Book Review: Polka Dot Christmas

Hey, cupcakes!

Here’s another book review.

This time I’m reviewing  an All American Crafts book by Sue Harvey and Sandy Boobar called . . .

POLKA DOT CHRISTMAS; FESTIVE QUILTS WITH FUN FINISHING EDGES!

Take a look at the video review and order a copy if you like . . . (I liked the book so much I’m selling them!)

WIN A BOOK!

I’ll be choosing one lucky name from MARK LIPINSKI’S FAN PAGE on Facebook (www.facebook.com) on Saturday, August 21.  The lucky person whose name is chosen will win a copy of the book — so get over there and join!   xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

17 Comments on “Book Review: Polka Dot Christmas”

  1. August 18, 2010 at 2:20 AM #

    Awesome book, Mark! thanks for the givaway!! Polly

    Like

  2. Tim Ducharme
    August 18, 2010 at 2:20 AM #

    Love your reviews (and your give-aways, too)!

    Like

  3. MChucky
    August 18, 2010 at 2:31 AM #

    Great review on what sounds like an interesting book… I like the music better this time around, too. Sadly, I do not FB, so I am out of the running for the freebie.

    Like

  4. Cynthia
    August 18, 2010 at 2:34 AM #

    Am not on Facebook so have to comment here. Interesting book…..like the use of “different” Christmas colours! Lime green has so much more life to it than the usual dark green.

    Like

  5. Maggie
    August 18, 2010 at 2:37 AM #

    Not fair…facebook sucks! Had a closed account hacked. Requiring your posse to join facebook is not fair.

    Like

  6. Theresa
    August 18, 2010 at 2:40 AM #

    wow, great review, sold me on adding this to my collection! See you on facebook!

    Like

  7. Peggy
    August 18, 2010 at 3:11 AM #

    Hey Mark you look great. Have you lost some weight? I am like the others above with not doing facebook, but I still love hearing your truthful reviews of the books. Maybe someday down the road I will send you one!!

    Like

  8. Sarah Daneke
    August 18, 2010 at 7:43 AM #

    Love the edges on the quilts. Hopefully this will teach me to do prairie points and scalloped edges. I have done the cover piece in your Katmandu fabrics, twice. It is a quick and easy project. Thanks for the reviews, it makes choosing a new book so much easier.

    Sarah

    Like

  9. Debbie L
    August 18, 2010 at 9:46 AM #

    Hi Mark, I too have had issues with facebook, lucky me got a creeper. Anyway, Love thebook review, will be buying this book. Please, keep giving more reviews here as well. I hope your health is fine. Have not heard how you are doing. Debbie

    Like

  10. Mary Ellen Zeitz
    August 18, 2010 at 2:08 PM #

    Hi Mark – Enjoyed your review of Polka Dot Christmas; I’ll be adding this book to my library as I’m always looking for different/unusual finishing edges. Thanks.

    Like

  11. Barbara
    August 18, 2010 at 8:43 PM #

    Thank you for the good review! I love funky edges on
    quilts and runners. Now I need to pull out all that
    Christmas stash!

    Like

  12. August 18, 2010 at 10:46 PM #

    Another great review and another book on my wish list! It’s so great to be able to virtually flip pages with you!

    Like

  13. Martha Calderwood
    August 21, 2010 at 6:57 PM #

    What a great idea to do video book reviews. And because you do not LOOOOOOOVE every single thing in each book, I trust you more! Thanks. (I’ll add my negative Face Book vote, too.) So it’s especially good to have you updating your blog occasionally.

    Like

  14. Nancy Dinicola
    August 25, 2010 at 12:45 PM #

    Stumbled upon your site, Mark – interesting! Just wondering if Martha Calderwood was formerly of Summit, NJ? If so, we may be acquantences. Thanks, Nancy Dinicola

    Like

  15. Linda
    August 27, 2010 at 8:01 PM #

    I’ve been wondering about your quest for a kidney donor and how you are doing. But add me as a Face Book non-joiner! Had pad of new checks missing from my order (& evidently included in someone else’s order box), followed by collectors’ calls re checks I never wrote, had to file police report & close acct….& credit card counterfeited while laid up w/broken leg – again police report & close account (the dishonest person had hey-day in Florida–what w/spa visits, designer clothes & jewelry,pizza orders large enough to feed college football team!), I try to keep online info to minimum. Love your honesty in the book reviews…going to order this one!

    Like

  16. September 1, 2010 at 2:57 PM #

    Great review! I have to get this one. This is one of the few books where I can easily visualize the patterns in other colors. That scalloped edge looks particularly scary though. I might try that little candle mat first.

    Like

  17. October 31, 2010 at 9:53 AM #

    it is a good idea to look for book reviews first before buying an expensive book “

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

