Susan G Komen’s PINK STILL STINKS!

For me, Susan G Komen’s PINK STILL STINKS and I’ll tell you why:

It’s seems nice that Susan G Komen has reversed their decision to withhold funds from Planned Parenthood for breast screenings for women but, for me, the damage is done.

I say “seems”  because  “To be clear, Komen’s apology is not a promise to renew Planned Parenthood grants. It’s a promise to “continue to fund existing grants” to the organizati­on — which it was already planning on doing — and to make it eligible for future grants. At no point in the press release does Brinker promise that Komen will renew grants to Planned Parenthood­.” – In other words, continue the course, cut the funding once the dust settles,  re-strategize the marketing, and count on people forgetting.

SGK reversed their decision only out of the fear of the loss of financial contributions to their organization (doesn’t it always come down to money?) and the outrage of people like us who actually seem to value the non-politicizing of women’s health issues, not to mention reproductive rights.

We now know that Susan G. Komen is being not-so-subtley run as a political activist association, in bed with the Tea Party agenda, so any of MY money and support will go elsewhere.

If SGK was serious about their decision, and really wanted to make good, they would have fired Karen Handel who is very publicly in direct opposition of women’s reproductive rights (and apparently thinks women are dopes who can’t think for themselves), and those like her. That’s what good corporations who make mistakes do — get rid of those who orchestrated the fiasco.

I urge you to SUPPORT WOMEN’S HEALTH FOR ALL WOMEN WITH ALL YOUR MONEY AND YOUR MIGHT — but support it through other organizations than Susan G Komen. And there are hundreds, if not thousands of them!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

30 Comments on “Susan G Komen’s PINK STILL STINKS!”

  1. February 3, 2012 at 10:52 AM #

    Amen! They had no desire to do the right thing. It was the fact that several groups began pulling funding of SGK that they decided maybe they’d better re-think things. The damage is done, the name has been drug through the mud, and they will never fully recover.

    Like

  2. Kim
    February 3, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

    I completely agree that Susan G. Komen foundation is straying from the mission of supporting women. I urge people to donate directly to Planned Parenthood (the organization specifically mentioned/defunded) and other local women’s organizations. Pro-choice IS pro-family and pro-quality-of-life.

    Like

  3. Quilterdog
    February 3, 2012 at 11:06 AM #

    Mark – I agree with you. The decision to reverse their course was strictly in response to the public outcry make very clear by the overwhelming pledging of donations directly to Planned Parenthood. This is an obvious effort to regain some of that cashflow. Shame on them. They have lost my support.

    Like

  4. February 3, 2012 at 11:10 AM #

    Never donated to them and never will. I’d rather donate to organizations that promote and fund real research rather than “awareness” for cancer and don’t have a hidden political agenda!

    Like

  5. Karen Lieberman
    February 3, 2012 at 11:18 AM #

    I agree, all they’re doing now is damage control! I’ll never look at the pink stuff the same. Cancer treatment and prevention is NOT a political issue, it’s just the right thing to offer it to ALL who need it.

    Like

  6. Stephanie York
    February 3, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

    I have not nor do I plan on making a donation to the SGK fund. When a company advertises as much as they do, it makes me very suspect.

    Walking and wearing pink does not cure cancer but, green can make a very healthy bank acct.

    Like

  7. February 3, 2012 at 11:55 AM #

    Honestly the whole pink movement really annoys me, especially in October when the entire world is bathed in that color. The truth is, almost NONE of the money from these supposed non-profit organizations actually go to cancer research for a real cure. It’s all funneled away into “administration fees” which lines the pockets of those on top.

    I support the Breast Cancer Action project with the slogan “Think before you Pink” You can find more here: http://thinkbeforeyoupink.org/

    The fact that all of this is getting rolled up in reproductive rights is so ridiculous. If you take away our right to choose, you will only guarantee that women will be hurt or killed trying to take care of matters themselves. Abortion happens – whether it’s legal or not.

    Like

  8. Sara Volk
    February 3, 2012 at 11:59 AM #

    I gave up on them when I found they were spending a million dollars a year of donors’ money to “protect their copyright,” which amounted to suing anyone who used any iteration of “for the cure” in their advertising, including skate for a cure, skiing for a cure, etc, and that they spent less than 25% of donations on actual research. Read the comments on Charity Navigator. They are very eye-opening.

    In 2007, Komen spent 23.5% of total revenue on “Research for the cure”.
    In 2008, Komen spent 26.7% of total revenue on “Research for the cure”.
    In 2009, Komen spend 20.2% of total revenue on “Research for the cure”.

    Like

    • Robyn
      February 3, 2012 at 12:21 PM #

      Wow! Makes me even angrier!

