Creative Mojo, March 23, 2011

Listen to a re-broadcast of all of my shows by CLICKING HERE.

You can also subscribe to Creative Mojo at iTunes.com

HERE’S WHAT’S ON

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Just log onto www.toginet.com

for a brand new, LIVE, 2-hour

Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski!

3 pm -5 pm EST    2 pm – 4 pm CST

1 pm – 3 pm MST    12 pm – 2 pm PST

Call into the live show with your questions or comments  for my guests

and ALWAYS win a PRIZE!

(877) 864-4869

*****************

Tweet During the Show

Now you can Tweet during the live show along with me on Twitter!  It’s easy.  Just register at Twitter.com and follow me (MarkLipinski).  You can get in on the live discussion, ask questions, make comments, and follow along during the show!  Try it.

Just type @marklipinski into the WHAT’S HAPPENING bar and I’ll get your tweets directly!

* * * * * *

My Fabulous Co-Host . . .

Meet

DEB TUCKER

of

About Deb . . .

I am an enthusiastic, obsessive quilt maker.

It all started in the summer of 1981 when I was visiting my husband to be. As we walked by a store front displaying a quilt in DeKalb, Illinois I decided that before I would be married, I would make a quilt. Well several hundred quilts later, I am still producing quilts and working hard to guide as many others as possible into the art and craft of quilt making.

In my background I have had many experiences that have helped me in my quilting career. A brief venture into Architecture while attending The Pennsylvania State University enhanced my technical drafting abilities, which aid greatly with the development of my tools for quilters. A BS degree in education from the same school provided me with the professional knowledge of how to run an informative classroom, set objectives, introduce educational material, and how to work with various skill levels . Teaching children in a public school setting for 15+ years gave me a chance to learn how to deal with many different learning styles and become flexible in a classroom situation. But most of all, my experiences in a classroom have taught me that if fun is part of the equation, learning will be the end result.

Over the years I have lived in a number of different locations. In the late 80’s, while living in Binghamton, NY I had a chance to work as the pattern editor for two fledgling quilting magazines, namely Quilting Today and Traditional Quiltworks. While living in Springfield, VT I had a chance to become involved with the Vermont Quilt Festival as a teacher and judge, the Green Mountain Quilters (Vermont’s state quilt guild)as president, and Fletcher Farm School for the Arts and Crafts as summer time quilting guru. All of this involvement with quilting took place in conjunction with a full time public education, teaching career.

In 1999 my passion became my full time career. I was able to devote extended time to development of original designs and I became an expert at refining the methods and procedures that were being developed in the quilt world. Increasing machine piecing efficiency became my trademark and I conducted many classes to that end.

In 2004 while teaching several quilt camps for Threads Galore quilt shop in Rangeley, Maine, my idea for streamlining the construction of the Hunter’s Star pattern was being hatched. With the help of a number of faithful students who kept asking how could we… and why can’t we… I worked sketched the Rapid Fire Hunter’s Star ruler on a sheet of paper and headed off to make it a reality. About a year later I had a refined tool and an easy method for working with this traditionally difficult design. The next step was to apply for and receive a patent on said tool and the rest so they say is history.

I now have two different Rapid Fire Hunter’s Star rulers available as well as several other tools. All are designed to be used by quilters who would like to increase their piecing skills and proficiency. The Tucker Trimmer line of rulers are fast becoming a must have in every quilter’s tool kit and the accompanying pattern s for all of my tools continue to excite new and veteran quilters alike.

I look forward to many more years in the quilting world and hopefully many more quilts. And by the way, I am still hanging around with the same “husband to be”! So if you see us at a quilting event, please stop by and say hello.

CLICK HERE for a link to Deb’s website

Here’s a video of Deb Tucker on her EASY Hunter’s Star

* * * * * *

I’M ONE EXCITED MAN!

I am SOOOOO happy that Kathy Cano-Murillo  is going to be on Creative Mojo (I’m her biggest fan for so many reasons)

Meet

KATHY CANO-MURILLO

About Kathy . . .

Kathy Cano-Murillo is a writer and artist.

