Putting my $$ Where my Creative Mouth Is . . .

Well, for the past several months, I have been encouraging everyone who will listen to me to motivate themselves creatively by trying new things, jumping into unfamiliar water, looking potential failure in the eye and laughing.  So I had to put my money where my mouth is . . .

Last week I actually took out all of the paints, brushes, markers and stamps I had been collecting for a ‘creative rainy day’ and started to play.  I didn’t know what I was going to do, where I was going to go, or how this was going to end up.

FIRST STEP:  I painted gesso on my notebook page with a sponge brush.   Easy enough.

THEN:   I dropped cheap acrylic color onto the page and moved it around with an old, plastic Dunkin’ Donuts Reward Card!

FINALLY:  I just played.   I drew a bluebird and colored it. I overlayed colored and white tissue paper and affixed it with Mod Podge.  I found and printed a kidney and washed watercolors over it.  I rubber stamped some words.  I “printed” with an old plastic canvas.  I drew borders.  I used an old Facebook post as my “journaling.”

Now, this is just my first attempt at Art Journaling, but the first step is the most difficult for me.    Let’s face it, it ain’t going to win a prize at the local art fair, but taking the first step was fun and exciting and I can’t wait to continue doing more.

Come and play with me.   Show me your stuff.  Let’s play and create together.  Want to carve out a day and time?  xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

19 Comments on “Putting my $$ Where my Creative Mouth Is . . .”

  1. June 22, 2011 at 4:24 AM #

    I think it’s beautiful. Really.

    Like

  2. June 22, 2011 at 4:49 AM #

    And thank goodness you aren’t forced to send it to an art fair. Art journals should be personal expressions without fear of judgement. If something turns out great and begging to be displayed, that’s just a bonus. Play without critique–just enjoy!

    Like

    • June 22, 2011 at 4:57 AM #

      Thanks for the reminder. It’s important for those creative Type-A’s and over achievers (like myself), to keep in mind that our art doesn’t have to be for everybody every time — or EVER. xoxom

      Like

  3. June 22, 2011 at 5:19 AM #

    Diving off that cliff is good for the soul! Very beautiful thoughts expressed amidst the artplay, too. Wonderful, Mark… 😉 xoxo allie

    Like

  4. June 22, 2011 at 5:21 AM #

    I have been putting off trying to get started on something similiiar. If my first attempt is half as fabulous as that, I will be one very happy girl. Thank you for the inspiration, Mark ! xox

    Like

  5. June 22, 2011 at 5:32 AM #

    It just MIGHT win a prize…..I like it!

    sao in Midlothian, VA

    Like

  6. Carol Esch
    June 22, 2011 at 5:34 AM #

    I love just jumping in………I’ve jumped into photography, pottery, monoprinting, painting, knitting, quilting and doodling and all kinds of things………whoever said it is just for YOURSELF is right……no judgments. Most of us will probably not be famous or recognized for our artwork but just the DOING of it is good for the soul…….it’s just in the process……and keeping the right side, the creative side of the brain, happy.

    Like

  7. June 22, 2011 at 9:10 AM #

    You won’t get anywhere if you don’t take that first baby step. Congrats to you! And I think journals are for the artist themselves. No need to impress anyone other than yourself.

    Like

  8. June 22, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    The “it ain’t going to win a prize” comment — well, isn’t that the judgmental side that you tell us on Creative Mojo is so destructive? And not just destructive for you. Isn’t is kind of rating it — and geez, then I think, I could not do that in a million years, so if you think your first attempt isn’t good, I don’t see how I could even try! Seriously?????

    Like

  9. Machelle
    June 22, 2011 at 5:43 PM #

    Oh what fun! I have been in such a slump,I don’t know where to begin to “snap out of it”. I have enjoyed reading these recent articles NOW it is time to get off my arse and DO something about it! Thanks for the encouragement,inspiration!!

    Like

  10. June 23, 2011 at 3:32 AM #

    I think beauty comes from the soul of the artist. it expresses what you’re feeling and thinking as you create it so it has a beauty that can’t be gotten from following someone else’s path.
    Hope you’re feeling better and are you heading to Houston this year?

    Like

  11. SGardner
    June 23, 2011 at 6:23 AM #

    Win a prize- that wasn’t the point, was it?

    Your bit inspires others, and survivors, be it cancer or other transplant recipients, could benefit from Art Journaling, not for the benefit of putting on display for others, but in the ability to express the pain and beauty that is life. If the person didn’t make it in the end, the family would have treasured PERSONAL items left behind that no other artist could recreate. Memories have a prize value all their own. God knows how I wish I had something from my brother to remember- he died at age 7- and even a childish piece would mean more than all the gold in the world to me. All of my adult life, I have mourned the brother that cancer took from me when I was only 5.

    I hope someone who works at a cancer center or children’s hospital sees your work and carries it forward, so that others can be inspired to let their inner beauty out.

    Like

  12. Maggie Magee
    June 23, 2011 at 12:20 PM #

    I’m inspired!!

    Like

  13. June 23, 2011 at 3:38 PM #

    Way to go, Mark! This is a very cool 1st step! Keep going! I can’t wait to see what happens next!

    Like

  14. AJ
    June 24, 2011 at 2:23 PM #

    Love the 1st page! Keep it up. Looking forward for the next page.I am thinking about doing one as well. Just can’t seem to get started. Maybe you can start a bi weekly “journal-along” for those of us who need a little push! 😀

    AJ

    Like

    • June 24, 2011 at 6:21 PM #

      Do it with me and post me pics! I’d love to see your work. It’s fun and there is no judgement. You just process what you feel. It’s very intuitive if you allow yourself to loosen up and let go! Can’t wait to hear you’ve taken the first step! xoxom

      Like

  15. June 24, 2011 at 3:35 PM #

    I would also encourage you to visit The Sketchbook Challenge blog, which is another great place to get inspired about doing this sort of thing: http://sketchbookchallenge.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • June 24, 2011 at 6:19 PM #

      Wow! Leslie, this is a terrific site. I have so so much to learn. It’s exciting, not terribly earth-moving, but I’m getting a kick out of it! Thank you for turning me onto this site. oxom

      Like

  16. July 21, 2011 at 4:43 AM #

    LOVE it….period. This makes me think of one of your recent Creative Mojo episodes. I had to double check the date of the blog entry! You criticized your own handwriting AFTER this journal page! Tsk, Tsk. I TOTALLY disagree! I think the handwriting is definitely part of the art here! You definately “thought of it as drawing” instead of just writing. Now if you used a computer font…..I take it all back

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

