pee wake-up every night!

    Seriously. You can have my spare. Just let me know what I need to do to get tested for compatability.

    Like

  69. April 29, 2010 at 5:44 AM #

    Oh how I wished I was O right now. Anything else I can do, count on me.

    Like

  70. Deb C
    April 29, 2010 at 4:36 PM #

    Wow Mark. All these people offering up their body parts–that’s amazing! I am O+. I don’t know anything about the process of finding out about donor-transplant, but am willing to give it a go. It has been something I’ve always wanted to do if given the chance. How do you feel about having a woman’s body part inside you? PS As an added bonus, I can hold my pee all day if I need to.

    Like

  71. April 30, 2010 at 1:22 AM #

    Just reading about your situation. I am sending all my thoughts and prayers your way for a compatible donor! I am sure that you will find one and that you will carry on… We all want a happy outcome for you and all your loved ones. Sending all my best! Lots of hugs.

    Like

  72. April 30, 2010 at 1:05 PM #

    Dear Mark:

    I thought of you this morning when I heard on the news and in the paper that a donor just walked into DHMC to donate a kidney – just because. I hope someone is as generous as he was.

    I have added the link to the post.

    denise

    Like

  73. June
    May 2, 2010 at 2:23 AM #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your need for a new kidney. That stinks. I am an A- but not a candidate as a donor as I have sarcoma. So I can sort of empathize with how you must have felt when you got your diagnosis. You have a positive attitude, a great sense of humor, so I hope that helps you maintain your health until transplant day comes. With all the prayers from yur fans, friends, and family I hope the Man upstairs is convinced to say yes and you’ll get your kidney. Praying for the best for you. June

    Like

  74. Tama
    May 2, 2010 at 2:55 AM #

    Wow – I am a bit late to the game but knew something was up. You know, I have no idea what my blood type is! How did that happen?

    I know a kidney will come to you and you’ll be fine. I have been a bad pal, and not keeping up, but I do keep at least part of an eye on your doings, and you will be in my thoughts and I will send healing white light your way.

    Tama
    xoxoxxo

    Like

  75. Laurie
    May 2, 2010 at 3:31 AM #

    I’m O+, but I need both of mine. Renal failure secondary to diabetes is in my genes. It got my dad, but not til he was 87! I’m counting on you to beat his record. You are one of the few people who makes me laugh out loud. My thoughts and prayers are with you.
    -a cupcake from Chicago, Laurie

    Like

  76. Summerset
    May 2, 2010 at 10:07 AM #

    I just found out – a bit late to the party. I am sorry you are dealing with this, but grateful that you found out before you got past the point of a transplant. I’m an O+ and live in NH, so you’ve got another one to add to your list. You may or may not remember me – I wore the yellow ensemble with the wild bright flowers at the MQX fashion show. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  77. Terri
    May 2, 2010 at 10:39 AM #

    Can’t donate a kidney…but I can put your name on a list to have thousands of gay Christians all over the world praying for you—-consider that done, and keep us posted!!!!!

    Like

  78. May 2, 2010 at 12:30 PM #

    I was a kidney donor a couple of years ago. Let me speak to all potential donors: it’s a piece of cupcake! Lots of upfront testing, which is all completely covered by the recipient’s insurance, so no probs there, and you get to find out how healthy you are for free! The operation is a breeze and people dote on you for weeks! You miss about a month of work – oh, how sad. There’s a transplant center in all major cities – walk in and sign up. There’s no risk in getting tested, and you may match someone else on their list and how great would that be!

    Like

    • May 2, 2010 at 2:59 PM #

      If any potential donors has any questions about the process, please e-mail me – I’ll answer any questions I can.

      Like

  79. Chris
    May 2, 2010 at 10:34 PM #

    I’m O+ and have donated gallons of blood and platelets, wherever we were stationed with the Army. My appendix is probably still in CT, my gallbladder is in MD, and various other unnecessary internal organs are in other states, being useless in jars or something.

    As I have two healthy kidneys and no permanent attachment to them (says so on my driver’s license!), you are welcome to a kidney. The thought of it’s excision being useful this time instead of just hazardous waste is terrific. My kidney would get to go to soooo many more fabulous quilt shows and cool-sounding parties with you than it ever does with me .

    Let us know who to call or send blood to or however this process works!
    Chris

    Like

  80. Deb Goff
    May 3, 2010 at 2:30 AM #

    Mark,
    I am O- and would give you one in a heartbeat but I have a daughter that was diagnosed as a juvenile diabetic when she was 21. So I feel I need to hang on to my parts just in case , God forbid. But I can donate as much blood and platlettes as you need thru the Red Cross. Just let me know if there is the need and I can have them send it from here in Missouri. God Bless and trust in Him.

    Like

  81. nicole coppersmith
    May 3, 2010 at 2:02 PM #

    I posted somewhere I am o+ and willing to give you a kidney. I’m in IN,47

    Nicki

    Like

  82. Diana Burns
    May 6, 2010 at 2:47 PM #

    Hey Good Lookin’ –

    O+ here in California, and if you want it and it is a match, I have a kidney available….what a sneaky way to get you back to California (he,he,he).
    Love ya lots and am keeping you in my heart and prayers.

    Like

  83. Kim
    May 29, 2010 at 10:05 PM #

    Mark, I wish I could help! Wrong blood type and other health factors eliminate me as a donor for you. Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers. Hope to read, SOON, on your blog that you have found the perfect donor and both are doing well!

    Like

  84. Jay
    April 15, 2011 at 1:03 AM #

    Hi Mark,

    As Sally (#9) said above, if you have a willing donor like a family member or very close friend, you should ask about being part of an exchange registry. Currently the largest is the NKR (KidneyRegistry.org), but I believe you can sign up with multiple registries. You may even be part of a “chain” that helps many others in your situation as well.

    Please write about this on your blog, as not all transplant candidates know about exchanges.

    Best,
    Jay

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

