Creative Mojo Line-up for January 18th!

LIVE on www.toginet.com 3- 5 PM EST, EVERY Wednesday–it’s Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski! Here’s what’s cooking for 1/18/12:

Deborah Kemball talks about her hot-off-the-press Twilight Garden Quilts: 2 Wallhangings, 22 Flowers to Appliqué Tips for Silk and Cotton.

On her website, http://www.deborahkemball.com, she writes: “Although I’ve been a quilter for nearly twenty years, it is only in the past five years that I have discovered my passion for appliqué. I have always loved antique textiles and it is these designs from the 18th and 19th centuries that inspire me most. This inspiration source, coupled with my self-taught appliqué methods result in original and highly textured quilts. The appliqué, embroidery and quilting is all done by hand and each quilt will take on average between 1000 and 2000 hours to complete. In addition, I sew on hundreds of crystals, beads and seed pearls to subtly enhance the design. My method of appliqué results in flowers that appear stuffed and I heavily echo quilt the background by hand to further enhance the textural look and feel of the quilt.

“I feel very lucky to have received such an appreciative audience for my work and I have won several major national (Canadian) and international awards. My work has appeared in many international quilting magazines, and I was the Featured Quilter in September 2009 for American Quilter magazine. Additionally, my quilts were selected to be the cover page for the American Quilter’s Society Winter/Spring 2011 catalogue, C&T Publishing’s Spring 2011 catalogue, Canadian Quilter Winter 2010 edition, and was featured in the IQA 2010 Award Winning Quilts Calendar.”

And you won’t want to miss it when Jim West and I talk about my bare-it-all centerfold article in the most recent issue of Quiltposium, the #1 online international magazine for quilters, published by quilt travel company Sew Many Places.

Jim says that Quiltposium is all about “living and traveling with a quilter’s eye. Here’s your opportunity to read articles written by quilters from around the world, download the latest and greatest complimentary quilt patterns, obtain recipes, learn gardening tips, find out the who, what, when, where, why and how about quilting, and hop onboard one of our extraordinary cruises, tours or expeditions designed by quilters–for quilters!”

With over 1050 cruises logged in his nautical diary, Jim West is one of today’s leaders in cruise planning. He has worked as a professional cruise director for over ten years, and has sailed on the ships of Princess Cruises, Celebrity Cruises and Orient Lines. Jim has written four cruise – travel books, including the best seller, The Essential Little Cruise Book, now in its fourth edition. He is also a contributing author in Chicken Soup for the Traveler’s Soul, with his story entitled, “Dancing with Isabel.” Jim has explored all seven continents, including Antarctica with Sir Edmund Hillary. When West wrote his first cruise book, containing over 750 practical cruising tips, Hillary commented on its contents, “A very practical book with sound information for everyone, from people planning their first cruise adventure to hardened travel agents.”

In 2004, the Travel Channel tapped into Jim’s cruise expertise and starred him in their television show, Cruise Ships FAQ, which still shows in reruns. On the show, Jim provided dozens of ways people can enhance their cruise, based on the knowledge he has acquired.

As the founder and CEO of Travel Alliance, Inc., Jim West has created an unmatched travel company which operates unique niche markets, such as: Sew Many Places for quilters, ScrapMap for scrapbookers, Catholic Trips for Catholic pilgrimages, On Holy Watersfor protestants, Bank Trips for banks who offer a travel program, Stonewall Tours for gay and lesbian clientele, Are We Hair Yet for hair stylists and salon owners, Tuscany Cooking Tours for people who travel to Italy, CME Trips for continuing medical education, Busy As a Bead for people who do beading, Away To Crochet for knitters and Travel West for independent travel planning.

How’s that New Year’s resolution to organize and purge going? I’ll be talking with Dr. David Tolin about his bestselling book, Buried in Treasures: Help for Compulsive Acquiring, Saving, and Hoarding. (Who, me?!)

Dr. David Tolin is the founder and Director of the Anxiety Disorders Center at The Institute of Living. He is also Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Tolin received his Ph.D. from the University of Arkansas, and completed a predoctoral internship at Tufts University School of Medicine/VA Medical Center, Boston. A board-certified clinical psychologist and expert on cognitive-behavioral therapy, Dr. Tolin is the recipient of the award for Distinguished Contribution to the Science of Psychology from the Connecticut Psychological Association.

Dr. Tolin is the author of over 100 journal articles and book chapters.  He is author of the books Face Your Fears: A Proven Plan to Beat Anxiety, Panic, Phobias, and ObsessionsBuried in Treasures: Help for Compulsive Acquiring, Saving, and Hoarding, and Treating Trichotillomania: Cognitive Behavior Therapy for Hair Pulling and Related Problems. Dr. Tolin has been a recurrent guest on programs such as The Today ShowGood Morning America, and The Oprah Winfrey Show.  He was a featured expert on the A&E series Hoarders, and the host of the VH-1 series The OCD Project.

Call Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski tomorrow with a question or comment for me or any of my guests, and you will be eligible to win Kim Brackett’s book for That Patchwork Place, SCRAP-BASKET SURPRISES, 18 Quilts from 2 1/2″ Strips (Jelly Roll Friendly). Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski! It’s LIVE on www.toginet.com 3- 5 PM EST, EVERY Wednesday! xoxom

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Creative Mojo Line-up for January 18th!”

  1. Cindie
    January 17, 2012 at 6:00 PM #

    1. That Jim West is SO CUTE.
    2. Does Dr. Tolin think that buying every possible shade of a blue-green batik is hoarding? Does he know that quilters are kind of hoarders?
    3. Ask him about performance anxiety for me. I have to introduce a bunch of quilt teachers, and I consider myself to be a shy person (you be quiet there, Mr. Lipinski). How do I get comfortable with a mike in my hand (you be quiet there too, Mr. Lipinski) in front of 100 quilters who are my guild members and friends? I am freaking out about this.

    Love you!

    Like

  2. Janet
    January 17, 2012 at 7:10 PM #

    YAY! You finally got the blog back up and running! The show sounds wonderful – thanks for the info!

    Like

  3. January 18, 2012 at 4:35 AM #

    I can’t wait for the show today! Look like it is pack full of fun!

    Like

  4. January 18, 2012 at 2:27 PM #

    Your blog looks fantastic!! Congrats on getting it up and running. 🙂

    I’d love to see a full-size pic of that Swedish weaving that you’ve got in the header.

    Excellent show today. I loved the bit with Dr. Tolin. I agree with him about hoarding and collecting running in families. My family has what we call the packrat gene. We’re not hoarders, but we definitely hang onto way too much stuff. And I get it from both sides — both my mother and father are packrats.

    I did a major declutter operation on my apartment a few years ago, and I’ve managed to keep things under control, but I have to constantly fight against my packrat tendencies. I try not to buy anything I don’t need. Also, both because I didn’t get rid of enough stuff and because I’ve acquired more, I still need to declutter from time to time.

    And stash? I’ve got enough needlework supplies to keep me busy for years and I keep buying more. But at least I’m buying far less than I used to, and I’ve been working on old projects and doing projects that use up my odds and ends.

    Btw, I was SOOO proud of you when you got rid of the pod! 😀

    Love ya, Head Cupcake!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

