STFU and get Creative!

Sometimes I am blinded and lost within my own creative musings and urgings to produce.  Either my mind races with one idea after another, pounding me to generate more and more art, or else I’m parched and as dry as a dead dingo’s donger for any kind inspired thinking or motivation.

It is during these times that I step away from my sewing machine, my paints, pens, wax and dyes, and become silent.  In silence comes inspiration.  In stillness comes comfort and clarity.   Know that bringing yourself (sometimes forcing yourself) into your inner quietness cannot be underestimated.  It is in your (often uncomfortable) solitude, you will discover yourself and connect with your artistic self and brilliant muses.  In quiet you will discover that your most active and dynamic creativity is when you are still and doing nothing at all.

It is in the quieting of your mind, in aloneness, you’ll find your way back to the imagination and the inspiration you’ve lost. In quietness you’ll be able to sort through all of your many creative callings that are pulling you in one direction and then another and cull the right projects for the right time.  Nurturing inner peace through stillness and your learning to enjoy being alone in your mind, is only another creative form of self-love and comfort that you’ve lost along the way in your busy and frenetic day-to-day pace.  In your quietness you will find that your resourcefulness and inspiration will be waiting for you, and your creative journey will begin again.

Make time for quiet and solitude regularly.  Nurture your creativity.

Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about.  Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.  

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  Create and laugh through this week.  And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom

**************

recent image

MEET

JAY McCARROLL

MARIANNE FONS

MARY FONS

& TONS of Patchwork Celebrites

And WATCH ME, Mark Lipinskiinterview Jay

for the Alliance for American Quilts’

CLICK HERE to get your tickets for THIS EVENT AND MORE!

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “STFU and get Creative!”

  1. July 19, 2011 at 5:26 AM #

    Good Morning Mark,

    Perfect message in your blog post today.
    I couldn’t agree with you more.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts~.

    “See how nature – trees, flowers, grass – grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence…we need silence to be able to touch souls.”
    Mother Teresa

    Like

    • July 19, 2011 at 5:48 AM #

      Thanks, kiddo. Let your creative friends that this blog is here! Thanks! xoxom

      Like

  2. Britt Dougall
    July 19, 2011 at 7:27 AM #

    It’s hard to imagine YOU having quiet time, Mark!

    Like

    • July 19, 2011 at 7:33 AM #

      There is probably a lot you can’t imagine about me! LOL You know I’ve been a student of Transcendental Meditation for years and years, since the early 1980’s, and still attend updates and lectures. xooxm

      Like

  3. Sally Rasmusson
    July 19, 2011 at 7:36 AM #

    Mark, I so agree. I think many of us think we need to be going going going all the time on our crafts…but being able to sit back, get some perspective…yes, the quiet…really brings out the clarity for me. Yes, I’m forever looking ahead to that next project…but this is also why I usually have more than one thing going at once…if I get bored or hit a wall, I can channel my energy somewhere else, then go to the quiet…

    Like

  4. July 19, 2011 at 8:01 AM #

    Great post.

    Sometimes when I get quiet and “it” hits, I feel as if the creativity is passing through me. And I love it!

    Like

  5. July 19, 2011 at 12:29 PM #

    I so relate with the mind racing from one idea to the next……more ideas than one can handle. During those times I start multiple projects……then everything quiets as I work on the rythmn of finishing, and during the quiet of the mindless type sewing the creativity starts stiring again

    Like

  6. July 20, 2011 at 4:43 PM #

    I like leaving the next step ready to be done. Then I don’t have to think about what to do next.

    Like

  7. July 20, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

    Isn’t it funny how something we love so much (art, quilting/craft etc) can have us grasping for ideas and inspiration! We all have those moments where we really have to step away from our craft, have a cuppa and then go back refreshed. Sometimes it only takes 1 cup of coffee. Other times it takes several coffees over many days! Being able to get back to what you love doing is the reward of having a calm mind though.

    Like

  8. July 22, 2011 at 5:59 AM #

    I am finding that making a conscious effort to walk each day is giving me the quiet time (and increased energy) that I need to get my creative juices flowing. I’ve been lucky that the weather has been lovely where I am so that I can do those walks outside and let the wonder of nature inspire me. Walks on my treadmill just don’t do “it” for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

