New Stuff for my Stash! (just what I need . . . )


When I was at The City Quilter in Manhattan last weekend, I picked up some fabric that I had to have . . .



I want to color and play with this fabric that is printed exclusively for The City Quilter.   You can order this fabric from their website!


I also had to buy the “NYC Subway Map” fabric.

In WHITE


and BLACK




When I lived in Manhattan, TIMES SQUARE was my subway stop!  It seems like so long ago — and it was, I guess!  LOL

Cold War Memories

I was never a big fan of Rocky and Bullwinkle but I love, LOVE Natasha Fatale (of Boris and Natasha)!  So I had to have a half-yard of this (which I’ll never use, I’m sure of that!).

Remember this commercial for Energizer featuring Boris and Natasha?

I remember watching a New Year’s Rocky special when I was a kid — and Natasha’s quote has stuck in my noggin for all of these years!

“Happy New Year, everyone — but moose and squirrel!”

It still makes me laugh when I think about it.

Then I hit Walmart!

I got inspired when I saw these fabrics and bought them for a little creative mini-art-quilt experiment.

I also hit the SALE aisle….

So of course I bought …..

I need more beads like I need another hole in my head but they were on S-A-L-E!

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

18 Comments on “New Stuff for my Stash! (just what I need . . . )”

  1. Carmen Wyant
    August 12, 2011 at 8:05 AM #

    Yeah, that’s what I tell myself too. I have absolutely NO more room for any more fabric. Went into local quilt store only for some steam a seam 2. Well $200.00 later………

    Like

    • August 12, 2011 at 8:06 AM #

      I feel your pain . . . LOL xoxom

      Like

      • August 12, 2011 at 8:16 AM #

        Here I am at Fort Bliss, TX, getting ready to deploy. My goal today (other than reading up on regs for my job)? Trying to find more can’t-live-without-it fabric on the internet. Do I send iy home? Do I send it to Kuwait? Decisions, decisions….

        Like

  2. August 12, 2011 at 8:10 AM #

    You know what they say…

    When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping!

    Like

  3. August 12, 2011 at 8:11 AM #

    You will have to share that white subway fabric with me. It will help alleviate any guilt.

    Like

  4. Zoed Vega
    August 12, 2011 at 8:48 AM #

    Oh man! Love the subway fabric.. Too cool. just love it.

    Like

  5. August 12, 2011 at 9:05 AM #

    Why not make pillow cases with the Natasha fabric?

    Like

  6. Maggie Magee
    August 12, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

    Great fabrics–and heck, beads don’t take up a lot of space!

    Like

  7. LindaK
    August 12, 2011 at 9:26 AM #

    Sale – did you say SALE??? Get outta my way….

    Like

  8. August 12, 2011 at 11:36 AM #

    Heading to Crafts Direct in Waite Park, MN tomorrow with friends. Pray for me!

    Like

  9. August 12, 2011 at 12:59 PM #

    I love, love that city fabric! What to do with it? Just saw where you take a fat quarter, cut in half, back it with t shirt fabric – sew around, inside out – boom – Burp cloths for baby ( or daddy?)

    Like

  10. Carla
    August 13, 2011 at 12:52 AM #

    Love the subway fabric! My 6 year old son has a black t-shirt with that map printed on in…he calls it his “city boy” shirt. Looks like you found some great treasures!

    Like

  11. Debra Poe
    August 13, 2011 at 3:17 AM #

    Burp clothes with fat quarters are great but I use either baby diaper or flannel for th backing either of these are more absorbant. I personalize mine with embroidery & baby’s name. Mark, love your fabric finds! I feel the pain of the $200 purchase, I’ve done several recently myself.

    Like

  12. Velveteena
    August 13, 2011 at 7:57 AM #

    Wow, the city and subway fabric are AWESOME! Only been to New York twice, and wow what a blast!! Of course the Bullwinkle et al is outstanding also, reminds me of my childhood. Keep blogging– always inspiring–Chin up another day is dawning……

    Like

  13. Suzi Stone
    August 13, 2011 at 8:04 AM #

    Love your blog – you are helping me get back into the art of creating.Thanks for the inspiration.

    We are quilters – don’t we all have holes in our heads??

    Cheers,

    Suzi

    Like

  14. August 13, 2011 at 1:54 PM #

    I can’t believe you found those cool beads, on sale or not. We won’t even discuss the craft department in my local Wal-Mart- I don’t want to offend your virgin ears.

    Like

    • August 13, 2011 at 7:55 PM #

      Oh, please! My Walmart SUCKS. They got rid of their craft department. I found these in the heaps of their ‘get rid of it’ stuff. xoxom

      Like

  15. shelia rae
    August 13, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

    SABLE = stash accumalated beyone life expentency

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

