My NYC Stash Buying Lunch!

Oops! I did it again!

I had a meeting in Manhattan today with my sub-committee for the Alliance for American Quilts .. NYT best-selling novelist, Marie Bostwick, fiber artist, Victoria Findlay Wolfe and textile artist, Luke Haynes.

  I took the morning train . . . I got up at 5 and then . . .took another home again —

— home again with a new stash of Copic Markers, Watercolor Masking Fluid, and a new SQUARE sketchbook!

Also had a fabulous cup of coffee and cookies at MODA Espresso Bar on West 27!  That’s what I drew in my journal while I waited to walk to midtown to meet my peeps for lunch…my plate and coffee.  The words written around the sketch is the conversation I was eavesdropping on!  I think they were an older work couple from F.I.T. who were having a little hanky panky flirtation!

Now, it totally slipped my mind to take pictures of Luke, Victoria and Marie at the restaurant …  but I did manage to get a shot of our dessert!

A cup full of freshly made warm doughnuts, soaked in Italian Limoncello, garnished with meringue stars and candied lemon peel.  SIMPLY Di-VOOOOOOOON you lil’ envious cupcakes!

Oh, I also passed this fabric joint on my way to Penn Station.  Spandex World?!? Gotta love it!  xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “My NYC Stash Buying Lunch!”

  1. August 15, 2011 at 4:36 PM #

    Yeah… What a committee? How did you get ANY work accomplished? A very comedic group of people. Wait, I think that is Victoria’s arm in the dessert shot… That dessert does look divine. Did you share?

    Like

  2. shelia rae
    August 15, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    Spandex is a privilage – not a right

    Like

  3. JoAn GODFREY
    August 15, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    what a waste of good fabric space on spandex!!!!

    Like

  4. August 15, 2011 at 7:03 PM #

    have you tried the Derwent InkTense watercolor pencils? Awesome, I say!

    Like

  5. August 15, 2011 at 7:36 PM #

    Fabulous breakfast!

    I am counting your drawing as a response to my creative prompt! https://marklipinskisblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/my-nyc-stash-buying-lunch/ I am going to link to this post from my blog. Now you have to do another one! 😉

    Like

  6. August 15, 2011 at 8:38 PM #

    love your journal!

    Like

  7. August 16, 2011 at 1:03 AM #

    Love your art.

    Like

  8. August 16, 2011 at 1:10 AM #

    Love your sketch – would love to be able to READ it too LOL!

    Like

  9. August 16, 2011 at 6:29 AM #

    Sounds like a great day Mark…love the sketch! And, just so ya know…Liz and I have actually shopped in that Spandex World, LOL !

    Like

  10. August 16, 2011 at 8:36 AM #

    Sounds like a great day Mark! Love the sketch. And just so ya know, Liz and I have actually shopped in that Spandex World…LOL! 🙂

    Like

  11. Pat K
    August 16, 2011 at 9:31 AM #

    Oooooooo…I see a whole line of decadent dessert and espresso fabrics in your future. Only in NYC.
    Love it!

    Like

  12. August 16, 2011 at 10:11 AM #

    Mark!! I’ve BEEN to Spandex World! It’s Sienna’s fave place to get cotton/Lycra for clothes making. She even subscribes to their email list!!! 🙂

    Like

  13. Cynthia
    August 16, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    Wow! I wanna Limoncello donut! That looks amazing. I’d go for that Buena Vista coffee and one of those. Yum!

    Like

  14. Julie
    August 18, 2011 at 3:15 AM #

    Mark – I wish you would set up a little trip for those of us dying to visit NYC. Never been. I’d like to go to your favorite spots and see the shops and maybe go to a show or two. I think you would be a fantastic tour guide. Just a thought.

    Like

  15. Jackie
    August 23, 2011 at 1:29 PM #

    I think Spandex World is across the street from Mood… the fabric store made famous by Project Runway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

