… Ugh! Just got a nasty email!

Whew! Just got one of the nastiest emails from a California woman named SusanGarrett (segpacifica@yahoo.com) about my blog postings.

Don’t you wonder why some people think that they can talk/write to other people, people they don’t even know, in such horrible, demeaning ways? Are they not sophisticated enough to ask for something or express disappointment, anger, frustration, etc, without being so vile?

I’m guessing one of four things about Susan Garrett:

1. She’s a total narcissist who thinks that she can treat people whatever way she likes, and they should either “understand” or “get over it,” or they “deserved it.”

2. She was raised by baboons who either never taught her the difference between the right and wrong way to speak to, and treat people, or didn’t know the difference themselves.

3. She’s not very smart, may have some kind of psychiatric issue (or very well could be a mental health professional . . .), her diet pills were wearing off, or she’s has another kind of substance abuse problem.

4. She thinks treating people terribly is the right thing to do as long as she feels better about herself while not caring how her actions might affect other people.

Someday, I’m going to post Susan’s letter here (She may not know it, but LIVE for this stuff, and it’s always a nice reminder for me and for others to
remember to watch for the ugliness and toxic people that surround us (even people we don’t know from the Internet), who can stifle our creativity,
growth and self-esteem — and, honestly, doesn’t every quilt guild and job and church group have at least ONE Susan Garrett in their midst? LOL).

Susan, if you’re reading — please grow up, try walking in someone else’s shoes before you insult and degrade them, and consider taking a course or
reading a book in basic manners (my hunch is your tirade over something so silly, is not your first, nor will it be your last)! If you want or need something from someone, remember: You will ALWAYS attract more bees with honey than with vinegar!

Thanks for listening, cupcakes! Be be kind to each other out there . . .

(And Susan — Be careful before someone drops a house on you, too!)

Mark
xoxom

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

55 Comments on “… Ugh! Just got a nasty email!”

  1. Diane
    August 4, 2011 at 9:56 AM #

    The world has plenty of stupid people, that is for sure. I guesstimate it at about 2% of the population that has no compassion and/or common sense.

    Like

  2. Lynne Dupre'
    August 4, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

    Poor Susan..unless she figures it out..she will have to go through the rest of her miserable life like that. Tons of self help books and CD’s out there..grab one Susan.

    Like

  3. Kellie
    August 4, 2011 at 10:06 AM #

    I think sometimes people forget that emails are going to humans and not the computer they type on. People are much more mean and catty through the information super highway than in person. She hasn’t walked in your shoes and therefore has no idea what it is like being you day to day! Having been a part of your yahoo group for years, it is easy to see from the start what it is about. I feel sorry for her, and I pray that what ever it is that makes her unhappy is cured. God’s greatest commandment is love thy neighbor, and our society needs to do more of it.

    Like

  4. Alison
    August 4, 2011 at 10:09 AM #

    Why is she reading your blog if she’s so upset by it?

    Like

  5. August 4, 2011 at 10:10 AM #

    Absolutely loved how you stood up to her. We’re all behind you.

    Like

  6. August 4, 2011 at 10:13 AM #

    Oh that family of mine. You must have had a note from them like I get.
    Mom is good for that free gift made or that material we need but oh goodness she has found she has a life and it is not revolving around them any more because THEY ARE GROWN! I love them dearly but ….
    mom shall say no more. Sorry cupcake. I personally love your blogging and was so happy you were sharing such positives with us in this very sad time for America!

    Like

  7. August 4, 2011 at 10:25 AM #

    She is nothing more than an opportunity for you to find “Wizard of Oz” stills for your post. She’s already gotten too much attention–some toxins live to get things and people riled up.

    Glad you can laugh about it and shared. Let her get back to her sad, pitiful existance flinging hate in front of a computer, while we revel in celebrating beauty and talent.

    Keep up the good work, my man!

