Needed: Orphaned Crochet Doilies!

PUTTING OUT A CALL TO MY CUPCAKES! 

I’m looking for all of those old round, rectangular, oval or square crocheted doilies and table covers in white, off white ecru, and even colors in ANY SIZE (very small to very large) that are stuffed away in your attic or drawers, for an art project to preserve vintage textiles and hand crochet that I’m currently working on.

If you have any of these old crochet pieces sitting around the house that you’re no longer using, please consider sending them to me for my project! I WILL NOT be cutting up, painting, dyeing, starching or ruining the integrity of the doily in any way —  they will stay in their 100% original form but will only be integrated into my art pieces.

If you are willing to share, please mail your unwanted and/or orphaned crocheted doilies and table covers to:

Mark Lipinski; Pickle Road Studios; 13 Pickle Road; Califon, NJ 07830

Thanks! xoxom

Image

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Needed: Orphaned Crochet Doilies!”

  1. Darci Bodin
    April 26, 2012 at 7:47 AM #

    Since I’m trying not to become a worse hoarder than I already am, I will be hunting some down and mail off Monday.

    Like

  2. Jill Bauman
    April 26, 2012 at 8:05 AM #

    Do they have to be old? I have many that I have made.

    Like

  3. Becky Sowell
    April 26, 2012 at 8:09 AM #

    I collect them and I’d be glad to share a few with you. Just let me know what your project is when you finish. I’m always curious about how people use things like this.

    Like

    • April 26, 2012 at 8:11 AM #

      I will be happy to share what I’m doing as soon as I get a few under my belt that I LOVE. As a matter of fact, I can’t wait to share this idea! xoxom

      Like

  4. Leni Blumenfeld
    April 26, 2012 at 11:49 AM #

    I am mailing you some cant wait to see what you are creating with them

    Like

  5. Sara Volk
    April 26, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    I have a pair with gryphons or eagles or who knows what crocheted into them (Is that called fillet?) and they are LIME GREEN. I’ve been going to send them to you just for the “ARE THEIR WORDS factor! I have some others I’d be happy to send too. I don’t have kids and my neices are ix-nay on the oilies-day.

    Like

    • April 26, 2012 at 3:49 PM #

      Thanks, Sara, and I’ll take good care of them! Actually the LIME GREEN ones may end up yield a phenom result! Thank you, cupcake! xoxom

      Like

  6. Kana davis
    May 7, 2012 at 7:32 PM #

    I’m so glad I visited your site. My great grandmother was a prolific crocheter. I have many items from doilies to table clothes that she made. I will be sending some your way. She did some awesome work.

    Like

  7. June 7, 2012 at 1:32 PM #

    Mark , I have been saving doilies for years as a part of a storyquilt project that I plan to create….if you still need some I can spare two…maybe three…Can they be colorful or do you just prefer white. I love them all no matter what color.

    What is the address to mail them to?

    Like

    • June 7, 2012 at 3:32 PM #

      Really, Sherry? You’ll share a few? I prefer white but, honestly, it’s about preservation so any that you’re willing to part with would be so gratefully accepted. Just send them to Mark Lipinski; Pickle Road Studios, LLC; 13 Pickle Road, Califon, NJ 07830. xoxom

      Like

  8. Laura Hood
    July 11, 2012 at 4:51 PM #

    Hi Mark,
    Have been clearing out my Mom’s apartment, and have come across quite a stash of doilies (like in the hundreds?), Are you still interested/accumulating them? Didn’t know exactly how many you want/need, but would enjoy knowing most would be finding a happy home for themselves if you’d like some.
    Laura

    Like

    • July 14, 2012 at 9:10 AM #

      OMGosh, Laura, YES! I’ll take as many as you want to give. Mark Lipinski, 13 Pickle Road, Califon, NJ 07830. Thanks! xoxom

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Few examples for your home « Craft Bay - May 22, 2012

    […] Needed: Orphaned Crochet Doilies! (marklipinskisblog.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

