Mark on Owning Your Creative Vision

Creativity and making your art is your exclusive journey that is created within you and moves through you with the only goal being to process your vision and produce what works for youyour choices, your colors, your composition, your mood and your theme.

Does it really matter what anyone thinks of your art, what you’re producing, how often you deliver, and how it “looks?”  However nice it is to be recognized and complimented with even the simplest of acknowledgements for your work, it means absolutely nothing in the long run.  Do not create for others.  And never trust what others say they want over your own creative instincts.

Create what you love and people with find you.  Be true to your vision and your work will be discovered.  Dedicate yourself to your imagination and creative rewards will follow.

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about.  Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.  

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  Thursday is a wonderful day to own your creative vision.  And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom


SUBSCRIBE to everything MARK!

Now there are SEVERAL ways to subscribe to the daily wit and wisdom of Mark Lipinski!

  • You can subscribe to Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski podcasts, and never miss one episode, on itunes.com  How easy is that?
  • Subscribe here to notifications of Mark Lipinski’s Blog where daily motivational and creative thoughts for artists, crafters and hobbyists are posted 4 times a week — plus the goings on here, at Pickle Road!   Just click the button on the left of this screen to subscribe.
  • Head over to Twitter to follow Mark.   MarkLipinski (one word) is his Twitter name!  Just log into Twitter and Follow him.
  • Don’t forget to LIKE Mark  Facebook on Mark Lipinski’s Fan Page (I’d love to have you as a Facebook FRIEND but I’m all out of room.  Please LIKE my fan site).
  • Become a PICKLE!  in Mark’s chatroom (Quilt- and Craft- zillas need not apply).  Just go to Yahoo Groups and look for PickleRoadStudio and join in to meet and chat with some of the nicest people on the Internet! 
  • If you haven’t watched QUILT OUT LOUD you’ve been missing out.  Quilt Out Loud is a lifestyle Internet television show for quilters starring co-hosts, Mark Lipinski and Jodie Davis on http://www.qnntv.com.   CLICK HERE for more information! 

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Mark on Owning Your Creative Vision”

  1. Karen Lieberman
    July 7, 2011 at 5:35 AM #

    Thanks Mark, I need this sort of encouragement!

    Like

  2. July 7, 2011 at 9:58 AM #

    I think it is important to find one small thing to do a day. It helps increase your confidence in your own work and develop a creative habit.
    Jaye
    artquiltmaker.com/blog

    Like

  3. July 7, 2011 at 3:58 PM #

    Love the artwork and the positive inspiring words, Mark!
    I was making jewelry for several art shows and mentioned to a friend that everything was in purple, blues, greens and some reds. She survived the craft shows of the ’90s and mentioned I might want to do a few pieces with yellows and oranges, because not everyone had my tastes. I discovered I had zero orange beads when I did a piece on commission, so got some and used them in a “rainbow” necklace for me also. It’s one of my favorite pieces of all time.
    Keep it coming, sweetie! And Jaye, I agree, we should do something every day.

    Like

  4. July 8, 2011 at 10:45 AM #

    I design and make a lot of one-of-a-kind quilts. I enjoy the planning, coming up with block names and theme fabrics that reflect the personality of the recipient. I make a few quilts and wallhangings for myself as well. A couple of years ago I started choosing one of my favorite creations of the past year, printing a few dozen, and using those as Christmas cards. I just write a greeting on the back, and a short description of the quilt. It’s so me!

    I have to say that the quilts I have not enjoyed making are some that were commissioned, where the person chose the fabrics or a palette which was not mine. I went through the motions but there was no joy. There was no “me” in the pieces.

    It is so much more fun to start from zero and create for myself, using combinations that please me. I do bear in mind the recipient, but the fabrics and the design have to make “me” smile first.

    Debbie A.
    http://travelingquilter.blogspot.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