Since 1990, she has sold her handmade “Chicano Pop Art” crafts to hundreds of retailers including Bloomingdales, Target, and Hallmark.

From 2000-2008, she wrote a weekly syndicated Arizona Republic newspaper column for eight years, and has authored seven books including Crafty Chica’s Art de la Soul and Crafty Chica’s Guide to Artful Sewing.

In 2001, Kathy launched CraftyChica.com, a wildly popular web site to inspire women to brighten their lives with clever craft ideas. She had a podcast series on iTunes, a web series on LifetimeTV.com, has been profiled in The New York TimesUSA Today and NPR, and now has a Crafty Chica product line.

Kathy’s mission is to promote, celebrate and share in the Chicano craft experience. As a professional crafter, she is impressed thatLatinos make up a large part of the $31 billion craft industry. Her goal is to promote and motivate women of all backgrounds, ages and ethnicities to join in the art and craft movement.

When she isn’t creating, she writes novels. Her “Crafty Chica Novel” series debuted in March 2010 with Waking Up in the Land of Glitter (Grand Central Publishing). Her next book, Miss Scarlet’s School of Patternless Sewing comes out March 8th, 2011.

Kathy lives in Phoenix, AZ, with her husband, two kids and five Chihuahuas. Her motto for life is “Crafts, drama and glitter”.

CLICK HERE for a link to Kathy’s website

Here’s trailer for her Kathy’s new book

Take a look at some of Kathy’s books (these are just a couple . . . . of a lot!)

* * * * * *

The Right-Brain Business Plan

Meet

JENNIFER LEE

About Jennifer . . .

Ready to awaken your inner muse? Then come play with me!

I’m Jennifer Lee, founder of Artizen Coaching, and I’m a certified coach, author, artist, and yogini who believes in living life in full color.

I partner with professional women seeking more balance, meaning, and fulfillment and creative entrepreneurs launching their inspiring visions. People like YOU who crave a fresh approach to changing their lives and living their dreams.

I offer individual life and business coaching, intuitive painting and expressive arts facilitation, creative playshops, e-Courses, as well as a innovative products to spark your creativity and connect your mind, body, and soul. I’m also the author of The “Right-Brain Business Plan: A Creative, Visual Map for Success” (New World Library 2011) and I was a featured coach in the book, “The Girl’s Guide to Kicking Your Career Into Gear.”

As an experienced coach and leader, I’m known for bringing depth, wisdom, and grounded grace sprinkled with healthy, magical doses of imagination, intuition, fun, creativity, and compassion. In addition to adeptly holding sacred space, I focus on collaboration, accountability, and delivering results to help you reach your goals more quickly.

Coaching, expressive arts, and intuitive painting have helped me to boldly step into my own bigness and to peel back layers of emotion and limiting beliefs allowing me come face-to-face with my true self. Sounds like a pretty powerful process, huh? It sure is! And I’d love to guide you through this amazing experience to help you enjoy more creativity, love, authenticity, self-acceptance, and happiness in your life!

I didn’t always color outside the lines. I spent 10 years climbing the corporate ladder at companies including Accenture and Gap Inc. I grew my coaching business in my spare time but got tired of living my dream “on-the-side.” In 2006, I took the leap to pursue my passions full-time and now help others do the same.

When I’m not coaching, writing, or leading groups, I’m either painting up a storm, reading in my hammock, practicing yoga, getting crafty, indulging in a mid-day nap, or hanging with my hubby and our adorable beagle-mix.

CLICK HERE for a link to Jennifer’s website

I really like Jennifer’s new book . . .

Here’s a video of Jennifer Lee

* * * * * *

I Love Food Cheese!

Meet

LAURA WERLIN

About Laura . . .

Laura Werlin is one of the country’s foremost authorities on cheese and is the award-winning author of four books on the subject. Her most recent book, James Beard award-nominated Laura Werlin’s Cheese Essentials (Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2007), is the go-to guide for anyone with cheese questions including how to buy it, how to create successful cheese and wine pairs, how to entertain and cook with cheese, and how to store cheese.

