Explore for Creative Inspiration!

There are times when picking up a pen, a needle or craft is so unappealing to me that I wonder how and why I got into the arts and crafts in the first place!   Am I losing my mojo?  Am I a fraud?  Can I inspire and teach but not do?  Are the millions of dollars of crap I’ve collected and stashed over the years now worthless?

Whatever will become of me?

On those days when I’d rather host a Tea Party fundraiser than create something for me or the world, I know it may be time for an inspired break (or a Valium chugged down with a gin and tonic).   Just know that there are easier ways – and you won’t end up in a Karen Ann Quinlan lookalike contest.

The trick is to not concentrate on your own art or process for a while.  Instead, take a break and explore the talent and inspiration of others.   Get out and visit an art gallery during a lunch hour.  Hit a local museum on the weekend.  Make it even easier and don’t leave your chair to spend a half-hour or so searching and combing through the vast amount of art and crafts online (the amount that today’s artists share online in every particular medium is astounding and practically limitless).

Sometimes just a glance at somebody else’s work will inspire your next project.  Often times, seeing a new technique used in a piece will nudge you toward trying your own interpretation of that particular method.  What you may find is not what to do, but will help you get more in touch with color palettes you haven’t played with before or are now finding yourself drawn to.  The opportunities for creative self-expression are without end when you open yourself up to the inspiration of others!

Seeing the work of other artists, up close and personal, is one of the surest ways of getting the urge to merge with your own inspired muse.  Get up.  Get out.  Get going. Allow the inspiration of other artists to infect you.  Create!

© Pickle Road Studio, LLC

      I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters. I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about. Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking the button on the left side of this post. Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of the share links? If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges! Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com. Create and laugh through this week. And , as always, always do what you love! 

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Explore for Creative Inspiration!”

  1. Wendy
    August 22, 2011 at 4:39 AM #

    You hit the nail on the head for me today. No mojo to tackle the job at hand, too much time cruising the internet for inspiration. Glad others experience the same.

    Like

  2. August 22, 2011 at 4:55 AM #

    This hits a major chord! Hits the nail on the head! Whatever you want to call it ~ you are describing me right now!

    As Wendy said “Glad others experience the same.” I am sooo glad I am not alone in this experience.

    Good inspiration for ones blog… I think I will at that…

    Thank you Mark 🙂

    Like

  3. Ida
    August 22, 2011 at 5:40 AM #

    I’m surprised you didn’t call it a “Princess Beatrice look alike contest”.
    😉 Thanks for your words of encouragement and for your wisdom, Mark! You are so right.

    Like

  4. August 22, 2011 at 6:08 AM #

    I’ve been in neutral for several months now and it feels like my mojo will never return; it helps knowing I’m not the only one who goes through this. I just want it to hurry up and be done with!

    Like

  5. Candace
    August 22, 2011 at 6:32 AM #

    Bingo! I too have been feeling bereft of inspiration and mojo! Nice to know I’m not alone, and that many of us are looking for the way back to our art. Thanks Mark!

    Like

  6. August 22, 2011 at 11:55 AM #

    Oh, Mark, get over yourself, this has happened to me it is a kinda of writers block, and not MOjo, failure…. Do force it, the inspriation I mean, I am a child of an artist and longarm quilter and pattern maker and would love to force my next best thing….. but as you are experancing It just won’t come to ya…… so really, sit back and focus on something else dive headlong into something of oposite intrest… and wallllla there it is., your mojo at work,,,,,,,,

    Like

  7. Sara
    August 22, 2011 at 7:45 PM #

    Remember the old saw “those who can, do, those who can’t, teach? You lucky man, you are able to do both, and so amazingly well.

    Voila! The word is voila for God’s sake, not walla, walllla, wala, or any derivation thereof!

    Sorry, my grammar bitch just got carried away on me.

    Like

  8. Maggie Magee
    August 23, 2011 at 1:12 PM #

    Great advice Mark! I always feel energized after visiting a great exhibit in a gallery or museum. Well anyway–it’s time for me to go back to sewing. A good friend and I are making a quilt for mutual friends. Working with someone can be fun and energizing too–as I am finding.

    Like

  9. August 23, 2011 at 2:18 PM #

    I appreciate this post! I spent one day this weekend participating in an artist studio tour in my little town of Herbster, WI. I was so impressed with some of the artists and their amazing work. Right here in “River City.” It gave me the courage to go home and actually create an art journal page instead of reading about them, looking at those of others’ etc. Once I started, now I’m anxious to keep learning – not anxious about starting!

    Like

    • l menefee
      August 25, 2011 at 1:57 PM #

      HAHA! valium, g&t chaser…! you crack me up…
      recently someone published an article on “boredom deficit…” i don’t remember where…and it’s true. we need time to do NOTHING! that’s when daydreaming starts and creativity kicks in…getting out, doing something else, or just realizing it’s time for a NOTHING break let’s your subconscious do the walking…i get my best ideas sitting in a chair beside a tent beside the lake in a no-cell-service part of the country…; )

      Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

