My New Stash (someone’s gotta buy it!) and Journal Art!

Just so you know, if you click on any of the photos, they get bigger (so you don’t have to strain your eyeballs!)

So in my mail today comes my order of Valdani 3-strand floss!   My friend, Mary, and me are going to work on a Punchneedle design on Tuesdays at Kindred Quilts. I love how this floss comes in “balls” (wouldn’t you know it?) rather than in “skeins.”   Gads! This shit is EXpensive, with a capital EX!

I’ve been having a yen for pen and ink. Looking at it.  Learning about it.  Doing it.   I had seen this book in a bookstore a long time ago and I didn’t buy it.  When I saw it on Amazon, I bought a used copy.  I just love it!

It’s called, The City Out My Window; 63 Views on New York, by Matteo Pericoli.  It’s a very simple book of drawings of window views of famous New Yawkers!  Very little copy, just a bit from the person whose view Pericoli draws.

Here’s the spread for each drawing.

This is Nora Ephron’s window view . . .

Of course, I needed another “how-to” book (like I needed another hole in my head  . . . )

So I bought Experiential Drawing; A revolutionary drawing method that transcends technique rules and teaches you to draw using your creative experience. Whew!  That’s a mouthful of a title, ain’t it?

How about this baby?  I got it at Dick Blick and it was pretty expensive but I just had to have it!   it’s a Windsor Newton portable watercolor set.  You know, for the field.

Of course, the only “Field” I know is Mrs. Field’s Cookies!

Just so my friend, LLDB (you know who you are), doesn’t get on my case, I want you to know that I actually used my watercolor set “for the field” in my latest art-journal entry. I watercolored the arms and hands!  So, it’s paid for itself already! 🙂

I love this watercolor kit (and I have more than several, as you might have guessed)!

Here’s my latest Art Journal piece:

Yes, it’s a strong piece, but I was having a “moment.”

When last week’s Creative Mojo co-host visited on Wednesday, Barbara Persing, she brought me a little giftie — and boy, was I jazzed.

I had been told about Copic pens and ink but I never pursued it.  Barbara bought me one, doubled tipped, along with an ink refill. Well, you just know I now have to have all 738 colors!  I’m on a mission!

Barbara painted her entire quilt with Copic pens, quilted it,and it’s going to HOUSTON!

So now I have Copic pens to add to my collection.  I don’t know whether to kiss Barbara or kick her in the patootie!

Until next time, cupcakes!  xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “My New Stash (someone’s gotta buy it!) and Journal Art!”

  1. Barbara Young
    August 1, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

    If you want some books to check out, I have 2 to suggest “The Artists Way” by Julia Cameron and “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” by Betty Edwards. I understand your pen obsession. I love to journal using the old fountain pens. I get mine from Sheaffer. I love to use their calligraphy pens when I journal – and I have inks that range in color from black, blue, red, green, peacock blue, gold – a different color depending on my mood. And some days I am in the mood for a fine tip, and other days I definately need a bold wide tip.

    Have fun journaling.

    Cat

    Like

    • August 1, 2011 at 8:27 AM #

      I have both books, Barbara! I did the 12-week, The Artist’s Way, YEARS ago. I should do the program again, actually. Loved the morning pages and the artist’s dates! Thanks for thinking of me! xoxom

      Like

  2. bonnie
    August 1, 2011 at 8:41 AM #

    Did you visit Dick Blick for the pens? They are out of stock until the end of the week…………

    Like

    • August 1, 2011 at 9:28 AM #

      OH NO YOU DID NOT, BONNIE! I’ve kind of given up on Dick Blick. I’ve driven there several times for art supplies and they have either stopped carrying the items in their store or were out of stock. Such was the case with the encaustic paint starter set ($600). They had sold the last one a few weeks before, weren’t getting anymore in, and suggested that I drive to PARAMUS, their new store, where they will carry them all of the time! This, after I checked out their website and drove an hour in the opposite direction of Paramus. I love their staff, but I can do without an hour-plus drive for nothing! 😦 I’ll only order from the catalog next time or visit Jerry’s Artist Outlet in West Orange. xoxom

      Like

      • Makaleka
        October 26, 2011 at 2:05 AM #

        Mark, just discovered your blog after missing your humour from my recently subscribed to Fabric Trends. Also recently discovered Dick Blick – tried to order several pens from them – they were unable to use the universal $13.95 priority international envelope – not in their realm of knowledge, apparently. Insisted they use a method three times more expensive. No thanks, Dickie! Makaleka in Australia

        Like

  3. August 1, 2011 at 8:46 AM #

    Love it all. And I love your voracious passion for materials and ideas even more! It’s like your hands are sparking with inspiration. And the Art Journal page moves me every time I see it. I need to unfetter, too, and tell the truth via art.

    Like

  4. August 1, 2011 at 9:04 AM #

    awesome tools and that quilt is incredible. Trying to remember where else I saw it this week.
    walk in beauty.

    Like

  5. August 1, 2011 at 9:46 AM #

    Mark, thanks for being such a delight every day. I hope you are well along with being happy! Catherine

    Like

  6. August 1, 2011 at 11:09 AM #

    If my getting on your case pushed you into creating something then I will gladly take it! I’m so proud that you got the brushes wet! Xoxo, lldb

    Like

    • August 1, 2011 at 11:12 AM #

      Well, it is almost a first! LOL I’m one of “those” who hates to “ruin” new things! LOL xooxm

      Like

  7. August 1, 2011 at 2:19 PM #

    There’s nothing like the feel of expensive floss, and yarn, fabric, thread, etc.!!

    Like

  8. Rachel
    August 1, 2011 at 6:30 PM #

    Wow! That Journal post is amazing….I sat and paused for a moment. You are a fabulous artist–I never knew you could draw so well.
    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  9. Lori
    August 2, 2011 at 6:34 AM #

    Hey Mark, Saw you are getting in to Copic markers. I’ve got a ton of them and love, love, love them. Here are a few websites where you can buy them:
    7kidscollegefund.com – Sketch markers sell for $5.29 a pen.
    They also are going to start selling Promarkers – same idea as the Copics, but apparently cheaper. To the best of my knowledge, they were only available in Europe previously. 7 Kids is in Arizona.

    Michellesscrap.com sells Copic Sketch markers for $4.87 a pen.
    Scrapyland.com sells Copic Sketch markers for $5.24 a pen. Hope this helps.

    Like

  10. August 2, 2011 at 8:08 AM #

    have you seen my series of sketches? One is at: http://artquiltmaker.com/blog/2011/06/sketching-107/ . I don’t know why I started doing them, but in response to the Creative Prompt project, I continued and began … kind of a story. I haven’t done one for a while, but they are fun and perhaps I will get back in the swing.

    Like

  11. August 2, 2011 at 6:58 PM #

    Simon Says Stamp also carries every Copic known to man. (http://www.simonsaysstamp.com/servlet/the-COPIC-Markers/Categories) $7.49 for the Sketch markers. Oh, and Michael’s carries some (hello, 40% off coupon!). Debbie Olson’s Art Journal blog is a-freaking-mazing! http://debbiedesigns.typepad.com/sketches_in_time/ She’s a Copic Guru. Go. Drool. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

    Like

  12. August 11, 2011 at 10:06 AM #

    Well, I just have to tell you that I’m jealous of the hands in your art journal entry! I am a very beginning artist and don’t have a clue about drawing, but have an idea of a piece with hands in it. I’ll use a different technique for now, but I gotta tell you, I love the hands you did in your journal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