    Like

  8. August 4, 2011 at 10:27 AM #

    Oh Mark, I am so sorry you were the target of this woman’s hatred. In my life experience I have learned that people who spread such hatred really hate themselves the most. I have a neighbor who is the nastiest man on earth – probably raised by the same pack of wolves as Susan. I looked him in the eye one day and said (quite sweetly and compassionately I might add) “I am just trying to think what could have ever happened to you to make you such a miserable person”. He scoffed at me, but I know it is true. It would take one little smile from that man to change our relationship – I would bake him cookies, get his mail, and bring in his garbage cans – but he would rather be confrontational and mean. So that is his choice. He was burning the other night and the whole neighborhood called the fire department because we are certain he is burning his ex-wife one body part at a time! We decided he needs to make room in his freezer! Hahahahahah! It was the most vile smelling smoke you could ever imagine!
    Continue being your sweet, funny, happy, and caring self, Mark. Mean people suck!

    Like

  9. Vaunda Barrus
    August 4, 2011 at 10:27 AM #

    Your blogs are awesome and uplifting. People like Susan must be sucking on lemons instead of cupcake frosting. Good comeback Mark!

    Like

  10. Katherine Graydon
    August 4, 2011 at 10:32 AM #

    My Momma always said, “Small people will try to make you feel small too.”

    Don’t let the negative get to you. Forgive and try to do something good to a stranger and imagine that that stranger is the offender. The truth is that she may be unhappy or lonely and doesn’t realize that bitterness will keep her that way.

    If none of that works, then remember…
    My Poppa always said. “Sooner or later, all trash gets thrown out.”

    Like

  11. LisaT
    August 4, 2011 at 10:35 AM #

    Glad you brought her out into the sunlight….Mama always said, “laughing comes to crying” oh wait, that wasn’t it, “Anything on the floor you can stop on.” Nope, not that one… Oh yeah, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all!” Got that Susan?

    Like

  12. August 4, 2011 at 10:36 AM #

    This is one reason why it makes me crazy when someone says “every quilter is so nice.” So untrue. Quiltmakers are people and there are nasty, rude, unthinking people in the world. I once received a comment on my blog saying what an ugly color scheme I had used on a quilt. Thanks! That was so helpful. If the commentor had said why it was ugly, it would have been a lot more useful. Let’s be kind, but also productive in our comments.

    If I can’t say something nice, I don’t say anything.

    xx, Mark. Thinking of you. Sorry you were the target of someone’s frustration.
    Jaye
    http://artquiltmaker.com/blog

    Like

  13. Kimberly Woods
    August 4, 2011 at 10:45 AM #

    Mark, I know how you feel. I’m a middle school teacher, and I have my classroom rules, homework policy, links to homework help, etc. on a page of the school’s website. Last year, I received an email from someone who claimed to have “stumbled across” my page, and she took it upon herself to criticize EVERYTHING….from the art on my page (saying that I promoted animal cruelty) to my expectation that students come to class prepared and turn in assignments on time. I was cold-cocked. I’ve resolved myself to the fact that there are stupid people in this world with computers and too much time on their hands.

    Like

    • Cindie
      August 4, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

      Dang, Kimberly, how dare you expect your students to come to class prepared. Sheesh. How are they supposed to get in their Jersey Shore and Kardashians shows along with Facebooking about shoes and texting about who’s hot.

      (I live in a town of entitled idiots and I think the teachers in our school should get a Patience Bonus every single day.)

      Like

  14. hummingbirdstitches
    August 4, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

    It seems to me that someone put a straight jacket on poor ol’ Susan and forced her to read your blog, therefore denying her the opportunity to reach over and push the DELETE button or even the unsubscribe option. LOL 😉

    Mark, I love your sense of humor, probably because I was raised not far from you in Flemington, NJ.

