Mark on Transforming Your Creativity

Every creative person gets stale no matter how highly they are esteemed, no matter how many articles they’ve been featured in, no matter how many galleries they’ve shown in, how many interviews they’ve done, or people they’ve touched.

To avoid your art and creativity from becoming as predictable as mullets at a NASCAR convention, you must reach beyond what you know and familiar with.  Experiment with something different.  Play in another playground.

If you’re creative with fabric, take a pottery class.  If you’re a glass maker, try weaving.  If you’re a knit or crochet designer, give rug hooking a whirl.  If you’re a bookmaker, try a class in watercolor.  Get my drift?

When you force your creative energy to engage in a different way of looking at things, when you change-up  the things that have creatively stimulated you in the past, by connecting with  process and techniques that are a little uncomfortable and completely out of the ordinary, your primary art will grow by leaps and bounds.   You will see old things in a new way.  The creative parts of your brain that have atrophied and gone dormant will reignite with a bright passion. You will begin to create with your medium of choice with a new and expanded purpose.

Broaden your vision.  Revolutionize your process.  Transform your art.

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  

   I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links below?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

   As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  

Make this new week one that counts!  And always do what you love! xoxom

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Mark on Transforming Your Creativity”

  1. jeanine hartman
    June 20, 2011 at 1:51 AM #

    And always do what you love!
    That’s what I tell my high school students! Thanks for the affirmation.

    Like

    • June 21, 2011 at 1:21 AM #

      There are so many other ways to go kicking and screaming through life that are much more unpleasant, aren’t there? Thanks for reading! xoxom

      Like

  2. Maggie Magee
    June 20, 2011 at 8:20 AM #

    I’m a painter and drawer that had a life long passion for quilts and fabrics. My grandmother was a quilter so I grew up around them. Went and put myself through the quilt university after retiring from survival jobs to learn from the basics on up. I’m still learning and will stay on that path and do get so pissed at people who ask “Why aren’t you painting?” This relates to painting–so many elements work the same way–color, design, composition, etc. There is so much to explore and ideas just keep on coming! What you have said is so reaffirming!

    Like

    • June 20, 2011 at 9:48 AM #

      I’m curious if you integrate, at all, the experiences of your grandmother’s quilting into your own work, be it color combinations, graphic patterns, elements of collage, etc. Thanks for commenting! xoxom

      Like

      • Maggie Magee
        June 21, 2011 at 10:14 PM #

        My grandmother was an influence in more ways than I knew until I gave it some thought–thanks to your inquiry. I remember when I was a tiny child sitting underneath her quilt frame seeing and hearing like rain her needle pop through as she rapidly quilted. I had the experience of sleeping under her warm quilts–not realizing what a treasure they were at the time. All of her work–piecework and quilting was entirely by hand. All of the pieces were of postage stamp size, except for a few. I do remember studying and memorizing later how her arrangement of pieces and color was full of surprise. There must have been a lot of thought, but spontaneity was definitely a factor. Her patterns were of the times–1930s, 40s and earlier, and do know that the Kansas City Star publications were a source since there are a lot of Trip Around the World, Wedding Ring, etc.. Her fabrics were whatever was available–leftover from dresses made for her daughters, feed sacks, etc. My quilts are very scrappy–think that is an influence from here. I use fabric as texture in the design element. At any rate, love the process and am hoping to use some of my painting in my quilts. I would like to say a lot more but think I am running out of room! Maggie Magee

        Like

  3. June 20, 2011 at 4:51 PM #

    Thanks Mark, that really what I needed to hear right now…I have been in a creative slump that I can’t seem to shake. I am going to try mixing things up a bit and see if I can wake up my muse.

    Michael

    Like

    • June 21, 2011 at 1:20 AM #

      It’s not impotant what you do but that you do something, anything, that uses a creative eye. Also, be aware that there is a difference between a real, full-blown “slump” and a recharging break, or boredom with your creative process. Try writing it out. Or just pick up a package of 8 brand new Crayolas and figure out 31 different ways to use and/or apply them. You might not only discover something about wax crayons, but about yourself, as well. Journal your progress. See what happens. xoxom

      Like

  4. Jackie
    June 20, 2011 at 7:08 PM #

    Lots of discussion and comments lately about being creatively blocked. Trying to work thru something?

    Like

    • June 21, 2011 at 1:16 AM #

      Nope, Jackie, not blocked at all here. I write what I’m feeling at the time, influenced by something or someone who inspires me, letters I get in the mail, conversations with other artists, etc. All is welll on Pickle Road. Generally my Creative Thought posts are written one to two weeks in advance of posting and are on auto upload — so even if I were blocked, that was soooo yesterday! LOL Thanks for reading. xoxom

      Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

