Mark on Hitting Creative Deadlines

It is one thing to procrastinate, it’s another thing to move slowly and gently forward with your art and craftwork.

Like everyone else, creative personalities want to be responsible, understand the importance of commitment and deadlines.  Yet can you really plunk good art, fine craft, and inspired vision on the doorstep of a rigid cut-off date?

If you want to move from the realm of hobbyist to professional with your creative bad self, then you will have to adhere to, and balance the world of the creative personality and business policies and norms.

With that said, I caution you to not let go of your art, your craft, your vision, your talent until it is your perfection.   A missed deadline won’t kill you.  Careless, sloppy, rushed, uninspired, ill-conceived, and bland art will.   It will hurt your reputation and ultimately suffocate your creative spirit.   Your creative work is finished only when it is finished, not before then.  Never before then.

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  

   I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

   As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  

Have a great Thursday!  And always do what you love! xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Mark on Hitting Creative Deadlines”

  1. TwinQuilter Jo
    June 23, 2011 at 4:35 AM #

    To prevent procrastination, I set a due date, but only in pencil. I will finally finish the Simple Simon quilt I started with you several years ago. My original due date was Sept 1. But, we are doing a kitchen redo. So that my pencil due date is Oct 1. With my hope is before it gets cold, I will have my music quilt on my bed.

    Like

  2. June 23, 2011 at 4:48 AM #

    Great advice as always. I want to enter a quilt in a quilt show next Feb. and I have the design in my head, but manny other personal commitments between now & then… I must take several deep breaths and pencil in design & work time if I’m to get it done. Wish me luck.

    Like

  3. June 23, 2011 at 9:34 AM #

    I can meet creative deadlines. Or, I can meet book keeping and household deadlines. But I can’t seem to do both. Short of hiring an accountant, maid, gardner, chef, and a chauffer, do you have any suggestions for a crazy cupcake?

    Like

  4. Maggie Magee
    June 29, 2011 at 12:09 PM #

    Strange, but when I was raising kids, running a household, going to art school–managed to do very well with time management. Kids grew up, worked as a studio artist (painter) for years in New Mexico, then moved to Coastal Washington to be near family. Survival here meant having to get a regular job. Art suffered but ideas and inspiration never went away ; quilting entered the picture, but time was a factor since it was no longer all my own. After retiring (quitting) the bread-and-butter jobs, I’m older (don’t know about wiser!) and time management is something that I am trying to harness! Deadline is a strange word, but making one is sometime the best way for me to complete a piece or quilt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

