Don’t allow not knowing how to do something to stop you from doing it!

There are times, when I sit down to start working on a new project, I not only have no idea what I’m planning to do, often times, I don’t know how to do what I’ve finally planned.   Does that stop me?  No way, Jose!

Don’t allow not knowing how to do something to stop you from doing it! 

Chances are that your first foray into encaustic painting will be a melted wax disaster, but oh, what you’ll learn!  I can imagine that trying your hand at knitting, crochet or embroidery with an online tutorial or DVD might teach you technique but not the correct tension (that’s something you learn by feeling and doing and not necessarily through instruction) — just think of the self-awareness you’ll soak up through your knotted, dropped-stitched, uneven, and wonky artistry!  While playing with recipes to make them your own might give you a cake, it may be the kind of treat only the backyard raccoons would eat — but understand the experience you will gather and don’t take what you’ll learn lightly! Stay open and aware.

Continuing to work at something you already know how to do and of which you are proficient might make you a technical expert, but jumping into some creative area that you know absolutley nothing about, and flying by the seat of your pants, will help you grow as an creative person.

Consider throwing caution to the wind this week with the way you conceive, design, and execute some imaginative project (it doesn’t need to be the new Eiffel Tower, start with one small, little thing).  It also doesn’t mean you have to spend money on any new stash (although that’s always a fun way to spend a day, it’s a waste of time you do not have and kills any expendable time you do have for your creative work), just be innovative and use things you already have.

Don’t want to stop sewing or rug hooking to try painting?  Fine.  Then try what you do best with a blindfold, or allow your least dominant hand to take the lead and see where that takes you.  Flirt with creating outside of your self-contained box and see what develops.  Yes, it may be a disaster the first, second or tenth time you try, but the creative rewards will be unimaginable and your fears of trying something creatively new and different will be laid to rest — for good!

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about.  Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.  

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  Create and laugh through this week.  And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom


SUBSCRIBE to everything MARK!

Now there are SEVERAL ways to subscribe to the daily wit and wisdom of Mark Lipinski!  Just click on any of the links on the Blog Roll on the left side of this page! 

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Don’t allow not knowing how to do something to stop you from doing it!”

  1. cindy
    July 11, 2011 at 4:37 AM #

    You are so right on this one (again!), Mark. Love the inspiration and motivation you give us!

    Like

  2. July 11, 2011 at 4:40 AM #

    Good Morning!

    I never let not knowing how to do something stop me from doing it anyway. i get into some pretty interesting situations that way. Currently, I am rebuilding/refurbishing 3 vintage sewing machines. I have the service manuals but I have this little spatial relationships issue. Frequently I feel I am reading Sanskrit. When I want to try new recipes (which I rarely follow to the letter), I invite folks over for dinner. Everyone will eat something- if only to be polite . Being in health care gives me perspective- if I make a “mistake” in my art- nobody dies so it’s all good.

    Like

  3. July 11, 2011 at 5:09 AM #

    After attempting to organize my sewing room /office yesterday (told myself I’d spend just an hour doing it, then move on to the stack of paperwork on my desk …. that hour turned into 4 !) …. anyhow, I realized I am the QUEEN of trying things I have no idea how to do !!!! (apparantly I have a little too LITTLE fear of trying something creatively new and different!) I forgot about some of the projects I’ve tried ……but that’s OK !!! Now I would love to try pottery ….. with a potter’s wheel and messy clay !!! then I want to paint it ……. maybe with my left hand only …. (I’m thinking my lack of fear of trying something creativel new and different is leaning towards a bit of adult ADD !!!!! )

    Like

  4. Pam Sherman
    July 11, 2011 at 7:32 AM #

    I love your thoughts,Mark. When I get stuck on a painting,I use my non-dominant hand. Another thing I do is STEP AWAY FROM THE CANVAS! No matter what that ‘canvas’ is. Look at your project from far away. Squint your eyes when you do this. Turn the project 90* 4 times. Maybe it looks better from a different angle. I also bring materials and tools from my other creative stashes and see how I can use them in another way. I’m glad you are trying new things and staying focused on that one thing. Do you feel the creative juices flowing easier instead of a gushing leak in all directions?

    Like

  5. Pam Sherman
    July 11, 2011 at 7:38 AM #

    Mark-
    When you try en caustic painting let me know. We can skype and probably get a lot of laughs from each other. Maybe I’ll make a Youtube video.

    Like

    • July 11, 2011 at 8:09 AM #

      Talk about disasters! LOLOL I’m game. You know I tried to buy a starter set at Dick Blick in Allentown PA last week, but they don’t carry encaustics in store. You have to order online.

      Like

  6. July 11, 2011 at 10:33 AM #

    I go to a local (ish) place and do a variety of things that I would never do at home there. I have found that I can come back and work on the same project the next time I go. I like it because there is someone there to suggest things. I have been very happy with the projects I have worked on and found that they have increased my creativity back in my workroom.

    Like

  7. July 11, 2011 at 11:11 AM #

    Exactly! Learn by doing. Even when the manual is less than useless because it is translated from the original Korean by someone with English as a third language. Like my phone. Just sayin’.
    When I was beta testing a computer system for work, I found I had a real talent for “breaking” things. The techs would ask, “How did you get it to do that?” I figure, with some paint, fabric, beads, wire and glue gun, I could really get into some trouble….

    Like

  8. July 11, 2011 at 1:13 PM #

    Can’t is a 4-letter word. How do you know you can’t do something until you’ve tried? How can you learn from your mistakes if you never make any?

    Like

  9. July 11, 2011 at 8:07 PM #

    I totally agree. Although I take it to the other extreme. I find that sometimes I get bored soon after learning how to do something. The thrill of discovering something new keeps me going.

    Like

  10. KathiD
    July 11, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

    That was actually ME in the last comment. I don’t know why my husband’s name was affixed. He is much more sane than I am.

    Like

  11. KathiD
    July 11, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    OK, I am crazy now. My comment disappeared. What I said was that I agree completely, and take it to the other extreme, in that sometimes I get bored as soon as I learn how to do something. The thrill of the new keeps me going.

    Like

  12. Pam Sherman
    July 12, 2011 at 2:52 PM #

    I found a Youtube video tutorial for en caustic painting. The artist used an electric pancake griddle to melt her waxes. I bookmarked it and will send the link. I’m going to check and compare prices for basic supplies. I’ll post here or anywhere you think I should.

    Like

  13. Sherry
    July 15, 2011 at 3:54 PM #

    My hubby loves the cartoon drawing and wants to know which hole the rabbit comes out of,and goes back into.(Bowline Knot)

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