    Like

  15. Dee Winter
    August 4, 2011 at 11:10 AM #

    Hey Mark! So glad you took her email in the spirit she didn’t intend it. I just got a laugh reading the comments you have already received. It’s too bad that in this day and enlightened age, there’s people who feel it is their “job” to give lessons to the rest of us. I used to run a bookstore and a customer picked up an “alternative” lifestyle magazine and told me that I was wrong to sell it. I sweetly told him that he was free to not look at it. He shook his head, said I was braver than him, and walked out. No rise, no fun. I’m sure she didn’t expected to be outed on a national blog. Thanks for the laugh of the day.

    Like

  16. August 4, 2011 at 11:21 AM #

    Now I want to see this email. Way to tease us.

    Like

  17. Cheryl Turner
    August 4, 2011 at 11:36 AM #

    LOL! Yeah, Mark!

    Like

  18. August 4, 2011 at 11:44 AM #

    Many Hugs to you Mark. Too Bad the Susans out there are wasting so much energy on being negative. I agree with the comments that she is really needy inside… hope she finds something to change her attitude around. Or, maybe the ump-teen emails she’ll get from those who love you telling her to chill-out will give her a reality check. -Cyn

    Like

  19. Jane
    August 4, 2011 at 11:56 AM #

    I adore you MarK! Like who would care what she thinks? I am glad you didn’t post it – she doesn’t deserve anymore attention. Thank you for posting her e-mail address though. Now she can get my unsolicted thoughts too.

    Like

  20. August 4, 2011 at 11:59 AM #

    So glad you called her out on this…I am through allowing people to spew their BS without repercussions…toxic bullies who are allowed to spread their poison around will continue to do so…but like most bullies when confronted hopefully she will turn with her tail between her legs and never bother you again!!

    Like

  21. Brenda
    August 4, 2011 at 12:08 PM #

    I give her the classic “Mom Eye Roll” and move on. Sounds like someone needed a nap,. I can’t really add more to what’s been said, though, so I’ll also send her a mental “NCIS Gibbs-slap” up side the head. Love ya, bud.

    Like

  22. Sammie
    August 4, 2011 at 12:23 PM #

    Seems every guild/group has a wicked witch, so sad to have to go through life with such a negative attitute. Good response, keep the positive. She’s probably all 4 of the reasons and then again more…like Brenda just said (I love Gibbs), SG gets a mental NCIS Gibbs slap for being so insensitive.

    Like

  23. Kris
    August 4, 2011 at 12:24 PM #

    Well I WAS going to send you a nasty email, but I’ve changed my mind. Happy thursday!

    Like

  24. Linda Wilcox
    August 4, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

    So no one told Susan that reading a blog is optional? I agree with the others – can’t wait to read her email! Xoxo

    Like

  25. Janet
    August 4, 2011 at 12:28 PM #

    I’ve been wracking my brain trying to come up with the perfect comment but I don’t think anything can possibly beat … atta boy!

    Like

  26. Nicole
    August 4, 2011 at 1:35 PM #

    I too am dying to read her email! What could she possibly have to bitch about? And to YOU? Really! Karma is only a bitch if you are! She should keep that in mind! Now come on Mark, cough up that email, won’t ya! Luv ya! xo

    Like

  27. Cindie
    August 4, 2011 at 1:47 PM #

    I will politely say FRACK HER. Mark, as I have written to you before, your creativity posts have made a huge difference in the life of my friend who was going through so much crap (she got a new job though – yay!). And for me too. My guild’s show opened today, and I re-read one of your creativity posts three days ago when I was once again being the Queen of the Last Minute and sewing bindings and labels on. I will share more about that, but frack the little people. One negative jerk has no standing when you are loved by so many others. Ignore her ass.
    xoxoxox

    Like

  28. August 4, 2011 at 2:17 PM #

    Ah, some people can’t see the light shine in other peoples eyes (dutch saying, don’t know if it’s the same in English), I bet she wouldn’t dare to say it in your face, so boehoe to her. Good on you for posting this; it says a lot about your good heart for not posting her e-mail, though nobody would’ve blamed you, a lot of us would give a FQ to read it.. Hugs from a fan of yours, Shirley J