Werlin’s other books have all been recognized with prestigious honors including the James Beard award for The All American Cheese and Wine Book, the IACP Best American Cookbook award for The New American Cheese, and the World Gourmand Award for Best Cheese Book for her classic, Great Grilled Cheese.

Laura has appeared on several television shows including The CBS Early Show, ABC7’s “View From the Bay,” NBC11’s “In Wine Country,” “Joey Altman’s Bay Café;” Sara’s Secrets and Cooking Live! with Sara Moulton on the Television Food Network, Martha Stewart Living Television, Plum TV in Aspen, Colorado, California Country, “Fox & Friends” and “Fox News Magazine,” and numerous other television and radio segments from coast to coast. She has written for national magazines including Food & Wine, Culture, Fine Cooking, Saveur, Cooking Pleasures, Country Living, Cooking Light, and Every Day With Rachael Ray.

She is an active member of the American Cheese Society, where she served on the board for six years, and is a member of the James Beard Foundation, San Francisco Professional Food Society, and the International Association of Culinary Professionals.

CLICK HERE for a link to Laura’s website

I’ll be eating a grilled cheese recipe from her book while she and I talk!

Here’s HOW TO MAKE A GRILLED CHEESE with Laura Werlin

* * * * * *

Valley of the Dolls!

Meet

PATTI MEDARIS CULEA

About Patti . . .

Patti was raised on a farm in the mid-west surrounded by creative people. An uncle was an original animator for Walt Disney. A cousin painted murals in NYC (one is still at La Guardia Airport). Both her mother and father are artists and have seen their daughter carry on the family tradition.

After high school, Patti studied art at Biola University in the Los Angeles area. While working as a fight attendant in Phoenix and in Japan she studied under various masters. After painting portraits for several years she began experimenting with fibers. Having two daughters helped her focus more on the human figure in cloth.

Patti retired from the airline industry in 1996 which has allowed more time to follow her artistic dream. Her husband is a published author. After 31 years as a TV news anchor he currently works as a Media and Communications Director for one of San Diego’s County Board of Supervisors. Both of their daughters are grown and they now have a granddaughter. See the Newsletter archives for more updates on the family.

Today, Patti combines her love of fabric and dyes by creating beautiful cloth dolls and journals. She has developed her own technique in beadwork and many of her pieces show this. In addition to the above she has a full line of cloth doll and journal patterns.

CLICK HERE for a link to Patti’s website

Patti has written many books – these are just a couple

HOW TO MAKE FABRIC DOLLS with Patti Culea

* * * * * *


On Sale NOW!

On Sale NOW!

On Sale NOW!


Quilt Out Loud is now available on DVD!

. . . Get your copy of the first season of Quilt Out Loudfrom my Mark Lipinski store by clicking on this link:  http://store.marklipinski.com!


CLICK HERE to sign up for Quilt Out Loud on QNNtv.com

A GOT MOJO? COFFEE MUG!Get the same mugs my guests and I use during the show in three fab-o colors . . .

Mojo ORANGE

Mojo TEAL

and Mojo LIME

To purchase any or all  of the Got Mojo? mugs visit the Mark Lipinski store at http://store.marklipinski.com

Here’s what’s on the newsstands!

MARK LIPINSKI’S CHRISTMAS 365

MARK LIPINSKI’S FABRIC TRENDS


Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Creative Mojo, March 23, 2011”

  1. Sue Drumheller
    April 9, 2011 at 9:52 PM #

    Just purchased the Spring 2011 issue of Fabric Trends. It is soooooo good, I am subscribing!
    Love the preview of new fabric lines, trends and profiles. Mark, you have ‘outdone’ yourself with this magazine(sorry, I am Texan). I am smitten by your line ‘Zazzle’ and the pattern you used. I want to purchase it asap. The fussy cut featuring the pottery jars is adorable! Tried to order from your website, but will just call. Any help with ordering your fabric from your website?
    Thanks from all ladies of a certain white haired age who still love to have fun!
    Mark, you are very creative.
    Just one more thing……..would love to see your little dogs again. I am always ‘Mom” to one or more, at present a Japanese Chin rescue. All quilters I know love their pets.
    Abilene (Nowheresville)
    Texas

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