      Like

  9. Sammy
    February 3, 2012 at 12:01 PM #

    Yeah! Mark, you are THE best, speak out for all of us “cowards” who will eagerly stand behind your skirts egging you on

    Like

  10. Lani Glasser
    February 3, 2012 at 12:01 PM #

    I agree wholeheartedly with you Mark. I will never again support the SBK, and I wonder if the SBK foundation realizes the enormity of their decisions? Think of all of the quilt shops that carry the “Pink” fabrics for the cause. Wow.

    Like

  11. Robyn
    February 3, 2012 at 12:18 PM #

    This whole Susan G Komen thing makes me furious to think that politics have so much control over women’s rights and our health. I had participated in several fund raisers over the years for that organization but, never again!

    Like

  12. February 3, 2012 at 12:30 PM #

    Mark, you’ve said it all. The politicization of women’s health needs to stop.
    My money and my sixty miles will go elsewhere.

    Like

  13. February 3, 2012 at 12:44 PM #

    I’m sending this to everyone I know! This really makes me angry! Our bodies, and our right to do as needed with them, should not be on anyone’s political agenda. Thank you, Mark, for letting us know.

    Like

  14. KathiD
    February 3, 2012 at 12:53 PM #

    They showed their true colors–and I believe you’re right, they will try to get away with it later in a less public way.

    Like

  15. Michele Inman
    February 3, 2012 at 1:03 PM #

    I will admit to having donated to SGK a number of years ago in memory of 2 friends who died from breast cancer. One of them might have been saved *if* she’d had a mammogram and her cancer had been caught in time. But since then I’ve been flooded with fundraising appeals from them, to the point I’ve long felt they’ve spent more than what I donated on mailings to me alone. This whole deal with Planned Parenthood is ridiculous. Never again will SGK get any more money from me. Besides my own cancer experience was with endometrial cancer which I’m now 6 years beyond and I’d rather my funds go to research on that.

    Like

  16. Teresa P
    February 3, 2012 at 1:23 PM #

    AGREED!!!!!

    Like

  17. Catherine
    February 3, 2012 at 2:26 PM #

    Well said Mark. I agree with you. I predict Karen will resign soon. I just made a donation to Planned Parenthood. Thanks for your openness and activism. Catherine

    Like

  18. norma
    February 3, 2012 at 3:39 PM #

    I always had the understanding that SGK money went for cancer research. What does family planning have to do with cancer research?????

    Like

    • February 3, 2012 at 6:19 PM #

      Nothing at all. As it turns out, and due to much propaganda from the Christian right, PP does a lot more than family planning. And while you’re interested, you might want to do a little very simple research to find that SBK doesn’t do a whole hell of a lot for cancer research either with MILLIONS of donated dollars going to attorneys alone . . . it’s shameful.

      Like

  19. Jae
    February 3, 2012 at 3:48 PM #

    Well said, Mark! *This* is why I adore you 🙂 (and my DH is cool w that!)

    Like

  20. Suzi Stone
    February 3, 2012 at 5:01 PM #

    Thanks Mark, after several years of supporting SKF they will not get another dime from me.
    So sorry for all of those women who cannot afford to have mamograms. Will now send my donations directly to planned parenthood.

    Like

  21. Beverly Maertz
    February 3, 2012 at 5:03 PM #

    As a woman who has had breast cancer (I hate the word “survivor”), I find the whole pink thing makes me mad. Hooking up buying a product with some vague promise to donate to breast cancer research just seems so wrong to me. And then to politicize it along with reproductive rights just frosts my remaining cupcake.

    I have always had suspicions about Komen. I was right. What’s that old cliche about if you talk the talk, you better walk the walk….

    Leah Day is right: we have to keep fighting for a woman’s right to choose. Back street abortions are dangerous. We don’t need anyone trying to destroy this right under the guise of “breast cancer research”.

    Like

  22. sharon
    February 3, 2012 at 6:41 PM #

    good for you! I agree completely! It was once about women and cancer and now its all about money and political posturing. I hope those women who have been helped and can continue to be helped are better for it, but I will not continue to support this group.

    Like

  23. Bambi
    February 3, 2012 at 7:57 PM #

    I absolutely agree with you. I will never buy a pink-ribboned anything again. What an idiotic decision on their part.

    Like

  24. February 4, 2012 at 1:43 PM #

    You are absolutely correct. I’m very disappointed in the Komen fund people. My contributions will be given locally from now on.

    Like

  25. February 5, 2012 at 4:58 AM #

    My husband and I are both cancer survivors….AT THE SAME TIME! We support the American Cancer Society’s Relay For Life. That supports all types of cancers and the dollars stay locally!

    Like

  26. Kathie Lavell
    February 5, 2012 at 4:40 PM #

    Agree! It all in fear of losing money. They picture a race for the cure with no runners or backers!
    The damage is done ,no more pink ribbons!

    Like

  27. Wendy
    February 26, 2012 at 10:11 PM #

    SGK did get rid of Karen Handel – right around the time they reversed their (her?) decision.

    Like

  28. Jae
    March 1, 2012 at 10:01 AM #

    Right on, well said ~
    Best,
    Jae

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