    Like

  29. Dori
    August 4, 2011 at 2:36 PM #

    I have a solution, if she doesn’t like your blog – delete it. If she really disagrees with your point of view – don’t read what you have to say. It takes all kinds, unfortunately some of those kinds are hateful, petty, nasty (I could go on) Hope all is well with you, (your big sister)

    Like

  30. August 4, 2011 at 3:00 PM #

    Just LOVE this post. Your BEST ever. Boy you so totally ROCK.
    Lots of Love
    Patti xxx

    Like

  31. August 4, 2011 at 3:22 PM #

    Bravo! I can’t help but reflect on some other bloggy nastiness that has occurred lately – mostly to women. I applaud your approach and wish women would be so pro-active when they are attacked (I count myself in this). Unfortunately, we women tend to hear this as criticism and not for the bull that it is. We take it all in and buy into it. I expect this is mainly a cultural difference in how we raise girl children, but I digress….. Good for you!

    Like

  32. joan
    August 4, 2011 at 3:47 PM #

    I always say some people never get out of junior high school the way they act. And it’s so true of so many people when you stop to think about it.

    Like

  33. Cindy
    August 4, 2011 at 4:03 PM #

    Boy it’s a good thing you can take the few nasty people you get with such a good sense of humor – LOL You are a fantastically creative person with so much on your plate that it amazes me that you can do such a fantastic radio show two hours every week! I think that those crabby aren’t worth your time 🙂 In fact I know it. However, it somehow does one good to vent occasionally 🙂 Have a great night!

    Like

  34. August 4, 2011 at 4:14 PM #

    oh that we all could deal with ugliness with such humour!

    Like

  35. Melody
    August 4, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

    One of my favorite songs is Bandito. Theres a line in there that says “Everybody knows that the world is full of stupid people” I’m so sorry someone saw fit to launch at you. Keep up the good works Mark.

    Like

  36. August 4, 2011 at 4:50 PM #

    the internet options of messaging and emailing let people feel annonmous when they attack so they think it’s okay. this is SOOO not good manners, I’ve had friends of friends on facebook attack me even though they have no idea who I am or what I’m about and it’s really maddening! I feel your pain Mark! Just remember one of the rules of the universe……….. Karma will come back to bite her in the butt!

    Like

  37. Leila
    August 4, 2011 at 5:20 PM #

    For every rotten apple in the basket there are a hundred who get who you are, what you do and how you do it. I like you just the way you are, I like the blog the way you write it.

    Miserable people aren’t happy unless they share they misery with others. the trick is to let **it go down the toilet where it belongs.

    Thanks Cupcake!

    Like

  38. Carol J
    August 4, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    Hats off to you Mark! I just wish that I had the courage and the strength to stand up to negativity in such a humorous way 🙂 I totally enjoy your posts and I am hoping that perhaps some of your wit will miraculously be transferred to us!! Keep up the great work Mark!! XOXO

    Like

  39. Teresa P
    August 4, 2011 at 6:18 PM #

    My mom always gave us the “If you can’t say something nice…” speech. I’m sorry that someone felt the need to talk to you like that. My mom would be proud of you!

    Like

  40. Bec Clarke
    August 4, 2011 at 6:21 PM #

    Wow…
    Love the Wizard of Oz pic, so very relevant!!
    Hope your day is not ruined.

    Like

  41. Laura
    August 4, 2011 at 6:31 PM #

    Wonder how many emails Susan received today 🙂
    Hugs to you Mark!
    Laura in Puyallup

    Like

  42. shelia rae
    August 4, 2011 at 7:56 PM #

    I wanna see the letter – I like droppin houses on mean spirited folks too

    Like

  43. a different Wendy
    August 5, 2011 at 8:38 AM #

    Mark, you are such a TEASE! How can you give such hints without posting the letter, too????

