Mark on Owning Your Creativity

The most exciting part of being a creative personality is that your ideas, your results, and your creative process are uniquely your possession.    You are in charge of your vision, how it begins, how it progresses and how it is completed.  Your art is a statement that you own.

Yet how many times do you find yourself manipulating, forming and deforming, your creative vision to suit the whims of what you imagine your friends, family and public expect from you?   What makes that little insecure voice inside of you so desperate to impress other people?

To be an artist, to be a fully creative personality, let go of bogus expectations of others.  Take risks, go beyond the boundaries that you’re comfortable with, try something different, but within these directives be true to yourself.

Let’s face it, the general public, and the loved ones you are surrounded by have expectations only until they see something new and brilliant that they have never seen before or could conceive of.  As a creative, make it you goal to transport people to your inspired level and vision.  You never need to compromise or lower yourself to their expectations.  The prize only comes to you when you are true to your process, your vision and the soul of your creativity.

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

Hey Kids!    Please consider subscribing to my blog.  Just click the button on the left side of this post.  

Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder. 

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  

Have a happy week!  And do what you love!  xoxom

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: 1, Lipinski, Quilt

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Mark on Owning Your Creativity”

  1. June 13, 2011 at 2:19 AM #

    Your blog is always so encouraging. Thank you for that. You often remind me of the things I knew but forgot. It is very freeing. Thanks again!!

    Like

  2. June 13, 2011 at 4:37 AM #

    I love this post! I have always been a unique and creative person. When I was a child it was hard to be different, but now I embrace it. The unique creative differences in people make the world interesting. I love it when I see someone’s completely new idea. It is inspiring to others.

    Like

    • June 13, 2011 at 4:49 AM #

      Mark, your daily creative insights are wonderful, inspiring and always on target. xxxooo Debby

      Like

  3. June 13, 2011 at 4:59 AM #

    Words of wisdom, Head Cupcake!

    Like

  4. Ida Houston
    June 13, 2011 at 5:35 AM #

    Wow! I really needed to hear this today. I was ready to quit and throw it all away, so to speak. I think I march to a different drummer, at least just a little bit. And, yes, folks do have their own expectations for everyone else. This was a good reminder that we are in charge of our own destiny, not the destiny of others or the destiny others want for us. Thank you, Mark!

    Like

  5. TwinQuilter Jo
    June 13, 2011 at 8:51 AM #

    Think out side the box. You don’t have to conform. You are an individual.

    Like

  6. June 13, 2011 at 10:48 AM #

    Thank you Mark…very inspiring words! I really need to “let go” of trying to please other people all the time. I know I do my best work when I just focus on projects that make me happy.

    Like

  7. June 13, 2011 at 7:05 PM #

    I’ll look this one up again when I get stuck and the inner critic gets too loud!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

