Creativity is Difficult with Crappy Tools!

Cars don’t run without upkeep.  Your body shuts down without at least a modicum of good nutrition.  It’s difficult to plant a beautiful garden without a shovel!

Creating great, lasting art is the same — make sure the tools you use in crafting all of your creative visions are of top grade, the very best you can afford, and that you maintain all of your tools in pristine condition (sounds tough, but it isn’t with a little awareness and a minimum of elbow grease)!  Just a little attention to the care of the tools of your craft will not only make your art easier to produce, but top quality tools, that are well cared for, are designed to aid your development of top-notch technique and may help keep your artwork around for a few centuries rather than a few decades!

Today, take the time to check over your creative tools.

Do all of your tools work the way they are supposed to?  When was the last time you took your sewing machine into the dealer for a “well visit” (why wait until the machine is gasping for it’s last breath before you take action)?

Are your paintbrushes full and flexible, or is time for a few new ones?  Are your rotary cutters dull or your box cutters and art blades crusted with glue?  Are your watercolors a mess, and do you need to replace your favorite colors?   Are you glue sticks, gluey or hard as a rock?   How many of your markers have dried out? Have your cutting mats seen better days (take a double look at tools designed for safety and be triple sure they are in good shape – it’s a little more difficult to create art with only 3 fingers on one hand!)   Are your embroidery threads jumbled or are they organized and ready for use?  Is your workspace uncluttered?  (Do as I say, not as I do on that one, cupcake).

Keeping unkempt tools, keeping supplies that are long past their usefulness, or don’t work as well as they could, or chronic disorganization, are all perfect excuses that will absolutely block you from creating to your full potential!

If your tools don’t work or are loved until they have outlived their usefulness, TOSS THEM!  That’s right, I said it!  Throw them away!  No excuses like, “I can use this for …”  because you WON’T and it will just add to your clutter!  What’s the use of keeping things that are no longer useful or helpful to your ultimate goal – good art?

Start today – just a few minutes if that’s all you have, to take a real, honest look at your tools, toss the ones that have seen better days and make a list of what you need to have or the tools you need to replace.  Get your workspace back to optimum working condition and get your creative house in order.

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

 I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters. I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about. Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking the button on the left side of this post. Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of the share links? If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges! Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com. Create and laugh through this week. And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Creativity is Difficult with Crappy Tools!”

  1. Zoed Vega
    August 11, 2011 at 5:54 AM #

    Great Blog! and so true..

    Like

  2. August 11, 2011 at 6:55 AM #

    I spent time this summer getting the space that I work in organized. What a difference it made! I spend much more time creating than avoiding. Good suggestions, Mark. We often know these basic things, just don’t take the time to follow them! Good to be reminded.

    Like

  3. August 11, 2011 at 10:11 AM #

    I just put a new blade in my rotary cutter and a new one in the rotary cutter that lives in my ‘to go’ box. What a difference!

    Like

  4. August 11, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    Amen, Brother Mark!

    Like

  5. August 11, 2011 at 11:52 AM #

    Well said Mark. A good reminder.

    Like

  6. TeresaP
    August 11, 2011 at 12:33 PM #

    Your posts may just save me from being the next subject of Hoarders: Buried Alive! Thanks for the reality check!

    Like

  7. August 11, 2011 at 4:49 PM #

    I spent Sunday moving all of my stash out of the closet and organizing my needlework/crafting books and magazines. Now all the stuff I hardly ever touch is hidden in the closet and the rest of my apartment actually looks like a fiber artist lives here! 😉 I can’t believe how much my stress level has gone down since I did that. And I want to create more. 🙂

    Next chore is to start decluttering all the books and magazines and only keep the ones that have projects that I might possibly do someday. 😉

    Like

  8. Elizabeth
    August 12, 2011 at 4:26 AM #

    So true…that said if you are fanatical about taking care of your tools they can last a lifetime. I have paint brushes that my mom used in college and they’re still in good shape! The only downside is that it would cost a fortune to replace them these days…

    Time to go through the tackle box! 🙂

    Like

  9. Pat K
    August 12, 2011 at 7:04 AM #

    I LOVE new tools. Must have them. I just replaced my round nose pliers to get ready for some chain maille work and it’s time to start on holiday gifts. I have 9 more sun catchers to finish before the Winter Solstice; never mind those 7 spooky, pumpkin pillowcases to whip up before Samhain.
    Reminder: buy more machine needles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

