Show your art and develop a thick skin . . .

Never be ashamed or unsure of showing your creative work.  Yes, someone will always love it, and someone will always hate it, but it doesn’t matter — either way! Strut your creative stuff and, although it may feel uncomfortable showing your art at first, know that the more often you show your work, the easier it will become.

Now, understand that you’re not showing your quilts, rugs, paintings, art journals or whatever to brag or to garner compliments, but you should show it so that you can begin to understand both how you share your work and to realize how important that your creative pursuits be shared, the good stuff and the not-so-good stuff, in order for it to be worth anything at all. And, as a serious artist, there are other motives for sharing your creative self: You will need to both humble yourself and develop a thick rhinoceros skin as you grow from casual hobbyist to becoming technically proficient, to expert, to the creative professional level.

Free yourself of any fears you might have of criticism, praise, and B.S. that will be ultimately heaped your way once you begin to publicly share your creativity. And feel certain that it’s never about you or your art anyway.  Any action or reaction to your work is simply the projection of individual tastes and innermost feelings and judgments of those who view it.  In the end, it doesn’t matter at all and is really none of your business.

So, take a deep breath and share today.  Post photos to your blog or Facebook pages, ask your neighbor for coffee and show and talk about your work and your creative process, submit a story to a local newspaper reporter, or email one of your art or craft projects to a magazine editor or business owner.  If you don’t get the reaction you’re looking for, keep showing it until you do (because you will!  That’s how art works).

What part of your creative self will you share today?

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

TOMORROW  on Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski: Co-host is Sculptor Anthony Giancarli; Project Runway winner Jay McCarroll; Uber quilter, Nancy Mahoney; Cloth Paper Scissors online editor Cate Prato; and SOLEMATE author, Lauren Mackler on Mastering the Art of Aloneness & Transforming Your Life!   LIVE 3-5 PM EST,  on toginet.com

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about.  Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.  

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  Create and share through this week.  And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom

SUBSCRIBE to everything MARK!

Now there are SEVERAL ways to subscribe to the daily wit and wisdom of Mark Lipinski!  Just click on any of the links on the Blog Roll on the left side of this page! 

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Show your art and develop a thick skin . . .”

  1. July 12, 2011 at 6:15 AM #

    This is great! May I share it in my guild’s newsletter? Of course I’ll give you full credit for it. 8:-)

    Like

    • July 12, 2011 at 6:20 AM #

      Of course (and thank you)! Just add my blog address ()www.marklipinskisblog.wordpress.com) and let people know that by subscribing they can get a ‘creative hit’ 4 times a week! xoxom

      Like

  2. July 12, 2011 at 6:17 AM #

    Great advice!
    Show No Fear…the work is from inside your own creativity!

    Like

  3. Karen Lieberman
    July 12, 2011 at 8:15 AM #

    I think the biggest thing that holds me back is fear/insecurity. I love your posts! They’re helping me to deal with that. Thanks my friend!

    Like

  4. Maggie Magee
    July 12, 2011 at 8:42 AM #

    Great to see this blog, Mark! I went though the throes of art school in the early 1970s–and if you didn’t develop a thick skin, you didn’t survive. Critiques and criticism was heaped upon us–by fellow students, casual observers and instructors. One thing happened–you didn’t give a rip about what people thought about your work by the time you graduated. Now personally, I do like people to like me–however, what I create, is mine and mine alone. Thanks for the reassurance, dear Mark!

    Like

  5. July 12, 2011 at 9:01 AM #

    Hi Mark,
    I think this relates back to a previous post about making what you like rather than what you think the Market wants. It is much easier for me to share my work, if I have made something that is truly mine, something that I like and something that I have REALLY looked at. I know that not everything I make can be a masterpiece (referring to your podcast with Lesley Riley), but I can learn from each piece I make and get better. If I make something that I like, it is much easier to share.
    Jaye
    artquiltmaker.com/blog

    PS love the rhino image. That would be a great art journaling image! JL

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

