Your Creativity is all in your Memory!

The older I get, the faster time seems to fly by me!

There was a time that I was certain that I would have enough time to do everything I wanted to do in my life.  Now, it seems that I won’t have enough time to do everything I want if I lived another 200 years.  That realization is terribly troubling to creative people like you and me.  We have so much to do, so much to prove and so much to create!  But, like everything, there is a gift in getting older for the creative personality.

It is the gift of memory.  By engaging with your memory your creativity has an unlimited supply of resources for inspiration when, during your day-to-day life, you might be finding it hard to focus or seem stuck for that lightning bolt of creative inspiration, a vision if you will, that will transport you to, and through, your next creative endeavor.

Sure, we all have flashes of what once was, maybe triggered by a smell, a sound, a taste, some old television show or song….but those kind of memories, no matter how sweet or bittersweet, are not enough to sustain the artist, the creative being, who uses all of her senses to process and produce her art in her medium of choice.

As an artist it is important that you learn to dig into your past and to revive the memories of people, places and things that have all contributed to who you have become.  Like going to the gym to train muscles for body shaping, an artist needs to train themselves to be able to tap into their memories for inspiration and for bringing a personal texture into their art.

When you need a creative boost, when you need to feel inspired and motivated, when you are coming up dry with a direction for feel for your art, return to your past — your first childhood crush, your earliest disappointments, your young relationships.  Don’t be afraid to jot down a few notes.   The further back you go, and the more detailed you allow yourself to become involved, — invoking the feelings, smells, sounds, colors — the more rich and real the memory

The more you flex your memory muscles, the more you will continue to remember, perhaps taking you back, way back, to where you begin to regularly be in touch with the emotions that will propel you into new, daring and fulfilling creative results.

Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about.  Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.  

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  Create and laugh through this week.  And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom


Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Your Creativity is all in your Memory!”

  1. July 26, 2011 at 8:59 AM #

    I so much agree with this! I feel like I became so much more creative after the onset of menopause, too! Goes along, I think, with my age. More memories, as you say, and more time to listen to those memories, and more in touch with emotions and passions.

    Like

  2. weze
    July 26, 2011 at 12:19 PM #

    i have a question fir you mark please, whats the best permanent marker to use to sign your quilts wth i was told to not use a sharpie , i need to get some so please ASAP so i can buy some . hugs ((((())))) weze
    on Cape Cod , Massachusetts

    Like

    • July 26, 2011 at 1:56 PM #

      Hi weze,
      DON’T use a Sharpie. They are permanent, but not on fabric.The best is to use a micron pigma pen. They come in many colors and a few different point sizes. You can also use a laundry marker, although they tend to be a fatter point and I think they only come in black. There are also different options in fabric paint markers if you want to get really creative. Just be sure to follow any setting directions, if there are any.
      I hope this helped.
      Sue

      Like

  3. weze
    July 26, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    Sue thank you so very much , where can i find these markers ? as i have bought fabric pens before . any name brands come to mind? i buy allot at http://www.createforless.com how about Y&C fabricmate pens i have some of them in many colors. any help would be great. thank you hugs ((((())))) Weze aka Louise R

    Like

    • July 26, 2011 at 4:15 PM #

      Louise, the ones that I usually use for signing a label or for an autograph type quilt are MICRON PIGMA 005 They’re made by SAKURA. I can get these quite easily at Joanns Fabrics, Staples, Office Max. They’re archival quality and I’m sure they’re also available at a scrapbooking place. Here’s a link to the pens at the place you mentioned http://www.createforless.com/search/results.aspx?txtSearch=Sakura%20pigma%20pens
      I don’t use the brush type too often, but experiment a little and see which kind you like.
      Take care, Sue

      Like

    • July 26, 2011 at 4:25 PM #

      I just looked up the Y&C pens. They should be great, and they say they’re permanent on fabric.

      Like

  4. July 26, 2011 at 5:57 PM #

    Everytime you post one of these, I think “ooh, THIS is my favorite one.” Well, I *especially* felt that with this post. I dip my pen in the memory well, so to speak, constantly…and so much of my art is motivated by history and memory. In this piece, you’ve beautifully summarized what it takes to visit that font of inspiration, as well as what creative bounties await there. Thank you for saying it so well!

    Like

  5. August 11, 2011 at 7:26 PM #

    An interesting perspective. I have been working on a scrapbook project for my sons this summer and digging up all kinds of old family pictures of grandparents, great-grandparents, etc. that my children didn’t know but I want them to have some sense of history of. The old pictures have stimulated lots of memories and wonderful conversations with friends and family that continue to provide ideas for new art projects in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

