Creative Humility

There is a time in every artist’s journey when someone becomes critical of your work. Of course it’s easier said than done, but try not to react.   Another person’s criticism or praise of your work means nothing to the value and vision of your art — nothing at all .

Continue with the creation of your art, how you see and demonstrate it, paying little mind to the distractions of praise or criticism of others.  What you create is the manifestation of your soul, feelings and imagination, things that can never be tempered by the opinions of others, even if you might like them to!  It’s simply impossible to genuinely create differently from the way you process your inspiration and construct your art.

Reacting to praise or disapproval of your work, or to any kind of analysis of your art, is merely a diversion that will, without careful and mindful boundaries, whisk  you away from your creative purpose and stunt your future imaginative growth.

While being receptive to feedback is a wonderful way to gauge your progress and keep your ego in check, know that being receptive may be healthy, while being reactive is almost always self-defeating.

Stay humble, and likewise, be patient with others. Allow your art and craft to develop and grow in its own time, as you allow other artists the same benefit.

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

   I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters.  I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about.  Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.  

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking  the button on the left side of this post.  Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of  the share links?  If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges!  Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com.  Create and laugh through this week.  And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom


Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Creative Humility”

  1. August 1, 2011 at 5:58 AM #

    Mark, I’ve been listening to your podcasts for the past 6 weeks. I started with the March shows and have now listened all the way back to the first show last fall. Lots of fun. Very interesting. I find I need to drive with a piece of paper and a pen in my hand! Now I’m ready to listen forward and get caught up.

    I’m a quilter, 61, VP of the Chicago Modern Quilt Guild, and love how your show continues to challenge and inspire. Thank you!

    Keep on keeping on!

    Like

    • August 1, 2011 at 6:50 AM #

      Thanks, Donna! I hope the shows continue to meet your expectations! xoxom

      Like

  2. Liz O'Neill
    August 1, 2011 at 8:37 AM #

    I believe the same is true with wine. The taste is the winemasters at best and will not always agree with yours.

    Like

  3. sleepingdogtextile
    August 1, 2011 at 8:57 AM #

    Greetings Mark!
    I have been retaking photos of the quilts in order to download them onto the computer.
    While photographing the first “auction” quilt, a wave of humility came over me. I made the wall hanging for a church auction. When I went to the auction to see how the quilt was displayed, the “people in charge” could not find it. Later on, I discovered that it was found folded up in a dark little corner where no one could see it. Talk about humility!
    So, what have I learned? One just has to move on and take negative opinions with a (huge) grain of salt. Don’t be discouraged!
    Thank you so much for bringing these issues up to light.
    Cheers!

    Like

  4. Margie
    August 1, 2011 at 9:09 AM #

    Dear Mark, My thoughts and prayers are with you and I know how it feels when both parents are gone-you are suddenly strangely alone as now noone remembers you as a baby even if you have siblings. But you have built a great following of caring friends-“Pickles” ! We are always here for you.

    Like

  5. August 1, 2011 at 9:43 AM #

    For a long time I tried to make what people thought I should make. At some point I decided that that wasn’t taking me in a direction that worked for me. Now I don’t ask people if they like my quilt or what direction I should go in. I ask specific questions such as do you like this color here or do you like this shape? And I only ask people whose opinions I respect. I know the journey I am on and I need to proceed on the journey.

    Like

  6. August 1, 2011 at 3:45 PM #

    excellent advice, well expressed. Thank you. it encourages me to keep on being me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

