In Honor of Organ Donors!

Many of you know that I’m battling some very serious health issues…and I’m down to the wire awaiting a kidney transplant, which is just weeks away. Well, recently I received an amazing letter from Vicki Conley, which I talked about on last week’s Creative Mojo. Take a look at the fabulous quilt Vicki crafted to honor kidney donors! People’s lives…like mine…depend on donors who give us renewed health. Thank you for your heartfelt and inspiring artwork, Vicki!  xoxom

Hi Mark,
I love your radio show and listen while I am sewing. It is so great that you interview so many guests in creative fields.
Last January or February 2011 I heard you on the show say that your neighbor was going to donate a kidney to you . I don’t know if this is still the plan , but at the time I got the notion to make a quilt for the “Good for You” competition for the Houston show last year. I thought the large kidney with the figures represented how the organ was not only good for the recipient but also I would say to the donor – “Good for you” for your generous donation. I am  sad to say it was not accepted into the competition, but it is traveling around to other quilt shows now. When I am done showing it I plan to donate it to some organization like the Nat. Kidney foundation or other organ donation group so they could raffle it or use it in publicity or something.  Perhaps you have a suggestion.
I appli-pieced the large kidney to a hand painted sunrise background. It was machine quilted and the I overlaied the hand-painted organza figures and added 1 kidney to each figure.
Please take care of yourself, and I hope you get your kidney  soon.
Sincerely,
Vicki Conley

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

20 Comments on “In Honor of Organ Donors!”

  1. stampinscott
    April 25, 2012 at 11:19 AM #

    I have been following your blog religiously and I LUV it! You are an inspiration to all of us! I hope all goes well with getting your transplant asap. My thoughts and prayers are with you during this! Cheers, Brenda

    Like

  2. stampinscott
    April 25, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

    Hey Mark, I follow your blog religiously and you are such an inspiration to all of us in so many ways. My thoughts and prayers are with you and I hope you get your transplant ASAP. Hugs, Brenda

    Like

  3. April 25, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    Hi Mark. I hope I am understanding what you just wrote and you are weeks away from having the transplant and all is a go. Vicki’s quilt is stunning and congrats to her. You and your family are still in my prayers.

    Like

  4. Marilyn Weiss
    April 25, 2012 at 11:26 AM #

    Mark,

    What an inspiration! Good to know you are only weeks away from your desparately needed surgery. We need your bright and shining light to glow from Pickle Road for many, many more years. Thanks for sharing the quilt and good luck. Marilyn Weiss

    Like

  5. April 25, 2012 at 11:32 AM #

    Congratulations Mark! I was wondering how you were doing. I’m still waiting but I hope a kidney will come soon. My cousin just gave a kidney to my younger brother the end of February and they are both doing so well. It’s amazing how much of a change there has been for my brother. Have you been on dialysis? I haven’t started yet but I think I’m getting close. I’m so glad that quilting does not take a lot of energy. Best wishes to you. Judi Wamsley

    Like

  6. Peg Gilham
    April 25, 2012 at 11:38 AM #

    You make me happy to be an organ donor sometime in the future. I truly wish the best for you Mark and bless your neighbor. We must have you around for a long time as you are the life in any party! Best of wishes to both of you and to all of those who are waiting.

    Like

  7. April 25, 2012 at 11:44 AM #

    Am so excited for you! Lovely quilt too…

    Like

  8. Kornelia Massner
    April 25, 2012 at 1:12 PM #

    Mark? Did you see the story about the lady who’s employee donated a kidney to her and then fired her because her recovery time was longer and she wasn’t back to work the same time as she was? Can you believe it!!?? Andy Cohen had her as his “jackhole” of the night on Sunday and plastered per pic on national television for the whole world to shame her. Anyway….wanted to give you a grin. Keeping my fingers crossed for you and also in my prayers. xoxoxo

    Like

  9. April 25, 2012 at 1:58 PM #

    Dear Mark, you are truly an inspirational person, I hope your wait is not much longer. Please know there are so many people out here praying and wishing you all the best,
    Take care, Renee’ Freidin

    Like

  10. April 25, 2012 at 2:15 PM #

    Hi Sweetie. Your name came up at my guild meeting today. Melinda Bula was our lecturer. She said something about you but all my brain could think was, “Oh, I love him.”
    Holding you up to the sky, wishing you no pain and a quick recovery. Oh I love you. xo

    Like

  11. April 25, 2012 at 4:03 PM #

    So glad to hear that you’ll be getting your kidney transplant soon. Hope everything goes well.

    Love the quilt!

    Like

  12. Candi Gordon
    April 25, 2012 at 5:21 PM #

    How nice that Vicki is willing to donate the quilt she made to benefit others. I am an organ donor and feel that those who have donated in the past are true angels. I know there are a lot of us out here praying that all goes well. Take care and keep as healthy as you can until the big day comes. xoxo

    Like

  13. April 25, 2012 at 5:43 PM #

    I heard you talk about this on your recent show. Such a creative, personal quilt. Thinking of you,
    -Jean

    Like

  14. Vaunda Barrus
    April 25, 2012 at 11:03 PM #

    As a former histologist, I am blown away with the anatomical correctness and artistry of this quilt. What a great symbol of love.

    Like

  15. Victoria
    April 26, 2012 at 10:14 AM #

    You are on my prayer list! Here wishing you a successful procedure and a speedy recovery!

    Like

  16. margo Koehler
    April 26, 2012 at 12:20 PM #

    Be well sir.

    Like

  17. Joleen Graham
    April 27, 2012 at 5:03 AM #

    What a wonderful quilt! I hope all goes well for you Mark, I love your shows and your humor!

    Like

  18. April 27, 2012 at 11:40 AM #

    God Bless your neighbor. Prayers and my thoughts are with you.

    Like

  19. Patty
    May 2, 2012 at 3:08 AM #

    Yesterday on the news with Diane Sawer, she was with the guy who started facebook, and they are setting up an organ donors section to facebook! You need to find that and see about getting on it. He’s doing it to help people get donations easier. No money involved, just people helping people!

    Like

  20. February 17, 2013 at 8:49 PM #

    Congratulations Mark you have been given a marvelous gift. Life is so colorful when you have a kidney that works. Just remember to say thanks every day for the gift, I do and I am 22 years out. Life is so good and so precious because of someone else’s generosity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