    Like

  44. August 6, 2011 at 6:20 AM #

    Way to go, Mark! Would love to see the email!! Come on – don’t tease like that!

    Like

  45. Cathryn
    August 6, 2011 at 6:35 AM #

    Mark; Love, love, love this post. Stand up to bullies and expose them, especially the verbal variety. They are only brave because they know their victims won’t do anything . . . you have broken the cycle!

    Like

  46. August 7, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    Hey Mark, I’m glad you addressed the mean email. You remind us to be kind to each other. There really is no need to post the letter. You said it all. We must not use precious creative energy on this. I hope Susan finds a more loving path and that you,Mark, keep dancing to your own beat. Cha cha cha!
    Catherine

    Like

  47. Colleen Doerksen
    August 8, 2011 at 9:03 AM #

    Hi Mark,
    As a mental health professional working with children, I would ask you to reconsider your comment “…not very smart, may have some kind of psychiatric issue (or very well could be a mental health professional . . .)”.

    Please do not put down others to make your point that you made to her, to “try walking in someone else’s shoes before you insult and degrade them”. Can that courtesy please be extended to mental health professionals? We all have problems, and as mental health professionals, I hope we try to help.
    I like what you said about being kind to each other and hope that you will do the same. Thanks for listening.

    Colleen

    Like

  48. BocaTammie
    August 8, 2011 at 2:08 PM #

    Nice to see you this weekend Mark! Now I get the reference!! Moooaahh!

    Like

  49. Sarah
    August 9, 2011 at 4:02 AM #

    Yay well said Mark! I needed that today, I’ve gone from pissed off to laughing my head off. Take that turkeys 🙂

    Like

  50. August 11, 2011 at 9:03 AM #

    Remember all your supporters and the people you are nurturing and moving forward on their creative pathways. They are the people whose “voices” you want to keep in your head.

    Like

  51. August 15, 2011 at 3:57 PM #

    Bitch.

    Like

  52. August 19, 2011 at 6:16 AM #

    Love you, Mark!

    Like

  53. August 20, 2011 at 12:03 AM #

    I didnt know Redneck swamp sheila’s, who were raised by wolves lived in California. I hope I havent offended any Sheila’s ( Aussie speak for woman) Rednecks, or swamp folks. Sorry if I did. LOL LOL . You gotta laugh at dumb folks, who have verbasl diahrea.

    Like

  54. September 19, 2011 at 7:39 PM #

    Hey Mark,
    I know I’m waaayyyyy behind everyone else in reading this/commenting – but that is due to my dealing with a “Susan” of my own. Mine caused me so much grief/stress/upset through her emails/facebook messages/blog comments (even though I’d repeatedly blocked her – she would just use a new email account/work computer to comment) that I just totally withdrew from being online at all…. It seemed like every time I logged on there was a nasty message/email waiting from her to ruin my day, and set my ulcer into overdrive. This was made even worse by the fact that I had been “related” to her until my husbands death last fall!
    Apparently, some people feel entitled to be as mean and hurtfull as they want to be, and see nothing wrong with it. In their minds they are justified, and their “target” is just someone who “needs to be given a piece of their mind and put in their place”.
    Well, the “Susans” of the world can keep their “mind” to themselves – I’ve seen it, it’s ugly, and the rest of us want NOTHING to do with it!
    So, in closing, I just wanted to say “Thank You” for sharing this with us – because it showed me I’m not the only one who has had to deal with something like this recently. Your response to her assault made me smile, and has stirred me up a bit in the courage department to attempt to return to my beloved blog – hopefully this time without having to “mentally censor” myself on every word I write because of “her”!
    Thank You for just being you!! We (your fans and friends) love you just the way you are!! You, my friend, are an inspiration to us all. 🙂
    Oh – and if you have a spare house to “drop”, I can give you an address….
    LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

